We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and clean”
Review of White Whale Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Whale Motel
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First stay at the motel, in a 2 bedroom hotel room. Was very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and friendliness of the staff. Within walking distance to the light house, restaurants and a 10 minute walk to a gorgeous beach. In a very quiet area, perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed in the Lighthouse suite with my husband and our two friends for two nights. It's in a great location- very close to the bay and nearby to stores and restaurants, and a very quick ride over to the beach.
The suite was very comfortable! There is a small kitchen, but it's really all you need for the shore, a table with 4 chairs, a pull out sofa, a flat screen tv & dvd player and a small deck with a table & plenty of chairs. The bathroom was very roomy and clean, and the beds were quite comfortable. It really makes sense to book one of the suites if there are more than 2 of you as the price is just twice what the regular rooms cost, and you get the extra living space.

We had a great time!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kizern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed in Room 201, 2 bedroom suite. Shared with my brother & sister in law & our 2 yr old. Stayed to see No Discipline (reggae band). The suite was HUGE ! Super clean. Full kitchen, large open floor living room, dining room, porches, etc.... We opted to split this suite as it was the same amount of $$ as 2 regular rooms. Best decision. Lots of room, we were able to hang out together in comfort. The band as always, was awesome. We will definitely be repeating our stay in the same room - hopefully ! Josh @ the front desk is awesome & alot of help.

Room Tip: Biggest suite is 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Looo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Second stay at the Whale, as we follow the reggae band No Discipline around. Family owned, clean, comfy, and quiet! Its located on the peaceful side of Long Beach Island. There are still pubs, restaurants, beach and plenty more. Price is awesome. Check it out!

Room Tip: If theres just two of ya, lower small rooms are fine, Bringing the family, stay upstairs in the apts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This motel is good value for money. It is at the quiet end of the island with walking distance to the lighthouse and beach. The rooms are very small, but clean and only useful to sleep in. There is a pub, hotel and breakfast place all within a 5 minute walk so location, location, location is the strong point. 10 minute drive to Surf City.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

One night stay me and husband to go fishing. I can tell that room was just renovated and served its purpose. Everything was very clean and owner was very pleasant when we arrived. We were right near the lighthouse, which is where we fished. There were clean towels, soap, shampoo and flat screen TV. Small room, but very cute.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the huge two bedroom upstairs. It was huge, with a full kitchen (which we didn't use) and two bedrooms with comfortable beds. The AC was more than adequate to handle the LBI humidity. The owner was quite friendly. Everything was clean and neat, as if we were the first people to stay there.
The only complaint is that you can hear through the door to the adjoining apartment, the same as if they were in the room with you. But, if you and they behave yourselves, that's not too serious of a problem.
The location is fantastic, within walking distance of all the shops at the tip of Barnegat Light.
We will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atomictoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewhalebl, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments; we corrected the problem you described by replacing the hollow core adjoining door with a solid door. We did this while we were updating and renovating that suite this spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Whale Motel

Address: 20 W 7th St, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1591
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly motel located in Barnegat Light, a small quiet town on the northern tip of Long Beach Island A short walk to the ocean, bay, inlet and some of the best beaches at the Jersey ShoreResturants, gift shops and antique shops located nearby We are the closest motel to the Barnegat Lighthouse and the Barnegat Inlet ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Whale Hotel Barnegat Light
White Whale Motel Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing