We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broadway at the Beach has really flexed its artistic muscle”
Review of Surflight Theatre

Surflight Theatre
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Beach Haven
Attraction details
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Broadway at the Beach has really flexed its artistic muscle”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Over the past 2 years we've seen 2 remarkable productions that starred Bart Shatto (A remarkable talent), I heartily recommend an afternoon or evening at the Surflight. The current production of Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde highlights not only Bart's magnificent voice, but that of the entire cast and ensemble. We brought a dozen of our friends there yesterday and everyone was mightily impressed with show.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    15
    4
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Past and Present Patron”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had season tickets with friends for many years until Roy Miller took over and practically destroyed the place. Now that he is gone, we go there for probably 2-3 shows a season. Prices have been raised too high. Not much more to go to Broadway with a coupon or rush ticket. Will definitely see 2 shows this year- Fiddler and Chorus Line.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elyse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs new owners”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The surf light use to be a great place to go with families. However, keyword" use to be". This place has gone down hill drastically over the years. The tickets go up but the place it's self smells and the sound equipment is horrible. Don't waste your money on the surf light.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanfranlove1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ABBA tribute band was awesome”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Lot of talent at this theatre. I have been there 2 times and it is great having this type of entertainment at the beach.
They need the financial support to continue, so I encourage all to go and try it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConnieS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Broadway Quality at "Reasonable Prices"”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband, Michael, and I were in Friday night's audience for the "opening night" production of White Christmas at the Surflight Theatre on Long Beach Island, NJ. We had been hesitant to buy tickets for the first performance, preferring to wait until all of the kinks were worked out but it was the only night we could attend. We needn't have worried, it was a fabulous performance and EVERYONE was a star. The thunderous applause and standing ovation was well-deserved. I could almost hear Bing Crosby's voice when Sam Prince was speaking and the "Sister's" song performed by he and Scott Leiendecker was hilarious as well as "spot on." For anyone lucky enough to be on or near Long Beach Island this holiday season, do yourselves a favor and buy tickets for Surflight's "White Christmas." You definitely will not be disappointed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank clteeple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surflight Theatre also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Surflight Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing