We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel could be a lovely, reasonably priced option in the area but the service is non-existent. Check-in was a disaster with a lobby full of wedding guests anxious to get dressed for their event, the hotel wasn't able to check people in at check-in time and were very unapologetic about making guests late. The hotel arranged shuttle never showed, leaving many guests to fend for themselves in an unfamiliar town and the bartender was rude and refused to keep the bar open till the promised closing time. The woman at the front desk who identified herself as a manager seemed completely uninterested in resolving any issues. Wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestManagerIN, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Ciabre,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Kind Regards,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 259 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotels in this region are limited and I stayed as part of a pre-booked large group. I arrived at mid night to check in and was surprised to see two other people checking in before me. I was even more surprised that it took over 20 minutes to check these two people in. I shouldn't have been surprised as this set the standard for the remainder of the stay. The pace of the staff is quite slow, so make sure you leave enough time for the staff to serve you, whether at the front desk or in the restaurant. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Unlike some hotels in the area, this hotel had a bar which was good for our group. If you don't have a car, you might be stranded as the shuttle bus gets booked out quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear KFexis,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the inconvenience the service you received from our hotel may have caused. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs more professionalism on the part of main desk employees. Rooms need to be spotless. Could have more amenities for guests. Rooms are good sized but need individual safes in the rooms. Breakfast was included and was good with nice offerings. Placemats for breakfast would be nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosier49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear rosier49,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

They did not deliver on what they promised. The rooms were not ready at the time stated, long wait at check in, only two employes on the front desk and they did not seem very well trained. The shuttel bus provided did not show after the wedding leaving people to find their own way back to the hotel. The bar closed before the stated time and the help was unpleasant .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27barryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestManagerIN, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Barry F,

Please accept my sincerest apologies. We take guest satisfaction seriously here at the hotel Indigo and we clearly did not meet your expectations. Please contact me so that I can further discuss your stay.

Regards,
Beverly
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had an overnight stay because we had a wedding nearby. The hotel was very accommodating to the many guests who were staying there - from check-in until check-out. The room was spotless and appointed with many amenities, including coffee, tea and bottled water. The reception desk was very cordial and attentive. I would recommend a stay here if you are int he area.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid the elevator area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoppe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have never written an online review but felt compelled to do so for this establishment. I previously had a bad experience at an Indigo in Florida which made me extremely skeptical about staying at the Indigo in Basking Ridge but was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel to be clean and the service exceptional! Mishelle & Ali really go completely above and beyond their duties meet your needs. I have never been so impressed with customer service and felt it should be vocalized. 5 star service for a 2 star price really warrents praise. I will be at the Indigo again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giaisme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for a baseball tournament. Excellent accomodations. The rooms are large and newly furnished and very comfortable and clean. The hotel service is incredibly friendly and helpful, more so than I find in other hotels. No extra charges for wifi, computer printing, etc... It is great to have a restaurant and full bar in the hotel that is really a restaurant and bar. Wonderful courtyard that is shaded, and private. perfect for dining or working outside if you need to get some work done. Laundry is convenient (especially for baseball tournaments). Great restuarants nearby in two strip centers. basically everything you need is here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi V, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Good Day David K!

First, I want to thank you for your 5 star rating of the Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge! Your review brightened up many faced here when we read it throughout the hotel today. Second, it is always great to hear that you had a great stay! We invite you and the team back again the next time that there is a tournament in town.

Fondly,
Mimi Varchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Hills Hotel
Somerset Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warren
228 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn
The Olde Mill Inn
#2 of 4 in Basking Ridge
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
4.5 mi away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
100 reviews
5.3 mi away
Verizon Basking Ridge
Verizon Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge

Address: 80 Allen Rd, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range: $106 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a neighborhood story and we want you to live through and be part of ours. Guests at our smoke-free boutique hotel will experience a local flavor, in an affordable luxury, yet casual and sophisticated setting. At the Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge we provide the very best in modern boutique accommodations, hotel services and inspiring hospitality. Our unique hotel is an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still desire inspiring service. Within 10 miles of our upscale Basking Ridge accommodations, you will find many shopping destinations, like the Mall at Short Hills, Bridgewater Commons and New York City's Madison Avenue, which is just 30 miles from our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge. Additional area attractions include the USGA Museum, historic Morristown and the exquisite Duke Estate. A business trip is a time of serenity and renewal at our luxurious hotel in Basking Ridge. Take advantage of convenient access to Verizon Wireless, Avaya and Barnes and Noble headquarters, as well as a free local shuttle -5 mile radius of the hotel and must be booked 7-10 day in advance due to high demand, service and complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. With a contemporary atmosphere and first-rate services, the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo focuses on delivering peace and inspiration to all guests. While lodging at our boutique hotel in Basking Ridge,NJ,you can enjoy a local brewed coffee and gourmet meals at Old Oak Bar & Bistro or exercise at our state-of-the-art fitness center.Choose the Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo,and you will experience the very best in modern boutique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basking Ridge Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing