We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Pleasant”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Your Front Desk attendants were very hospitable and helpful. Check in as well as check out were handle expeditiously.
I would definitely return and stay at this location. They helped with directions to the Mall ; ) BIG Thank You there!
Thanks again to Jessica & Jenna

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
aprilrg,


Thank you for the complimentary review, we always appreciate the positive comments!! I will personally thank Jessica and Jenna for taking care of you while you were staying with us - they will be thrilled you mentioned them.

Once again, thank you and I hope you join us in the future!!

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    116
    66
    18
    8
See reviews for
91
47
14
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Traveling from New Hampshire, I came off the road at 9:45. The kitchen graciously allowed me to order food at 9:55 despite their closing at 10:00. The room was fabulous and the service was outstanding. They really go the extra mile for their guests.

Room Tip: The best courtyard I have stayed at. Great value too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Piseu,

Thank you for the kind words, it is always gratifying to here such praise. I am also very proud of my staff for taking care of your needs and making you so happy.

Hope to have you stay with us again!!

Thank you,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

like many business reviewers here.. . It is a decent property, friendly people at the front desk, basic rooms, near the highway but a bit of a sharp turn to get into the front driveway. I have stayed here about 10 times in the past two years, before and after the lobby renovation. Renovation just seemed to make it more expensive.. Really went up a lot in price with zero changes to the rooms.. .. I use the room for 98% of my stay, not the lobby... Spend your money where your guest spend their time.

Room Tip: You can be a very long walk to the lobby (pros and cons).. I get a room in the back and come in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
familyman42,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel your feedback is important to us as it allows us to improve our service to all of our guests.

This hotel has recently turned ten years old and the lobby renovation was the second effort to upgrade our hotel. We actually renovated the rooms in late 2008 and are due to update the rooms once again in 2014. Although you like to spend time in the room, the lobby renovation was designed to entice you to step out of your room and enjoy the many options available. We do not want our guests to feel confined to the room so we have “activated” the public space and placed it at your disposal.

The lobby has many features: strategically located outlets so you may plug in your computer throughout the public space, wi-fi throughout the hotel and outside in the courtyard, a home theater area where you may enjoy a game, the news or favorite show comfortably with family, friends or peers, media pods for private TV viewing or conducting small meetings, a communal table which comfortably seats ten people for meetings and informal gatherings, and more...

With respect to pricing, we have had a modest increase for our regular rated rooms of 4%. This increase went to affect as the year changed not due to the lobby renovations.

Once again thank you,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I recently stayed there for one night of business travel and the property is very convenient to local businesses. Also, the room rate was fairly low. However, the night I was there the hot tub and pool were closed "due to maintenance" and there was no ice on the floor where my room was.

The next day there was no hair dryer in the bathroom. Also, I killed a large bug - not a roach but it looked more like a tick, on my sofa.

I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suicune723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
familywithkids39,

I want to apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay at our hotel - it saddens me that you were disappointed. We take pride in the service we provide and having you leave unsatisfied is disheartening.

We did have a short duration where we were experiencing problems with the pool dehumidifier and the ice machine was out of service simultaneously. Our maintenance staff worked vigilantly to get these items repaired as quickly as possible. Both are currently fully operational at this time.

The hair dryers are actually located in the guest room closets and there is one in every room. If per chance one was missing and this was overlooked by our housekeeping department, one call to the Front Desk will rectify this quickly.

With respect to the bug you killed, we have a very thorough and comprehensive proactive pest control system in place where all guest rooms are treated regularly. Also, if there is a sighting of any type of pest we promptly call our exterminator to inspect and provide a subsequent treatment. We take pest control very seriously.

Thank you for your feedback,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice in two years, they finished a renovation. After a weary trip, it was GREAT to see they added a bar in the lobby!A nice surprise at a Courtyard!The lobby is more modern and now the breakfast is an ordering type of situation( at the aforementioned bar), which is definitely a downgrade, especially when you are in a rush!Skip the breakfast, and head to the bagel place next door!

Room Tip: New beds, very soft, seems like that memory foam stuff, which can be a little scary because i'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
OP87,

I want to thank you for the kind words regarding our renovations. We are very proud of the new look of our hotel and love to see the reactions of the regulars who have not seen the updated look. The lobby is functional as well as beautiful, with electrical outlets to plug in to work, a boarding pass station, home theater area along with private media pods for personal TV viewing or small meetings and so much more!!

With respect to the breakfast service in the Bistro, we have been adjusting to the new way of serving food. One of the things we found is that the resteraunt is much more popular than anticipated. We started with one point of sale terminal and found this is where our bottlneck occurs. We have purchased a second point of sale to eleviate the wait. This will arrive soon.

Once again thank you for the kind words!

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stopped here with my family as a stopover on a roadtrip to Virginia. It was perfect (other than having a breakfast included). Reasonable rates, very clean, newly renovated to look pretty modern, nice lounge area. We didn't have time to check out the pool but would have liked to do so. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others. It was just a few miles off of Rte.287, so it was a convenient location too. Overall, I was quite impressed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Cape Vacationer,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is always great to here positive reviews of the hotel and it encourages us to keep executing at the highest level.

Thank you,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Have stayed here frequently in past. Watched hotel go through major renovation. At that point, they cut back benefits to me as Marriott Platnium premier member. Use to have free buffet breakfast included. So decided to check out other Marriotts in area as this is the most expensive courtyard around.

Found nice Fairfleld Inn by Marriott in Somerset for over $70 less a night on average. Includes buffet breakfast. Also, Fairfield Inn in Edision NJ nice and even Parsippany Fairfeild Inn gave more. For what they provide for rate, worth considering other Marriott's in area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard Basking Ridge, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for writing your comments, your feedback is important to me as it helps us improve service to all of our guests.

I want to apologize if we did not properly communicate our new breakfast policy for our most loyal guests. I will take this opportunity to state the change. We previously had a buffet for breakfast where it was all you could eat and complimentary to all Platinum Premier members. Since there is no longer a buffet, we offer complimentary breakfast to our Platinum Premier members with choice of one hot item from the menu and a beverage including Starbuck's freshly brewed coffee or two cold items and a beverage.

With respect to the rates, we are very fortunate to be conveniently located near some major corporations. Subsequently, there is a tremendous demand for rooms. Also, we are a much larger hotel than the typical Courtyard hotel and have the ability to provide some services above our sister properties. We are more expensive than the Fairfield Inn product as it has a separate niche in the market and both hotels are 15 to 20 miles away from our hotel.

Thank you for your feedback,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
249 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Hills Hotel
Somerset Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warren
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn
The Olde Mill Inn
#2 of 4 in Basking Ridge
270 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
4.8 mi away
Bridgewater Marriott
Bridgewater Marriott
#4 of 6 in Bridgewater
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Basking Ridge

Property: Courtyard Basking Ridge
Address: 595 Martinsville Rd, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-2800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the recently renovated Courtyard Basking Ridge Hotel. Our hotel in Basking Ridge, New Jersey is located along I-78 and Route 287 and minutes from Warren, NJ. With open lobby space and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout this Basking Ridge, NJ hotel, you can switch seamlessly from work to relaxation and back. Guests enjoy easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our Basking Ridge hotel lobby GoBoard. Our on-site restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Each of our spacious and renovated hotel guest rooms feature luxury bedding, thicker mattresses and large work spaces. Open all doors to productivity for your small event in one of our three Basking Ridge meeting rooms. While visiting Basking Ridge, unwind and visit local attractions including the USGA Museum. The Courtyard Basking Ridge Hotel makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Basking Ridge Hotel Basking Ridge
Basking Ridge Courtyard
Basking Ridge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing