We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“" Simple Goodness"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Whale Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Whale Motel
Save
You added White Whale Motel to your Saves list
mohegan lake ny
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“" Simple Goodness"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Second stay at the Whale, as we follow the reggae band No Discipline around. Family owned, clean, comfy, and quiet! Its located on the peaceful side of Long Beach Island. There are still pubs, restaurants, beach and plenty more. Price is awesome. Check it out!

Room Tip: If theres just two of ya, lower small rooms are fine, Bringing the family, stay upstairs in the apts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This motel is good value for money. It is at the quiet end of the island with walking distance to the lighthouse and beach. The rooms are very small, but clean and only useful to sleep in. There is a pub, hotel and breakfast place all within a 5 minute walk so location, location, location is the strong point. 10 minute drive to Surf City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

One night stay me and husband to go fishing. I can tell that room was just renovated and served its purpose. Everything was very clean and owner was very pleasant when we arrived. We were right near the lighthouse, which is where we fished. There were clean towels, soap, shampoo and flat screen TV. Small room, but very cute.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the huge two bedroom upstairs. It was huge, with a full kitchen (which we didn't use) and two bedrooms with comfortable beds. The AC was more than adequate to handle the LBI humidity. The owner was quite friendly. Everything was clean and neat, as if we were the first people to stay there.
The only complaint is that you can hear through the door to the adjoining apartment, the same as if they were in the room with you. But, if you and they behave yourselves, that's not too serious of a problem.
The location is fantastic, within walking distance of all the shops at the tip of Barnegat Light.
We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atomictoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitewhalebl, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments; we corrected the problem you described by replacing the hollow core adjoining door with a solid door. We did this while we were updating and renovating that suite this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was a pleasant find. It is small (just enough room for beds & luggage) but clean and affordable and great location. Best choice for the area for a couple nights stay. They even included beach passes. It has a nice back yard with hammocks and a grill. A great place for kids to play and relax. The beds were more comfortable than the higher end place down the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justsharing11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I am staying at the White Whale now using their free internet
This is my first time at the White Whale this season. Since I last stayed here they did plenty of renovations; in particular I like the new 32” flat screen TV’s . The rooms are always clean and it is still the lowest priced choice on the north end. For the price you get the same beach and town as the higher priced places. The rooms are small but I did not come here to hold meetings in my room, there is plenty of room at the beach for that. I have been to the few motels and B&B’s in Barnegat Light, if you are not trying to impress your girlfriend with how much money you can spend this is the best choice on the north end.

Room Tip: for large families the upstairs apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler1972_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Room was small, freshly painted and clean. Small frig and microwave and new flat screen tv on the wall above our bed. Too buggy to use hammock in the backyard and yard needs some tlc. Easy walking distance to beach and lighthouse. Cute little diner at the corner where we had breakfast. A very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandpiperSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
10.0 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
14.1 mi away
Spray Beach Inn
Spray Beach Inn
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sand Castle
The Sand Castle
#1 of 5 in Barnegat Light
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#5 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Whale Motel

Property: White Whale Motel
Address: 20 W 7th St, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006-1591
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly motel located in Barnegat Light, a small quiet town on the northern tip of Long Beach Island A short walk to the ocean, bay, inlet and some of the best beaches at the Jersey ShoreResturants, gift shops and antique shops located nearby We are the closest motel to the Barnegat Lighthouse and the Barnegat Inlet ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Whale Hotel Barnegat Light
White Whale Motel Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing