We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect place for a romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sand Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sand Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Plainfield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found this B & B on the internet after searching for a small, intimate, romantic place for our anniversary. I immediately fell in love with the website and then went on tripadvisor to check the ratings. Once I checked Trip advisor I was ready to book. After looking at all the rooms I decided on Egrets landing which was already booked. The only room available was Seascapes which I booked. Periodically I checked to see if Egrets Landing had become available which eventually it did. I was then able to switch to my first choice, Egrets Landing. We arrived at approximately 2PM on Saturday, so excited to meet Nancy and get the tour that I heard everyone talk about on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, Nancy was not there, however she left a note on the door addressed to myself and my husband, with directions to our room as well as directions to other parts of the house. Immediately upon entering Egerts landing I was pleasantly surprised. There were stairs leading to a private entrance, with a private porch on either side of the glass french doors. The room was not decorated as on the website as I expected but it was really beautiful. The room was very bright and sunny yet had shades and blinds for privancy if needed. I was also surprised by the door opposite the closet leading to the hospitality area which has a refrigerator with complimentary beverages and ice, a microwave, water cooler and complimentary popcorn and hot chocolate. In addition to each room having a private entrance from outside, each room also has another door which opens to this hospitality area. My husband and I then toured the property, sampled the baked goods in the parlor, then settled into our room. The bed was very comfortable, as were the chairs, it was very convenient having a mini fridge eventhough we had access to the one in the hospitality area. Breakfast was very good on sunday morning. We were able to help ourselves to cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juices and an assortment of baked breads. After seated we were able to choose from a menu of Blueberry croissant french toast with blueberry syrup (which we chose) & taylor ham, eggs benedict, or an english muffin with eggs sandwich. Monday mornings breakfast included all the above self serve items in addition to a choice of a breakfast Quesadilla with Taylor Ham, Pancakes with Taylor ham or eggs with Taylor ham. The Quesadilla was great! We really enjoyed our visit and plan to go back again.

Room Tip: Egrets landing has an excellent view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
89
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I decided to enjoy the NJ shore after Labor Day and booked the Oceanic room. The room was very cozy with a private access door to the parking lot. The bed was sooo comfortable!! I meant to ask Nancy about those sheets! So soft. My husband and I were well rested. We ended up bringing our own beach chairs but I loved how each room has their own 'stash' right outside their doors (umbrella included). I was anticipating a common area where everyone might go to grab their beach supplies but this was a nice feature that we will be sure to use next time. While storm clouds threatened...Sand Castle offered many cozy delights to make us feel like we did not care what the weather did! (Though it turned out to be beautiful the following day anyway). The pool and jacuzzi were a nice option to come home to after the rough waters at the beach. Breakfast was amazing of course. We both enjoyed the gluten free belgian waffles...delicious!!! This was pretty impressive...I figured the gluten free options would strictly be egg-based dishes. It was a real treat for Sandcastle to have this option for those who are on a gluten-free diet. The coffee was phenomenal. It is 'pressure-brewed' which makes for a more delicious cup. All of the little details were great. This B&B exceeded expectations...even with a #1 rating on TA.

Room Tip: Oceanic room was on the smaller side but served all of our needs. It was definitely quiet even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have been traveling to LBI for years and never stayed at the north end of the island…what a nice place to be! The Sand Castle B&B is wonderful! My husband and I enjoyed every moment! Hospitality, breakfast, amenities and attention to details are unbelievable! Thank you Nancy and your staff for a wonderful and relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is the sixth year that we have been visiting The Sand Castle, and once again, we had an incredibly enjoyable stay! Nancy, the owner, makes you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The rooms are beautifully decorated with the most luxurious sheets and bedding. The breakfasts are delicious, and they are always willing to accommodate any requests you may have. The pool area is just beautiful, and it's so nice to relax when you get back from the beach. Beach badges are always included as well as beach towels and water bottles, and snacks are also available for the guests. This is one of my favorite places to stay, and I plan on returning for many years to come. Thanks, Nancy, for always making us feel so pampered! Melanie and Craig

Room Tip: I like to choose the rooms with the king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a 35th wedding anniversary gift from our three children. We never dreamed that a B & B getaway could rival any other place we have traveled too. This is "heavenly" and we are already counting the time till we can return. The staff, breakfasts and accommodations were nothing short of sensational.
The homemade scones and honey butter are to die for and the pumpkin pancakes are sumptuous! If you can get a reservation at the Sandcastle, add at least another day because you'll never want to leave!
Celia & Otto
August 2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

we've stayed at many B&B's and this is one of the best. everything has been thought out for the guests' comfort. the breakfast and snacks are delicious, the accomodations are immaculate and luxurious. close to the shore and the bay with a pool as a bonus. Nancy is an amazing hostess and with her lovely staff has created an environment of friendliness and comfort. definitely a place we will stay at again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyFarhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nancy Gallimore has provided great detail to the rooms, breakfasts, pool and activities. Just pack your bags and spend your time relaxing at The Sand Castle, the beach or take a bike out for a few hours...passes and parking to the nearby beaches and bikes are provided by the thoughtful owner. Nancy and her staff are amazing and very hospitable, this is by far the best B & B I have visited.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kylescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
9.9 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
14.1 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
15.3 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Castle

Property: The Sand Castle
Address: 710 Bayview Ave, P O Box 607, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashore contemporary, sparkling clean bed and breakfast accommodation with water view rooms and spacious suites, all with private entrance from the outside, private bath, some with jacuzzi, some with a porch and all with a sumptuous full breakfast each morning. Modern amenities including free wifi, HDTV, DVD player, library of current DVD's,common areas with grand piano and game tables, in-room hair dryer, robes, beach towels, beach tags, and beach chairs. Enjoy your day at the beach or out on the bay then return to our beautiful outdoor, heated pool (available summer only) and courtyard area or enjoy complimentary bikes to ride around town. We are close to restaurants and shopping and a short drive to golf. Relax on our beautiful rooftop deck overlooking a panoramic view of the Barnegat Bay and the Barnegat Lighthouse. Then celebrate our colorful sunsets as you pass another relaxing day at the Sand Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel Barnegat Light
The Sand Castle Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing