We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the breakfast?”
Review of The Bentley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bentley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bay Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the breakfast?”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at this B & B. The accommodations were clean and quaint. However, I am stunned how other reviews are raving about the breakfast. We were offerred cold cereal, bagels and English Muffins. They claim a "hearty" breakfast but there was nothing hearty about it. I am quite sure the other visitors were as disappointed as we were. I would not recommend this to anyone looking for a B & B. We had to go to a diner to have a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilhamstfolks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bentleyinn, Owner at The Bentley Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
In our struggle to recover from the damages Hurricane Sandy caused us both financially and emotionally, we were faced with the choice of raising prices to cover the high costs of our breakfast or change the breakfast. Given the economic climate and considering the prices of competing properties (which are similarly priced and don’t offer breakfast) we opted to offer a Continental breakfast with a wide variety of choices, and extend the time we serve breakfast. We offer a variety of fresh bagels, English muffins, homemade coffee cake, hot and cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, fruit juices and unlimited coffee and tea. There are more choices with a breakfast like this and we satisfy more people. We have rebuilt after the storm but not as many people are visiting the shore so we are forced to make cut backs. We have had much support from the majority of our guests who love the inn and it’s location. It is indeed disheartening that one of our guests was so disappointed. I would have gladly paid for their breakfast at the diner had I known. Our goals are to make all guests satisfied by the time they leave us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    29
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Bentley Inn is a jewel of a B&B on the Jersey Shore. It is less than 30 seconds from the beach, it's is impeccably maintained, cleaned, and welcoming. The breakfast was hot & fresh in the morning, Glenn was a friendly and fun host, the free beach passes were appreciated (as was the easy parking).

I would absolutely stay here again, I would highly recommend this to any friends/family, and have no doubt anyone who still will enjoy themselves. The large patio/terrace was also a relaxing place to sit and read at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahasbrookc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

By all accounts the location is beautiful (across streeet from ocean). Its close to many restaurants, amenities etc.
The room was adequate and there was direct access to a wrap around balcony on second floor. Very nice. I had only two issues...the coverlet was stained, obviously so, BUT the sheets themselves were clean! Was surprised to be informed that there was no full breakfast avail, as advertised in brochure...only continental...so we went elsewhere. The bathrooms were clean although I had tough time regulating temp in one of shwrs...please note that depending on room choice you may end up sharing a bathroom. Not a big deal as other guests are respectful of same and act accordingly. Would def recommend for families with kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HibernianFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My 4th time back to the The Bentley Inn. Comfortable, clean, with plenty of places inside and out to get comfy with a good book....and quiet enough to take an afternoon nap. I always feel instantly at home here. Every morning I make a cup of tea and go across the street to the beach to watch the sun rise over the ocean. My first time back since the hurricane. Beach is clean and nice, some stores are reopening...call ahead first. Bay Head is a wonderful beach community, friendly people and great for walking. You will have no problem finding places to eat or things to do. I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Have stayed in many rooms and love them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My friends and I went to The Bentley Inn, the Customer Service was GREAT. Our rooms was so clean, it is REALLY, REALLY clean. My friends and I LOVED IT!

The Bentley Inn it is cute, all the decoration, it is feel like grandma's house, so good!.

The Bentley Inn provided Beach Towels for us, and even metal detectors, it was so much fun.

The lady cleaning the rooms, was working hard all the time we were there. Such a Great Place.
Parking Lot, Close to the Beach. Everything was PERFECT!

EXCELLENT - Glenn keep it up the GREAT WORK. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myers916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Bentley in quite a few times. It is a quiet beach retreat in Bay Head a short block from the ocean. My most recent trip was in January and I was so glad to hear that it was open for business and survived the hurricane. Glenn the owner is always friendly and accomodating. The rates are reasonable and the rooms are clean, cozy, and comfortable with varied "beachy" decor. The wrap around porch offers a quiet place to sit and the french toast is one of my favorites. It is a real nice get-away and I always look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Glenn, the Innkeeper, could not have been more nice to make us feel at home. Rooms were clean and neat. Plenty of privacy. Breakfast was wonderful, with a wide selection of choices.

We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGCSGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Head
1.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grenville
The Grenville
#1 of 1 in Bay Head
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
629 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
265 reviews
1.6 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Inn

Property: The Bentley Inn
Address: 694 Main Ave, Bay Head, NJ 08742-5346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bentley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bentley Inn is an 1886 Victorian Bed and Breakfast located just 3 houses from the ocean in historic Bay Head. Features 19 guest rooms with TV/VCR, A/C, full-serve multiple choice breakfast, private off-street parking, beach badges & towels, 125' wrap-around covered porch, large living room, dining room and solarium. Small weddings, receptions, showers, business meetings (up to 45 people). Business travelers welcome (free wireless internet). Located 60 miles from New York City and Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bentley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing