We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - decent small gym”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location - decent small gym”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Good for access to the freeways/interstate, and a 5 minute walk from a Starbucks and a great restaurant.
I'm always wary of hotel "gyms" but this one has 3 new LifeFitness treadmills, 3 steppers and a cross trainer. Also a good selection of free weights, and a rather cumbersome multi-gym with pulleys. Its small - and gets crowded if you are more than 6 people - no more than 2 on the weights area. But good quality equipment. The pool is small but fine for a splash.
Highlight of the stay is the bar guy. What a character. Worth staying just for a chat with him.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englaender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    116
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
90
47
14
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Convenient to Newark, right off the main highway, and overall an excellent property in excellent condition with a lovely garden and views. The only complaint is that the wall heater is very noisy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed at this Courtyard for one night on a recent business trip that included many stops in NJ, PA, and NY. I picked the Courtyard for its convenient location - it is within 1/4 mile of I-78, and an easy 2 1/2 mile drive from the I-287 exit.

The check-in went smoothly and the room was a typical basic Courtyard room. The free high speed internet worked fine, and the flat screen TV was almost too big for the size of the room. The bed was extemely comfortable.

My main qualm with this hotel was the $218 rate for a Tuesday evening. I know that Basking Ridge is a pricey area for the business traveler.

The fitness center was fine, and more importantly, open 24/7. There were treadmills, an eliptical, bike, and weights. There were plenty of water/cups, sanitizing wipes, and towels.

I had dinner at Trattoria Bolu, which is on the same side of the hotel once you cross over I-78 (in a small shopping plaza). The hotel had recommended Bolu. Having lived in New Jersey many years ago, I should have known to ask if the restaurant had a liquor license. It did not. I really missed my Chardonnay with the grilled tuna. The chopped salad was practically drowning in balsamic, and I had to ask for bread. Dinner was over $40 without liquor or dessert.

Traffic in the morning was easy to get back on I-287 (a big plus for any location in the I-287 corridor).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittany&Fargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
195 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

It is a typical Courtyard hotel; roomy, nice lounge, fitness and pool are convenient. The rooms are good. Great deals during the weekend.
The restaurant and bar is closed during the weekends except for breakfast. Around the corner there are some nice restaurants, so not much of an issue.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times because I go to Basking Ridge on business often. It is consistent in the vein of Courtyards. I am a pretty loyal Marriott customer and prefer to stay at a Courtyard or Residence Inn whenever I can.
Marriott beds are the best. I don't know if it is the mattress or the pillows but I always get a great night sleep at this and other Marriott properties.
My only beef with this hotel is how difficult it can be to get a reservation. It is the only Marriott property in the Warren/Basking Ridge/Bedminster area so it books up pretty quick and often. When you are able to get a reservation, Check in can be a little hairy because they are usually so busy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at two hotels in Basking Ridge the past two months to go to two separate weddings, this one and the Hotel Indigo. Despite being more inexpensive, the differences between the two hotels didn't match their price points. Courtyard by Marriott is right off the highway, making it incredibly easy to get to. The courtyard that the hotel and all Courtyard by Marriots are all shaped around is very nice. The breakfast buffet in the morning was more than adequate. Our room was set up a little weird, the bed was on an odd wall, not facing the television, and the couch faced it but off from the side. Solid hotel and location for the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptgt20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This place was in the middle of nowhere, and was amazing ! High quality hotel for a very reasonable rates !!!! Upscale rooms and comfortable beds. Very friendly staff, and an overall beautiful hotel !!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmandaShifflett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
5.5 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Hills Hotel
Somerset Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warren
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn
The Olde Mill Inn
#2 of 4 in Basking Ridge
269 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
4.8 mi away
Bridgewater Marriott
Bridgewater Marriott
#3 of 6 in Bridgewater
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Basking Ridge

Property: Courtyard Basking Ridge
Address: 595 Martinsville Rd, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the recently renovated Courtyard Basking Ridge Hotel. Our hotel in Basking Ridge, New Jersey is located along I-78 and Route 287 and minutes from Warren, NJ. With open lobby space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout this Basking Ridge, NJ hotel, you can switch seamlessly from work to relaxation and back. Guests enjoy easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our Basking Ridge hotel lobby GoBoard. Our on-site restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Each of our spacious and renovated hotel guest rooms feature luxury bedding, thicker mattresses and large work spaces. Open all doors to productivity for your small event in one of our three Basking Ridge meeting rooms. While visiting Basking Ridge, unwind and visit local attractions including the USGA Museum. The Courtyard Basking Ridge Hotel makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Basking Ridge Hotel Basking Ridge
Basking Ridge Courtyard
Basking Ridge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing