We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxed we're nearly boneless!!”
Review of The Sand Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sand Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nancy (innkeeper extraordinaire) & her staff made our stay delightful. It felt like home, but way better. The Sandcastle is a gem...the pool is delightful, the grounds and the Inn are impeccably maintained and the hospitality was top notch. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joizygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlelbi, Owner at The Sand Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Fostering relaxation is definitely one of our goals and it sounds like we succeeded with you! You made an important point about feeling at home....an innkeeper could not be more pleased than to hear that you felt that way. All guests are offered a tour of the facility at check-in so they are comfortable finding their way around and learning about all we have to offer. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

we spent two nights here after our wedding day in may, and our only regret was that we didn't stay longer! the room was sooo beautiful and well-appointed and breakfast was spectacular. nancy, the innkeeper was a pleasure to talk to- be sure to check out some of her photo books in the upstairs library- she is quite a photographer! we stayed in the beachcomber room and it was completely private and beautifully decorated. if you are looking for a peaceful and indulgent yet comfortable inn, stay here- you won't be disappointed. we will certainly be returning as soon as possible. thank you nancy, for a wonderful wedding weekend stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlelbi, Owner at The Sand Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We absolutely LOVE our brides and grooms! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit as much as we enjoyed having you. The Sand Castle truly attracts 5 Star guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Want nice surprise . I been to Long Beach Inland on the south side but on the north side at Barnegat is little secret . This bed and breakfast is just wonderful. My husband were just spending our 30th wedding annerivery for the weekened. The room we had sitting off our room were sat to enjoy the sunset. We use the bikes the next day to get around the inland. We read the welcome book and took inn keepers advice and walk down to street for nurture walk to the sea. We were very pleasantly surprise . If you staying at a B & B there is a breakfast. The breakfast were very tasty and pleasing to the eyes also. We enjoy the stay. Thank you Nany

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Trudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlelbi, Owner at The Sand Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

So glad you discovered the "secret"! The north end of LBI is a beautiful oasis, boasting some of the best beaches on LBI, with gorgeous sand dunes, an eco-trail, much less traffic and only two traffic lights and peace and quiet more than anywhere else on LBI. Within a short drive you have plenty of restaurants, gift shops and shore activities but you don't have to deal with the summer crowds. You can drive to the activities in Beach Haven or Atlantic City, without having to relax or sleep in the middle of it! Thank you for choosing us as a place to celebrate your anniversary. Glad it was a happy one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Knowing that Sandy had spared our beloved Sandcastle and that we had our reservations confirmed somehow made the intermedible Minnesota winter more manageable. As soon as the Sandcastle came into sight let a sigh of joy and contentment.
Of course I "ditto" all the other accolades in these reviews. Nancy, our wonderful innkeeper sees to it that every whim is anticipated or accommodated. The rooms are well appointed, the beds blissfully comfortable, and the breakfasts are devine.
Thank you to everyone at the Sandcastle for another amazing, albeit all too short, trip to paradise!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenNuccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlelbi, Owner at The Sand Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are thrilled that amongst our five star guests we have a contingent that come all the way from Minnesota! Kudos to you for your enthusiasm and genuine concern about us after the storm. Fortunately, we were spared from any major damage and continue to host our guests in the same quality style that you have come to know us for. Big thanks for the vote of confidence in us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our second trip to the Sand Castle B&B. This trip was an off-season, overnight getaway. We were greeted with open arms and welcomed back. (Yes, we were remembered by the staff!!) Everything was outstanding! Food, accomodations, friendly staff, etc. I would really recommend the Lighthouse Suite. It overlooks the pool, and has a great view of the majestic lighthouse. The Suite has a 2 person jacuzzi tub on the second level and a king size bed. A very comfortable seating area and a large screen plasma TV just top everything off!!

Thanks for a relaxing and rejuvinating stay!! We will be back....LOVE LBI !!!!!!

Room Tip: Second time in the Lighthouse Suite....Would not have another...PERFECT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nevin8167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandcastlelbi, Owner at The Sand Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for visiting us during the off-season, which can be pretty spectacular due to smaller crowds, more last minute availability, yet plenty of fine dining choices. The Lighthouse is always open to climb to the top......an amazing view for those who make it! Our chef thanks you for the compliments on the food! She makes great efforts to bring top quality ingredients, in food presented for the plain or fancy eater! You never have to worry about asking for plain old scrambled eggs instead of her famous frittata......she makes your request with a smile. And as past guests have experienced, you can eat at a private table or mingle with others at the large table.....your choice. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Sand Castle B&B is a little slice of heaven! We felt like we were a world away! It was such a peaceful and relaxing stay. The bed sheets are SO comfortable and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! My husband and I especially appreciated the nice little touches of complimentary non-alcoholic beverages in the room, large variety of DVD rentals, beach chairs and bicycles. Both Nancys are extremely knowledgeable and hospitable. The only very small disappointment was that the jacuzzi wasn't working, but we're using that as an excuse to return next time. We were recommended to this place by friends, and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found this B & B on the internet after searching for a small, intimate, romantic place for our anniversary. I immediately fell in love with the website and then went on tripadvisor to check the ratings. Once I checked Trip advisor I was ready to book. After looking at all the rooms I decided on Egrets landing which was already booked. The only room available was Seascapes which I booked. Periodically I checked to see if Egrets Landing had become available which eventually it did. I was then able to switch to my first choice, Egrets Landing. We arrived at approximately 2PM on Saturday, so excited to meet Nancy and get the tour that I heard everyone talk about on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, Nancy was not there, however she left a note on the door addressed to myself and my husband, with directions to our room as well as directions to other parts of the house. Immediately upon entering Egerts landing I was pleasantly surprised. There were stairs leading to a private entrance, with a private porch on either side of the glass french doors. The room was not decorated as on the website as I expected but it was really beautiful. The room was very bright and sunny yet had shades and blinds for privancy if needed. I was also surprised by the door opposite the closet leading to the hospitality area which has a refrigerator with complimentary beverages and ice, a microwave, water cooler and complimentary popcorn and hot chocolate. In addition to each room having a private entrance from outside, each room also has another door which opens to this hospitality area. My husband and I then toured the property, sampled the baked goods in the parlor, then settled into our room. The bed was very comfortable, as were the chairs, it was very convenient having a mini fridge eventhough we had access to the one in the hospitality area. Breakfast was very good on sunday morning. We were able to help ourselves to cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juices and an assortment of baked breads. After seated we were able to choose from a menu of Blueberry croissant french toast with blueberry syrup (which we chose) & taylor ham, eggs benedict, or an english muffin with eggs sandwich. Monday mornings breakfast included all the above self serve items in addition to a choice of a breakfast Quesadilla with Taylor Ham, Pancakes with Taylor ham or eggs with Taylor ham. The Quesadilla was great! We really enjoyed our visit and plan to go back again.

Room Tip: Egrets landing has an excellent view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
8.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
12.3 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Tower Cottage B&B
The Tower Cottage B&B
#1 of 6 in Point Pleasant Beach
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Castle

Address: 710 Bayview Ave, P O Box 607, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Price Range: $195 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sand Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashore contemporary, sparkling clean bed and breakfast accommodation with water view rooms and spacious suites, all with private entrance from the outside, private bath, some with jacuzzi, some with a porch and all with a sumptuous full breakfast each morning. Modern amenities including free wifi, HDTV, DVD player, library of current DVD's,common areas with grand piano and game tables, in-room hair dryer, robes, beach towels, beach tags, and beach chairs. Enjoy your day at the beach or out on the bay then return to our beautiful outdoor, heated pool (available summer only) and courtyard area or enjoy complimentary bikes to ride around town. We are close to restaurants and shopping and a short drive to golf. Relax on our beautiful rooftop deck overlooking a panoramic view of the Barnegat Bay and the Barnegat Lighthouse. Then celebrate our colorful sunsets as you pass another relaxing day at the Sand Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sand Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel Barnegat Light
The Sand Castle Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing