We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolce Basking Ridge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife & I stayed in room 315 for a wedding. Check in was quick and easy. We requested and were granted a room far away from the elevator. The room itself is very odd. It almost seemed like it was built for little people. The toilet and bath tub were very low. I can see people with knee, hip or other medical problems having difficulity using the facilities. Another odd feature was the room had an armoire in lieu of a closet. It worked, but it just took away precious space from a rather small room. Peraphs the worst thing about the room is the bed. This is also very low to the ground and was very soft and worn in the middle. I could feel every spring when trying to sleep. Needless to say we only slept about 2 hours in the bed as we both were waking up through the night. There is nothing worse than not being able to sleep after enjoying a few cocktails. I should have said something to the front desk at check out, but I did not want to be bothered after a sleepless night.
On the positive side, the bar was very nice and the bartender was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWHerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellClarkeNJ, General Manager at Dolce Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

P. W. Herman,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. In following up with your guest room with did indeed find that your bed platform did become dislodged and caused your mattress to sink down in the middle. We are very apologetic for this experience and I would ask that you email me directly and we can make amends for this truly unfortunate experience. My email is dan.farley@dolce.com. I also want to recognize that we will take your other comments into consideration with our next renovation.

Dan Farley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for Dolce Basking Ridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 802 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Dolce Hotel and Resort in Basking Ridge, New Jersey was a welcome experience for me and my future wife. We reserved a one night's stay for a wedding that we attended in the area. All in all, and even though we only stayed one night, this was quite a pleasant experience. The only complaint we have, and it is due to us being used to ease and convenience, is the location of our room. It was quite a walk from the lobby area but it was expected considering the design of the building.

Our room though was nice and clean. The bathroom had a tub and a separate stand up shower and was large enough for two people to occupy it at the same time. And even though we didn't avail of the pool and, what I considered, a full gym, our room was right next to both.

The bar and restaurant was also nice. The bar having two pool tables and the restaurant offerred both cold and hot breakfast at a decent price.

There wasn't much to do, as expected, but we weren't looking for anything to do as our schedule was pretty much booked as we were there for a wedding.

Overall, the Dolce Hotel and Resort at Basking Ridge, was a pleasant experience. I'll be sure to keep an eye out for other Dolce Hotels and Resort in future trips or vacations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellClarkeNJ, Director of Sales at Dolce Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Ronald R.,

Thank you for visiting Dolce Basking Ridge as well as taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and your business and are pleased hear that our facility and services were a pleasant surprise.

We wish you and your fiancé a wonderful wedding and a lifetime of happiness.

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I spend four nights in July 2012 at this hotel on a conference and the overall experience was simply superb. Nothing can be faulted , however much I tried to think of any shortfalls.

The room

Wonderfully furnished, good wardrobe, lots of lighting - two bedside lamps, table lamp, standing lamp, wall lights........ coffee and tea making facilities, good toiletries, lots of towels and pillows, very effective airconditioning, ironing board , a large alarm clock with many features, a good sized television - in short, all that you need to make the stay comfortable. The rooms and indeed the rest of the hotel are kept clean and shining all the time .The rooms are spread out over a large area all on the ground floor and first floor, the hotel itself sprawling with some open ground and greenery around the place.

The food

This place believes in cutting no corners on food. The variety is wide and the taste excellent on every single meal , be it breakfast lunch or dinner. The staff are very attentive and make sure your needs are being met, in a very unobtrusive way. The range of desserts are super, as is the wide range of the buffet breakfast - including things like almond milk for your cereal, mango smoothies, plain and vanilla yoghurt with a range of addons like mango or strawberry puree, eggs or waffles made to order, and much else........ the lunch and dinner too have a choice of vegetarian and meat dishes, and a wide range of salads , fresh fruit ( always consistently delicious ) and breads. The food was always on time, and hot.

The service

The staff, no matter which part of the hotel they work in , are always smiling and happy to help with any assistance you may require. They obviously like working here, which says a lot for the hotel itself.

The conference facilities

Just wonderful, the whole meeting went off without a single glitch - the video, audio, acoustics, seating...... everything to perfection. And I was amazed at the continous supply and range of foods during the conference too - help yourself when you wish as you wish - including salted peanutes and jelly beans in the afternoons, range of soft drinks including coconut water and vegetable juice and canned cold coffees, range of hot drinks, range of snacks and nibbles ( including cucumber and carrot sticks ) , and yes you could even have one more mini breakfast during the break !

The other facilities

There is a small pool too and an excellent gym, and tennis and basketball courts and biiliards / snooker tables - sadly i did not use these as there was just no time

Congragulations to the team that runs this place - I wish I had many more conferences to attend here ..........

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamjiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellClarkeNJ, Director of Sales at Dolce Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a very extensive review, of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that your stay was very enjoyable and do hope to have you back here, in the future. We know you have a choice and we appreciate you choosing Dolce Basking Ridge. We wish you a relaxing and enjoyable summer. Thank you again.

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Lovely retreat in the busy corridor of New Jersey. Rooms were fine, bar comfortable for relaxing and drinks and snacks were good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lefluidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellClarkeNJ, Director of Sales at Dolce Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your review of the services and facility we offer. We appreciate your feedback and especially your business. Have a great summer.

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed for one night with my family in adjoining rooms to be near my cousin's wedding. We all felt well taken care of and relaxed which helped us to have a great time amidst the stress of preparing for the wedding. Every detail and every need was promptly handled by a gracious and attentive staff. All the amenities and accommodations were top class. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Speak to staff before arriving and request your preferences.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisionaryAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellClarkeNJ, Director of Sales at Dolce Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

We are pleased hear that your expectations were met by the facility and the staff. We strive hard to ensure our facility meets our customer’s needs and the staff provides warm and friendly service. We know there are many choices for your lodging needs and we THANK YOU for choosing Dolce Basking Ridge.

If we find yourself in our area in the future please stop by and visit.

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great space and service. Meals and snacks are wonderful. Rooms are fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_Shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellClarkeNJ, Director of Sales at Dolce Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Carl,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your most recent stay. We are pleased hear that your meeting expectations were met by the facility and the staff. We strive hard to ensure our facility meets our customer’s needs and the staff provides warm and friendly service.

If we find yourself in our area in the future please stop by and visit. Thank you for your business.

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Dolce for an anniversary night. The room was so clean and updated and the bed was very comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by what the room and the hotel had to offer. It was very quiet and dinner in their restaurant was amazing. The food was delicious and the chef even took the time to come out and speak with us. We felt like the only ones there and had such a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellClarkeNJ, Director of Sales at Dolce Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Laura,

Happy Anniversary and Thank you for sharing your speacial day with us. We are pleased to hear our hotel and staff made for a prefect visit.

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn
The Olde Mill Inn
#2 of 4 in Basking Ridge
275 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
95 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
814 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Basking Ridge

Address: 300 N Maple Ave, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-1043
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range: $152 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolce Basking Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Basking Ridge provides the perfect setting for business meetings, social gatherings, lodging and exceptional dining. Situated on 6 picturesque and wooded acres at 300 North Maple Avenue in Basking Ridge, New Jersey, the deluxe hotel and conference facility combines the elements of Living, Learning and Leisure™ to create a superb environment for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dolce Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Basking Ridge Hotel Basking Ridge
Dolce Hotel Basking Ridge
North Maple Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing