We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must When On LBI”
Review of Blue Water Cafe

Blue Water Cafe
Ranked #9 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Must When On LBI”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Blue Water Cafe is one of those places that has that "Island" feel here on LBI. The food is excellent - love their Meatloaf and Lobster Mashed potatoes. Salads are super. Great Lobster Roll. The servers are all great . Always love to eat outside in the summer and when we travel - although this is right on the main Blvd. it is done so well - great to sit at their outdoor table for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner - would highly recommend this stop when on LBI.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnymichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    62
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Good Service (most of the time)”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I probably eat at this place 4 or 5 times a summer. Like most of the LBI shore locations, there is typically a bit of a wait but they have a nice area outside to drink a glass of wine or have a beer while you wait. The place is BYOB. I like eating outside more than inside which can feel a bit cramped and loud.

The menu is varied and usually all of the food is delicious. Steamed clams and fresh fish especially. Lately, however, it seems like the quality of some of the appetizers is hit or miss. Also, on our last visit we were one of the later tables sat (although by no means close to closing time) and it was clear that the young male waiter wanted to go home. Even though it was early and there were multiple tables sitting around us, he dropped our check before offering coffee or dessert. Then when we told him we wanted dessert and coffee he reluctantly said okay. When we ordered dessert and coffee he came back and told us they were out of the dessert we wanted and dropped the check again. He didn't bring coffee or offer a different dessert. On top of that, there were clearly portions of the desert in the glass dessert display case!!! It was almost comical if it wasn't so insulting. We are frequent customers and most of us worked in the service industry part-time through high school or college at some point in our lives so we are good tipping easy going polite patrons. We thought we deserved better than this. It is a shame because we have had numerous great experiences at Blue Water and we will definitely go back again in hopes that this was a one time thing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyNewlywed08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Must Try”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Been here a couple times on vacation, reasonably priced, service is super friendly. Great gelato, delicious soft shell crab, outstanding soups. (Especially the lobster bisque and New England clam.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranquity, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Several weeks ago myself and 3 others ate dinner at this restaurant. I can honestly say my dinner was good but that is where it ends. The other 3 dinners were horrible. At $30 plus dollars a plate I would have expected at least the offer of bread on the table. I also do not appreciate having to repeatedly swat the flies off my meal throughout the entire evening. My dinner guests and I would not go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BohanDonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable garlic mussels!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A friend told us about the delicious garlic mussels appetizer, and I wish they would offer this as a main course. My husband and I love to get the mussels and one of the large salads for dinner, and we are set! My favorite salad has cranberries, nuts and gorgonzola cheese, and I usually top it with shrimp. This is my definition of a perfect, lite dinner. it's BYOB, so a glass of wine, and it's just perfect. A great place to sit outside!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Cafe also viewed

 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Blue Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing