We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go anywhere else in BL?”

Viking Fresh Off the Hook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Description: Fresh Fish Deli And Outside Cafe/take Out
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh Fish Deli And Outside Cafe/take Out
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else in BL?”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you are heading to BL, this must be your first stop! The food is incredibly fresh and the staff very friendly. I recommend the fried clams, which are plump and perfectly fried every time. Fish tacos are also available, and no matter what you get, you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    31
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was recently in LBI for a week and we stopped here for lunch one day. I went with people who have eaten there before but it was my first time. They recommended the fish and chips knowing how much I love them and oh my gosh they did not disappoint!
It wasn't busy when we ordered so our food was ready fairly quickly. My fish and chips came out all packed away in a classic style cardboard box and included some cole slaw. The entire meal was super delicious! The fish was SO fresh and juicy, all white meat and the coating/breading was just perfect, lightly crispy and very flavorful. The fries that came with it were very good as well, and very crispy. And the cole slaw was delicious, it had a strong black pepper flavor but I like that! They have outdoor seating so we decided to eat it there instead of take it back to the house. Everything was just so fresh it was great! I recommend stopping here if you're in LBI, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Scallops”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fresh seafood right off the fishing fleet. Scallops are best in the world. A little on the pricey side but well worth it. Mostly take out but there are picnic tables outside. When on lbi just go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiladelphiaSbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, New Jersey
2 reviews
“We will be back 4 shore”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Viking Fresh Off The Hook delivers some of the best seafood on the island. You should always expect the food to be delicious, the family boats port right there out of Viking village. Everyone I saw was enjoying the food. Clean Fresh and worth it

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Viking Off The Hook catered our daughters wedding at our rented beachfront home in Surf City. What a beautiful memory!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a beachfront wedding in Surf City and had it catered by Kris from Viking Off The Hook. What a wonderful person to work with and the food was superb! She helped us select everything from the tables, cloths, napkins, glass and chinaware to the elegant and delicious dinner menu. We chose a selection of Stuffed Flounder, Beef Tenderloin, and Chicken Francais, and appetizers including Bacon Wrapped Scallops, Shrimp and Crab Claw Cocktail, and Raspberry Brie filled Filo Cups. The portion sizes were large and the food fresh and out of this world. Her pastry chef topped off the evening with a beautiful two tiered carrot wedding cake that was so delicious the guests all went back for seconds. I was so glad I ordered one of their scrumptious apple pies too. Not one morsel was left! The Waitstaff was amazing! They took control of the entire night cooking some of the food on site and serving all the appetizers and meal to the guests. They were very professional in manner and attire not to mention they worked in complete silence and never skipped a beat! It's as if they mind-bopped. As for the cost of the event...it was much more reasonable than holding a reception in a local restaurant and tons more fun having it at the house. It enabled us to enjoy the evening on our time schedule and not be rushed. I would do it again in a heartbeat! Janet R.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbreitzrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Fresh Off the Hook also viewed

Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 
Harvey Cedars, Long Beach Island
Harvey Cedars, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Viking Fresh Off the Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing