We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of The Olde Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olde Mill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Nice little hotel not far from airport and highways, yet secluded from the noise. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, restaurant and pub located within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    79
    18
    13
    11
See reviews for
75
53
9
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This place is a nice little gem. It is beautiful, great location, and the Grain House has great food. Maids are a little pushy and rude but the rest of the staff is great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prinnycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I travel to the Basking Ridge area quite often on business and have always stayed at the Olde Mill Inn. The staff is friendly and courteous, the restaurant is great, and the hotel has a relaxing atmosphere. It is especially nice when they decorate during the holiday season.

I've recently begun booking functions there as well and find the Sales and Catering staff to be top notch. They are flexible and pay attention to the details that make our functions successful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

What a wonderful surprise finding the Olde Mill Inn! We were visiting family and your Inn was the closest to where we needed to be. We loved it there! The staff was very accommodating. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable...loved the bed! The Continental breakfast was delicious. And the views were out of this world! We haven't had such a peaceful overnight in many years! We will definitely return!

Connie from Ohio

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was extremely impressed with the service and accommodations at the Olde Mill Inn. The front desk manager was friendly and attentive and the inn was incredibly cozy and clean. Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious. In addition, our request for a "quiet room" was absolutely met. This inn provides an excellent value for your money!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LP_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We visited the Olde Mill Inn and we were extremely impressed with the customer service at the front desk and the accomodations. When we checked in/out the front desk was helpful and accomodating. The hotel was very lovely and had a country inn feeling. We had some questions regarding television and internet and they were hands on. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and decor was classic. The continental breakfast was very good. Location was perfect off main highway and tucked in the local area countryside setting. I would recommend and definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I visited the Olde Mill Inn recently and was not happy. Everything seemed to be going fine until I went down to the front desk for some ice in the very early morning and was hit on by the man at the desk. At first I thought he must be joking, so I tried to laugh it off, but he kept hitting on me. This made me very uncomfortable on many levels. I understand that it must be hard to find "normal" people to work the overnight, but I would not have someone like this at the front desk at 2am.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
A comment like this we take very seriously, and it was immediatley addressed upon seeing this review. There of course are differing views on what occured, and my only wish is that the incident had been reported to myself or any other manager on the property while the guest was still with us. We have a manager on duty on weekends that could have addressed this issue as it occured. Guest security is one of our top priorities and that is why we have cameras at the front desk and throughout our property. Our staff is aware that should they act inappropriate in any way, it can easlily be monitored. The staff is also aware that there is ZERO tolerence for any kind of inappropriate behavior to a guest or staff member. All comments from guests are important to us, my only wish is that should a guest have any problems with their stay at our property that they speak directly to management and allow us the opportunity to rectify the situation immediatley. As always any and all guest feedback is greatly appreciated, and gives us the opportunity to improve in all levels of service, and learn from our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
0.5 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
801 reviews
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
299 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
89 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
247 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Mill Inn

Property: The Olde Mill Inn
Address: 225 US Highway 202, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-1646
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Mill Inn, a picturesque American Country Inn, welcomes a new generation of guests with its heritage of warmth and hospitality dating back to the Revolutionary War. Nestled in the rolling landscape of New Jersey's Somerset Hills, The Olde Mill Inn provides Inn Style elegance in weddings, meetings, dining, and overnight accommodations. At the Grain House Restaurant, experience the historic ambiance while savoring the tastes of today. Open for Lunch & Dinner Daily, Saturday à la Carte Brunch and Sunday Brunch Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Olde Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Mill Hotel Basking Ridge
Olde Mill Hotel And Grain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing