We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea Party and Easter Brunch”

The Grenville Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Bay Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Relax and enjoy excellent food on the veranda or by the fireplace in dining room. Sunday Brunch Buffet, Lunch, or Dinner. Stroll to the atlantic ocean for pristine beach!Bring your Family and Friends. Visit our website for specials. Stay in our Hotel guests rooms.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea Party and Easter Brunch”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and some friends recently attended a Tea Party at the Grenville Hotel. She was introduced to the owners, Renee and Harry. She just loved the redecorated dining area. She said that the sandwiches were wonderful, small and very English style, just like in the movies, and the service was superb.

We returned to experience and enjoy their Easter Buffet. WOW! Was she right! The place looks great and the staff just made you feel at home.

The buffet was set up on the veranda. The food was delicious and plentiful. From stuffed French toasts, waffles, dishes of chicken, fish, meat, even shepherd’s pie and stuffed pork loin. If that wasn’t enough, they also had a large table of deserts, a chocolate fountain and bowls of freshly cut fruits.

Before leaving, I enquired if it would be possible to see a couple of rooms. Renee was most accommodating and escorted us up. This boutique hotel even has an elevator. Renee said that it is the only hotel in Bay Head which has an elevator.

Both rooms were bright, clean and inviting and had flat screen TVs. The color scheme matched that of the dining room.

We took a short stroll on the beach (a block away) before heading home.

I plan to recommend the hotel to my daughter in Pennsylvania for a romantic get-away.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    7
    5
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure in Bay Head”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My family was invited to attend Brunch at the Grenville last month. Incredible!!!!! Service, food and the newly decorated restaurant with white fireplace was eye candy! While there we asked to see rooms for our possible summer stay(our family summer home was destroyed –Sandy). Very nice surprise! Newly decorated rooms with new linens, new bathroom vanities-modern & clean. Yes not all rooms are large, the building is over 100 years old yet all the modern touches are there-elevator, WIFI, flat screen TV. Very comfy! The staff is fantastic everyone smiles and is so very helpful. We reserved for Memorial weekend, and 3 weekends during the summer.
While I was there I saw ladies wearing gorgeous hats attending a Tea Party Shower. They were smiling, lots of laughter and the food looked fantastic! I saw a candy bar which looked very pretty. The waiters had fancy ceramic tea pots and were serving each lady along with drinks of Mimosas and and other drink called Poinsettia ( I had never seen that one- it’s cranberry juice and champagne). It definitely was something I would like to host in the future for my Daughter or Daughter in law shower.
We decided to attend Easter Brunch family of 18! As we drove up the hotel, the veranda with the white awnings down, looked like a large tented estate with bright pink walls. The Hostess quicklys seated us to our tables, the waiters attentive. The food was very tasty
, the Chef made perfect omelets, the pork loin carving was stuffed with delicious vegetable, and the extra large display of shrimp on ice was beautiful ending with a yummy Chocolate Fountain!. Although the price was more than the usual brunch $29.99 it was well worth twice the price!
We already booked for Mother’s Day and can’t wait! Bravo Grenville keep up the hard work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville Restaurant, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank You for taking your time to write your review. We sincerely appreciate your comments and notes on details. We look forward to seeing you on Mother's Day and in the future. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
“tea time with the girls”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Me and a few of my girl friends went to one of our girl friends tea party at the Grenville hotel. We has such a great time the food Was great as well as the staff Can't wait too have our next party at the Grenville hotel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville Restaurant, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking tie to write about your experience with us. Your continue support is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please join us for our award winning Sunday Brunch Buffet or a casual lunch on our Veranda opening soon for the season. Always our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Easter brunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Awful.....food was lousy, service just as bad and price was$$$$.the only alcohol served was mimosa or champagne. No blood Mary's. Place looked shabby not elegant as expected. Last month gave a friend a package for your hotel.....lodging and brunch as a wedding gift. It it's anything like today, I'm sure they'll never speak to me again. Lots of improvement needed

Helpful?
1 Thank Odedge49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Sorry to say The Grenville does not offer a Bloody Mary. This is a product that is controlled by the state-liquor. It saddens us to read that you were so unhappy yet never expressed your dissatisfaction to a manager. As you see from numerous other letters we try to above and beyond the line to make every guest extremely happy.
The Hotel/Restaurant is in the process of being remodeled and it is unfortunate you did not notice the new dining room colors, drapes, accessories, new bathroom facilities, etc.
The extent of damage that was suffered during Sandy to many during the past 18 months has been immense. We are half way through the rebuild effort, scaffolding four stories high, new electric, new a/c and heating systems. Newly remodeled rooms for our guests. Unfortunately our efforts and the hard work of our staff did not reach your expectations. Hopefully you will reconsider your thoughts and words expressed in reviews of the Jersey Shore establishments. The Grenville takes great pride in offering the best product in our restaurant and our guests receive a high quality of service which our staff eagerly offers everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“no refund”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husbands brother died the night before and we had to cancel, non of our $50 gift card was refunded.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville Restaurant, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We sent two in emails in reply to your email offering future dates for your stay. Unfortunately you did not respond to the offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grenville Restaurant also viewed

Bay Head, Jersey Shore
Bay Head, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Bay Head, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Grenville Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing