We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit, but not the last”
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Ranked #11 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Harrisburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First visit, but not the last”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great restaurant for a shore town. Not big, but the food was amazing. You wouldn't feel out of place in jeans & a t-shirt or a nice outfit. BYOB too! Lots of seating outside. Don't forget the gelato for dessert. Dishes had a ton of seafood in them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    64
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Always a pleasure to return to Blue Water Cafe for Breakfast or dinner. Haven't tried lunch as that is beach time. Excellent food, varied menu, relaxed atmosphere. Eat indoors or out. Their other establishments great too. Try Stefanos for slightly less casual and more extensive menu and California Grill for very casual burgers, sandwiches, pizza, etc. All three have their awarding winning Manhattan Clam Chowder which is beyond compare - outstanding. We pick up the chowder togo multiple times a summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An LBI Staple”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This family owned restaurant is one of several on LBI. Only open during the summer season, this restaurant serves lunch and dinner, sometimes breakfast. Fare ranges from light to comfort to exotic. They are known for their chowder. Cuban sald was fresh and flavorful. Lobster was well prepared. The grilled crab stuffed oysters were a hit. Come early or be prepared to wait. You might want to bring extra wine to enjoy while waiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in LBI”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We certainly had some nice meals while at the shore but this one topped them all. It was unanimous at a table of 8. We loved that it was byob!! (my husband is a bit of a wine snob). Food was delicious. Service was wonderful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best meals on the island”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

While driving down the island looking for an idea for dinner, we were fortunate to pass by the Blue Water Cafe. We had eaten here once before a few years back, but hasn't returned due to what is usually a crowd waiting to eat. Although our 3 kids are good eaters, and love dining out, waiting for a table is usually an unpleasant experience with them. Luckily, it was early enough (5:30) that there were plenty of open tables, and our group of 7 was seated immediately.
Given the size of our group, we steered away from the pricier 'specials' menu ($30-35 range) and stayed with the more casual fare, and could not have been happier. Nachos and fried oysters as starters (both under $10) were delicious, and the New England clam chowder (the thickest version I think I have ever had) was great.
The most expensive main course we had was my lobster roll sandwich at 18.99; but it is the best version I have ever had outside of New England. And the roll is so overstuffed with lobster, it's well worth every penny. Also worth noting are the mahi sandwich and the bacon pizza.
We weren't planning on having dessert here, but the waiter mentioned gelato...we ended up having three varieties on the table, and they were the real deal, definitely one of the best gelatos I have tasted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing