We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayhead's BEST”
Review of The Bentley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bentley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bay Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hellertown
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bayhead's BEST”
Reviewed October 6, 2005

Our trip to the Bentley Inn was more than I could have imagined it to be. It had a Country but yet very romantic atmosphere. Every morning we awoke to fresh coffee followed by a wonderful breakfast. We had a choice of 5 items plus side dishes every morning. The Hospitality was just terrific! Bicycles were available at all times which we took advantage of twice a day. Beach chairs were provided as well. The rooms were so cute and cozy. We had planned this stay as a romantic week-end and indeed it was just that. I Loved the place and plan on returning again next September. Thank-you Glenn for having us!
Celia and Bill

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivteamrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    29
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
77
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2005

We have previously stayed at Conover's in Bayhead, NJ and loved it (you can never go wrong with a Select Registry member B&B!). We decided to try The Bentley based on TripAdvisor reviews. What are we missing?!! The room we had was advertised as having a queen size bed. It didn't. It was advertised as spacious (try 10'X10' with a bathroom so truly tiny neither my husband or I could shower independently without banging elbows and knees, and the floor was so slanted you had to hang onto the sink to keep from toppling over while you brushed teeth, shaved, etc.) The food was "OK". Nothing to write home about. The common areas were tiny and crammed to the ceiling with "kitsch". The bathroom towels were so tiny and thin it took two to get dry (and they only give you two, so that's a problem!), there is no bathmat - just pieces of paper they give you to put in front of the shower; if you ask for beach towels they give out one per person (fluffier than the bath towels, anyway!) and you must use them the entire time you're visiting; it was 88 degrees with 90% humidity and only the rooms had window air conditioners (the common areas had no A/C). The good news? It was only steps from the beach. And all this, in the "off season" for $175 a night? We will not be back. I'm glad everyone else enjoyed it, but we give it a thumbs down.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keil38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 18, 2005

Being a working mom, one on one time away from work with my daughter is so important. When I asked my daughter what she would like to do for her tenth birthday...she remembered a bed and breakfast that I had taken her to when she was younger (THE BENTLEY INN). She remembered the outdoor showers, the walk to the beach, and the nearby aquarium. So for her tenth birthday, I surprised her with a night at The Bentley Inn and a day at the beach. Glenn, the innkeeper, surprised us with allowing us a late check out for her birthday! We will not forget The Bentley Inn and it just may become a mother/daughter tradition for her birthday. Thank you Glenn for making it extra special.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We spent two wonderful days andnights at The Bentley Inn in Bay Head, New Jersey. The rooms were charming and immaculate. The breakfasts were superb. The innkeeper Glenn was very accomodating, allowing us to stay past checkout. He even was kind enough to mail back the swimsuits we accidently left out to dry on the clothesline.
Its nice to not have to pack the bicycles, beach chairs and towels, all included in the price of the room, as well as the beach passes. I would most highly recommend The Bentley Inn for an upscale place to stay at The Jersey Shore.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 8, 2005

There is NOTHING they can do to make the Bentley Inn a better place since it is...PERFECT.

The Gem of the Jersey Shore.

I believe it is our third time staying and we will not stay
anywhere else when we come down.

From the momemt you arrive you are welcomed like it is your home. The Bentley has EVERYTHING you need to have a great time at the beach.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2005

With two sets of twins, sometimes it's hard for us to get away, but it was wonderful for my husband and I to enjoy such a beautiful and relaxing setting. The room was decorated with white wicker furniture and a great view. Breakfast was delicious and the hospitality couldn't have been better. Glen, the inkeeper, was so friendly and helpful. He made us feel right at home. We even had perfect summer weather and relaxed in the comfy beach chairs provided. Hopefully next time when we come back, we will be able to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2005

I had a wonderful stay at the Bently. The rooms were clean and neat and the staff made me feel like I was at my own home.

I would recommed The Bentley Inn Bed & Breakfast to anyone who is looking to stay in the Bay Head Area.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Head
0.6 mi away
The Grenville
The Grenville
#1 of 1 in Bay Head
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
641 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Inn

Property: The Bentley Inn
Address: 694 Main Ave, Bay Head, NJ 08742-5346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bentley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bentley Inn is an 1886 Victorian Bed and Breakfast located just 3 houses from the ocean in historic Bay Head. Features 19 guest rooms with TV/VCR, A/C, full-serve multiple choice breakfast, private off-street parking, beach badges & towels, 125' wrap-around covered porch, large living room, dining room and solarium. Small weddings, receptions, showers, business meetings (up to 45 people). Business travelers welcome (free wireless internet). Located 60 miles from New York City and Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Bentley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing