We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average setting; slightly above average food.”
Review of The Grain House

The Grain House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grain House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: American Fare with Historic CharmDating back to the 18th century, the Grain House Restaurant has always been the most popular destination for locals and visitors alike. Known for its historic charm and American inn fare, the popular Grain House Restaurant is conveniently situated next to the hotel. Enjoy Basking Ridge dining in a unique and historic setting, handsomely trimmed with beamed ceilings, masterful fireplaces, rich woods and striking hearths.The Grain House Restaurant, Basking Ridge, NJ is open for lunch and dinner in our cozy dining rooms and on our patio for outdoor dining during summer months. Guests can also enjoy Saturday à la carte breakfast and a sumptuous brunch buffet on Sundays. For casual cocktails and happy hour specials, the Grain House Restaurant features the Coppertop Pub, voted “the best coziest spot for drinks” by the NJ Monthly Magazine. If a private party is on your agenda, the Grain House Restaurant would be honored to host and cater your event.
Bucks County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Above average setting; slightly above average food.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went with family for Valentine's dinner on the weekend. Rustic charm, service was fine, food was good. Service could have done better with beverages; water was refilled but not beers. Alcoholic drinks are the most profitable things offered by a restaurant. The menu of small plates was smart, so you'd buy an extra side. $7.50 for 1 cup of mac'n'cheese is semi-ridiculous. $30-50/person is more accurate. The food overall tasted above average, but doesn't compare to... a proper English dining experience. This could be classified as an upper middle class restaurant. Also, there was no yelling period. English or otherwise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hypo_theories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    140
    51
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the small plates”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Dinned here on Valentines Day as were were staying in the Inn. We chose the small plate menu and the food was great. I loved the Lamb. The prices were very reasonable and they had a great bar menu. I would go back again for lunch or dinner. Lots of space and lots of selection without compromising taste and preparation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A hoary past”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This must rate as one of the closest brushes with history in an eating place in the US and even makes you wonder if George Washington really slept here ...or nearby. It feels just like it should with the mill stone, low ceilings et al. The food is excellent be it the french onion soup , crab cakes, salads, steaks, desserts. We had our team dinner here and by the time we went through all the courses the gastromical experience was complete. Get down here even if you flunked history you will love the gastronomy!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RideIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good menu, but disappointing mixed results”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ate here twice recently - once for lunch and once for dinner. I was encouraged by the lunch - we hadn't been here in quite a while and the menu was new. For lunch, the hangar steak platter with some fries and caesar salad was tasty and a good value. My husband was not so happy with what he called "greasy" French onion soup and reuben. Dinner was equally a mixed experience. My husband was happy with his shepherd's pie, which had a flavorful herbed gravy and very tender beef short ribs. The duck, on the other hand, was poorly executed. The waiter assured me the duck was cooked rare, but it arrived in a bowl of hot broth (??) that continued to cook it. The crispy skin was immersed in the broth and so ended up flabby - really unforgivable. The pumpkin chestnut filling for the ravioli was nice, but the pasta was thick and tough. Was the broth there to counteract this mistake? The wilted kale had way too much pancetta. The flourless chocolate cake was very good. As others have noted, the atmosphere is cozy if a bit noisy, but it can't make up for inconsistent food at above average prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeronprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly, warm and delicious”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Restaurant on Olde Mill Inn property. Wonderful classic and not so classic options such as Duck and Monk fish with excellent pairings. Excellent bread options including sourdough, whole grain and flatbread. Professional, yet friendly service. Much better alternative than the Market restaurant which is similar in menu type, but did not deliver in terms of tastiness, price and portions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vagaSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grain House also viewed

 
Basking Ridge, NJ
 
Bernardsville, NJ
 

Been to The Grain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing