We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard by Marriott: Average and that's OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was fine. Crazy crowded evening. they gave my reserved room - 2 king beds - away (thanks guys) and gave us a "suite" instead which had one king and a sofa bed. Meh. I appreciate the effort, but have this thing about reservations. I made one, you either honor it or not. if not, what is the point of a reservation? The place was a total zoo with baseball teams, weddings etc going on. And yet, it was mostly quiet (other than some loud guests blazing through the halls at about 11 pm for a brief scream fest) and we all slept fine. Since they gave our room away, they threw in free breakfast which we had not opted for. I appreciated that and the effort to sort out our room issue. Thanks. Average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

SebGo,

Thank you for writing this review and providing your feedback on our hotel. I would like to apologize that you were not given the room that you had originally reserved. This should have never happened and there is no excuse for it. I do hope that you are willing to give us another chance here at the hotel, and I will make sure to make things right upon your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us and passing along your comments.

Sincerely,

Scott Selby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here when our usual go-to hotel was all booked up.
New hotel, great facilities for families. Nice casual restaurant area in lobby. Some circular, semi-private booths with individual TVs are a huge hit with kids. Great way to keep everyone together. Food was good, fast service.

Rooms spacious, try to get one on ground floor. Sliding door opens to lushly landscaped patio and pool area.

One drawback: there were cobwebs right above our bed and a spider fell on me. Informed front desk and we were moved right away. Not indicative of overall level of cleanliness though. I think had more to do with impossibly high ceilings of the rooms, which make it hard to clean. Just look up!

Fair price and comfortable for families. We had the breakfast and internet included rate. No weird extra fees like many hotels. Would stay here again when in the area visiting family.

Room Tip: Rooms spacious, try to get one on ground floor. Sliding door opens to lushly landscaped patio and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miamiflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Miamiflor,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of the great comments and the feedback you have provided us. We are honored to hear that you have now considered us your go-to hotel in the area! I am pleased you were able to enjoy all of our new amenities especially the media pods which happen to be my favorite as well. I apologize for your experience in the room as this was totally unacceptable. I will be sure to inform my staff right away to make sure we take care of this so it does not happen again. Although the circumstances were not ideal I am happy that my staff was able to respond right away and move you to another room.

Thank you again for writing this review. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kindest regards,

Scott Selby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to a wedding this past weekend and most guets stayed at the hotel. The room price was great although it seemed that it seemed all guests were not given the same price and other were told the the time to book a room at the wedding group rate had expired and others were able to book a room after the wedding and still get the wedding group rate.

The hotel itself and rooms were very nice and comfortable.

The Bar/Bistro was ridiculously over priced for both food and drinks. One round of 3 drinks = $28. One Pepsi from the snack area $2.68, one beer $6.41, one Crown Royal on the rocks $12. They were nice enough to keep the Bar open till 1 am for the wedding party but with the prices they were charging it just didn't make sense. For breakfast we opted to leave and go somewhere more reasonably priced, their prices at the Bistro/Bar and Snack area are just outrageous. Bring a cooler of your own beverages and snacks and you'll be fine and save a ton of money.

Room Tip: Request a Balcony Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Debbie B,

Thank you for writing your comments, your feedback is important to me as it helps us improve service to all of our guests. In regards to the room rate I apologize if there was some confusion. Typically we offer a discounted group rate with a deadline 4 weeks prior to the check in date. In some circumstances if we do not sell out on that evening and we are not in high demand the rate may lower and could be equivalent to the wedding rate.

Thank you for your review on our guest rooms. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the space.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not able to enjoy our Bistro. In response to the pricing we do survey the area and our prices are competitive with what is in the market. I apologize if we did not meet your needs in this aspect of your stay with us.

Again, I am truly thankful for review and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Scott Selby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights June 7&8, everything went well, we were there to attend a wedding, the front desk personnel were very friendly as was the hotel manager, the room was excellent and the shuttle service to the wedding location was handled very well. No complaints, highly recommend !

Room Tip: Make sure that your room location is away from the sport teams that stay there!, very important to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlandfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Marlandfirst,

Thank you for the complimentary review! I am glad to hear you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and I hope you had a fantastic time at the wedding. I appreciate your comments about our staff. I am honored to have such a great team and I will be sure to pass this comment along. I am so glad you enjoyed the shuttle service, this is something we arrange for our wedding groups and we love to hear the great feedback.

Thank you again for your great review. We hope to see you next time you are in Basking Ridge.

Best regards,

Scott Selby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I reserved a couple of rooms for one weekend night. We stayed in one room and our teenage son and a few of his friends were in an adjoining suite room. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable and the boys liked the in-room movies and the flat-screen TV, as well as the pool and hot tub. Any staff we had the pleasure of dealing with were very accommodating and helpful. Although we live locally, we would definitely consider this property for a future stay for ourselves or for visiting relatives.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with a small table and chairs accessed by sliding glass doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Marie C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fine review of our hotel. Sometimes it is nice to just get out of the house even if it is locally. I am glad to hear all went well for you and your family and I hope you will join us again when looking for a local getaway.

Sincerely,

Scott Selby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I visited this hotel on business and was very impressed by the customer service as well as the atmosphere of the hotel. Upon arriving, I was greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk who made me feel welcome and made the check in process effortless. When I entered my room, I was pleased to see a very clean and modern layout. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. I initially had issues getting WIFI access (due to my VPN restrictions) but their IT customer service was excellent and got me going in no time. I would not hesitate to stay there again the next time I am in Basking Ridge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelC526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Joel C,

Thank you for the review, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well. I always enjoy reading about great guest service – this is why we are here. Your comments make our staff proud which fuels them for the future.

Thank you,

Scott Selby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were heading to Cape Liberty, NJ for a cruise and decided to stay just outside of the area and away from the airport. Nice location, a little disappointed that there weren't any restaurants within walking distance to the hotel, but we did eat downstairs and the food was good. The service was very slow and our waitress did forget to bring our drinks, but overall it was a very nice hotel to stay at.
When we went to check out in the morning, the front desk said that there was no charge since my points covered the cost of our stay. We were not aware that they did this on their own, I thought I had to request it. We will definitely stay at this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Kisma1,

Thank you for your business and I appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear we did not communicate the local restaurants. We have some great restaurants within walking distance and directions are available on our “GoBoard” (our interactive touch screen concierge) as well as a restaurant list from the front desk. Please always feel free to ask the front desk any questions regarding the local area – our staff has great local knowledge. I apologize for your experience in our restaurant I assure you this is not indicative of our usual service.

Sincerely,

Scott Selby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
259 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bridgewater Marriott
Bridgewater Marriott
#4 of 6 in Bridgewater
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Hills Hotel
Somerset Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warren
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn
The Olde Mill Inn
#2 of 4 in Basking Ridge
289 reviews
5.5 mi away
Verizon Basking Ridge
Verizon Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
803 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Basking Ridge

Address: 595 Martinsville Rd, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range: $109 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the recently renovated Courtyard Basking Ridge Hotel. Our hotel in Basking Ridge, New Jersey is located along I-78 and Route 287 and minutes from Warren, NJ. With open lobby space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout this Basking Ridge, NJ hotel, you can switch seamlessly from work to relaxation and back. Guests enjoy easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our Basking Ridge hotel lobby GoBoard. Our on-site restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Each of our spacious and renovated hotel guest rooms feature luxury bedding, thicker mattresses and large work spaces. Open all doors to productivity for your small event in one of our three Basking Ridge meeting rooms. While visiting Basking Ridge, unwind and visit local attractions including the USGA Museum. The Courtyard Basking Ridge Hotel makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Basking Ridge Hotel Basking Ridge
Basking Ridge Courtyard
Basking Ridge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing