We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chu's Delicious Cafe”
Review of Chu's Cafe

Chu's Cafe
Ranked #31 of 56 Restaurants in Basking Ridge
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chu's Delicious Cafe”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The only place for chinese food in the Bedminster/Basking Ridge area in my opinion. I order in or take out at least once a week. My only gripe is the burnt wontons every time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient, Reasonable and Better than Average”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I chose "average" as a rating only because I didn't feel that I could make it a "very good". But it is certainly closer to "very good" than "average".

As for the restaurant itself, the food is good, from the soups to the appetizers to the entrees.

For residents of The Hills community, this is a great alternative to going "off the mountain" for a good meal, especially after a long day of work.

They have a full range of menu selections, typical of most Chinese restaurants. These include the simple rice and noodle dishes, to the more exotic chef's specialties.

There is little more than one can say about this restaurant. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Len_Muscato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor quality, worn out and low value”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have been going to the restaurant sunce it opened. The restaurant was hot, carpet dirty,worn, the prices have gone up, the chicken was so thin and no flavor. Won ton hard and tastless. The walls were the tables were dirty, gross. Service was poor, i ask to be seted at one pm two of us for table of four and was denied. My observance their were asian descents seat at tables of four and they were two guest. I suppose their are new ownere and the restaurant is done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food quality decreasing.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been going to Chu's cafe for several years. In the past, the food was very good and consistent. Lately, however, the food has lost it's consistency. Some dishes, particularly from the special Chinese menu, are still very good, but others have been mediocre. On a recent trip, the Sesame Chicken was overcooked (burned) and gristly! I also bit into a large chunk of bone in this supposedly boneless chicken dish. The remaining meals at the table were average. Many of the appetizers have been coming out greasy. if you order a soda, be prepared for a tiny bottle.

The service tends to be very good and the restaurant is efficient enough to get in and out for a business lunch. I hope that they get control over the kitchen and the food quality returns to what is was a few years ago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseygirl5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chu's - best Chinese food in Basking Ridge and excellent service (frequent customer)”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The service is consistently great, as is the food, and the cleanliness. I am not sure why any one would go to any other Chinese restaurant and town. There is one closer to me that delivers but this is worth the drive.
Wished they delivered but they would probably need 6 drivers bc most locals LOVE this place.

There is no bar, and the patio is okay

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newcitygirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chu's Cafe also viewed

 
Basking Ridge, NJ
Basking Ridge, NJ
 

Been to Chu's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing