We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Review Highlights
South Jersey hiking destination

It is a great destination for people who like to walk. We enjoyed countless hikes here through the... read more

Reviewed May 2, 2021
podrozniczka60
,
New Jersey
Another State it Seems

When I drove down to Wharton from Central New Jersey it felt like I entered a completely different... read more

Reviewed January 23, 2021
KevinsGirls
,
Edison, New Jersey
via mobile
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
39
21
1
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
39
21
1
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 71 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We regularly visit Crowley's Landing in Wharton State Forest. We take sand chairs and a picnic lunch and watch the boats. Batsto is nice as well, many hiking trails and places to sit along the water. The canoeing is awesome as well, and reasonably priced.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank BillsSharona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The small things are the marvels in this forest. Check out the orchids and wildflowers. Just sit by a stream and listen to the flowing water/.

Date of experience: May 2013
2  Thank james_wert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wharton State Forest is an absolute gem. Our family horseback rides in Atsion. It's a beautiful area to take the children to enjoy nature and is free!!! I hope NJ continues to protect this piece of heaven!!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank KathyCr1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love this area for experience the unique ecology and history of the Pine Barrens a surprisingly undeveloped, wild area in the middle of the densely populated Northeast. Hiking over the white sandy soil through the distorted scrub pines, one can imagine how legends such as the Jersey Devil were born. Hike to the top of Apple Pie Hill and view the vastness of the Pinelands almost unbroken except for cranberry bogs and fields or blueberries which were first cultivated here. In addition to hiking; the Pinelands of Wharton State Forest also offers, wildlife viewing, camping, swimming, canoeing, fishing, hunting and touring historic small towns including Batsto Village. Just come prepared for the Jersey state bird, the mosquito, by bringing ample bug spray.

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank Steve5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wonderful fall pictures. Great place to go just to relax. calming environment, just wonder place to visit.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank No N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews