We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of The Olde Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Olde Mill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I travel to the Basking Ridge area quite often on business and have always stayed at the Olde Mill Inn. The staff is friendly and courteous, the restaurant is great, and the hotel has a relaxing atmosphere. It is especially nice when they decorate during the holiday season.

I've recently begun booking functions there as well and find the Sales and Catering staff to be top notch. They are flexible and pay attention to the details that make our functions successful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 281 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

What a wonderful surprise finding the Olde Mill Inn! We were visiting family and your Inn was the closest to where we needed to be. We loved it there! The staff was very accommodating. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable...loved the bed! The Continental breakfast was delicious. And the views were out of this world! We haven't had such a peaceful overnight in many years! We will definitely return!

Connie from Ohio

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was extremely impressed with the service and accommodations at the Olde Mill Inn. The front desk manager was friendly and attentive and the inn was incredibly cozy and clean. Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious. In addition, our request for a "quiet room" was absolutely met. This inn provides an excellent value for your money!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LP_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We visited the Olde Mill Inn and we were extremely impressed with the customer service at the front desk and the accomodations. When we checked in/out the front desk was helpful and accomodating. The hotel was very lovely and had a country inn feeling. We had some questions regarding television and internet and they were hands on. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and decor was classic. The continental breakfast was very good. Location was perfect off main highway and tucked in the local area countryside setting. I would recommend and definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 86mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I visited the Olde Mill Inn recently and was not happy. Everything seemed to be going fine until I went down to the front desk for some ice in the very early morning and was hit on by the man at the desk. At first I thought he must be joking, so I tried to laugh it off, but he kept hitting on me. This made me very uncomfortable on many levels. I understand that it must be hard to find "normal" people to work the overnight, but I would not have someone like this at the front desk at 2am.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

A comment like this we take very seriously, and it was immediatley addressed upon seeing this review. There of course are differing views on what occured, and my only wish is that the incident had been reported to myself or any other manager on the property while the guest was still with us. We have a manager on duty on weekends that could have addressed this issue as it occured. Guest security is one of our top priorities and that is why we have cameras at the front desk and throughout our property. Our staff is aware that should they act inappropriate in any way, it can easlily be monitored. The staff is also aware that there is ZERO tolerence for any kind of inappropriate behavior to a guest or staff member. All comments from guests are important to us, my only wish is that should a guest have any problems with their stay at our property that they speak directly to management and allow us the opportunity to rectify the situation immediatley. As always any and all guest feedback is greatly appreciated, and gives us the opportunity to improve in all levels of service, and learn from our mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We hade school fundraiser in the main ballroom. A beautiful setting with a bright and friendly staff. Not only was the staff incredibly helpfull, but they
went out of their way to make it a great experience for all. I highly recommend it.t

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I travel a lot for business, mostly Marriott and Hilton. I come to this part of New Jersey about 15 times per year and I decided to take a chance on the Olde Mill. I figured it would be a nice break from the chain hotels and some of the reviews on this site were positive.
Basically, it is not a business traveler hotel but it is proably nice for functions like a wedding or other where you can eat, drink and not drive.
The rooms are actually nice enough. A mix of 1980s furniture but very good beds and good linens. The bathroom is clean and seems nice enough But. ..there are some drawbacks that will keep me from coming back and giving this place a second chance.
The internet connection is managed by a small-tme third party provider and I got dropped 5 times over 5 hours tonight. This is not a funciton of my VPN or other as this does not happen to me at other hotels.
The room climate control is via a 1980s window style air conditioner/heat pump where you turn the knobs on it to control heat/cool. There is no heat or AC in the bathroom other than a red heat lamp in the bathroom ceiling. The AC.heat pump unit is just too loud to be on a conference call as it kills the sound. It is also pretty loud for sleeping but I can get over that.. .
Also, the plumbing is very loud. When the room next door turns on their water, you really hear the pipes quite loudly in your room. This again, interferes with conference calls and can be a bit annoying when you are layng in bed.
I woudl call this an OK hotel for a function/stay combination for one night but would not recommend it for business travelers. It is a step above a motor lodge but not a business traveler hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are motor lodge style where you drive up to your door and enter and exit throgh yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

We are sorry that your stay with us has not achieved the high levels of satisfaction we strive for all of our guests, especially business travelers.
We realize how important a good wireless internet is to our business travelers and that is why we offer a 50Mb Internet connection to our guests. With our building wide Wi-Fi network and hardwired Ethernet ports, we offer immediate Internet access from anywhere in the building. More often than not, we are the preferred hotel and conference center for many of the area's most prestigious businesses --- from fortune 500 telecommunications and pharmaceutical companies to cutting edge technology startups.

It is unfortunate that during your stay that you did not contact our front desk or 24/7 toll free telephone technical support to help address your technical issue.
This would have given us a fair opportunity to help resolve any issues you may have experienced. If given this opportunity, we believe we could have quickly isolated and resolved any problems. Our experience is that most problems are related to either simple configuration changes on your computer or a correction with the remote service you are trying to access.

Our hotel does offer rooms with outside access but all rooms are accessible from the inside of the building. For many of our business travelers our rooms with access to the outsides are the most requested style.

We are sorry any excessive noise you may have experienced from the air conditioning unit, our maintenance department was notified and should that unit be in need of repair we will have it replaced immediatley.

Sincerely

Glen Isemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
6.0 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
312 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
825 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
803 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Mill Inn

Address: 225 US Highway 202, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-1646
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range: $177 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Mill Inn, a picturesque American Country Inn, welcomes a new generation of guests with its heritage of warmth and hospitality dating back to the Revolutionary War. Nestled in the rolling landscape of New Jersey's Somerset Hills, The Olde Mill Inn provides Inn Style elegance in weddings, meetings, dining, and overnight accommodations. At the Grain House Restaurant, experience the historic ambiance while savoring the tastes of today. Open for Lunch & Dinner Daily, Saturday à la Carte Brunch and Sunday Brunch Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Olde Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Mill Hotel Basking Ridge
Olde Mill Hotel And Grain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing