We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch”
Review of Kubel's

Kubel's
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kubel's is a full-service restaurant with outdoor seating providing for spectacular views of Barnegat Bay and sunsets. Offering a variety of distinctive entrees such as their signature crab cakes, old fashioned crab pie, Barnegat Light scallops and sizzling sirloin steak. Homemade clam chowder and half-pound hamburgers (especially the "K" burger) are great. Don't forget to try a yummy frozen cocktail and a delicious dessert. A fireplace and bay view warmly await your arrival. A regular menu and blackboard specials are offered daily. Visa, Mastercard and Discover are accepted. Handicap access. No reservation. Seating for dinner is until 10PM nightly. Late night at the bar!!!
Waterloo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spending the week on LBI with wife and family. Took a bike ride to Barnegat and happened to find Kubels. The doors were just opening for the lunch crowd. We took a seat at the bar and Joe was very friendly. The dining area looked very nice. We had just a light lunch. Steamed clams were real good, nice butter and garlic broth. Had the lightly fried scallops very good,wish there were a few more. Wife had chicken fingers and said they filled her up. Everyone was friendly and the price was fair. We recommend Kubels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ironhead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    64
    33
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Califon, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The restaurant decor has a lot of character with a nice wood bar. We saw great live music. The musician welcomed special requests and that made for a very fun night!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren, nj
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local hangout/summer retreat!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Truly a staple for the Barnegat Light crowd. If you are in the area, go to Kubels! Good sized bar, with bar table seating, booths for more privacy, and/or dining room where the best sunset views are to be had. We love the sweet potato fries, chicken flautas, anything scallops! The menu is extensive, with lot's of daily specials to choose from. Service is excellent, friendly and personal. Prices are a bit high, but not unexpected in this summer-vacation, Jersey shore town. Close to the lighthouse and Viking Village.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The outside should reflect the inside”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with my experience at this restaurant. The food was excellent and so was the service. There was a great welcoming atmosphere that was perfect for my whole family and I. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. However, I did not expect such a great experience when I pulled into the parking lot. There are some dingy dumpsters behind the restaurant. They are very off putting and dirty looking. However, I am glad to say that they are not a representation of what is inside the restaurant. I am glad I decided to try this place and will definitely be coming back soon, and I hope others will not be turned away by the dirty dumpsters.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnjohn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlene M, Owner at Kubel's, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Sorry about those necessary, but yes dirty dumpsters in the back of the restaurant. Unfortunately, as they are the property of the sanitation company, and not the retaurants, we were not permitted to paint them this spring when the complete exterior of the building was painted. Hope you enjoyed the flower boxes and new pedestal flower containers at the front entrance of the building as well as the flower containers and herbs at the south side though. How about our new flag pole, with the Barnegat Light flag too? Delighted to hear that everything on the inside was to your liking. Did you like our newly remodeled rest rooms?Hope to see you again...
Regards,
Arlene Morrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were looking forward to going to this restaurant and exploring Barnegat Lighthouse. The food was expensive for what was served. Only 3 shrimp came in the Stuffed Shrimp Dinner @ $23.00 and the fish in the Fish Cakes was very hard and seemed overcooked @ $18.00. I saw other reviews where people would wait to eat here. There are plenty of fine restaurants on LBI. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kubel's also viewed

Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 
Harvey Cedars, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Kubel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing