We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartbreak Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barnegat Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barnegat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnegat Motel
Save
You added Barnegat Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnegat
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Heartbreak Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a horrible, depressing place. The owners, (especially Maggie), were extremely rude and demeaning, looking down their noses as if speaking to someone less than human. The furnishings were old and ugly, the carpet worn. The microwave didn't work, and the shower water (like the heat), would suddenly change from cold to scalding hot. One night Maggie knocked on the door after 11 pm to search the room, looking under the bed and asking if I had a skinny girl hidden there. Junkies seemed to love the place, though, like a guy in room 6 who seemed to have a regular business going all night. Avoid this rat-hole at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank brianwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Barnegat hotel has a nice, old-fashioned charm too it. My girlfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights while visiting friends and going to a wedding over the weekend. The hotel's managers were extremely accomodating, friendly, and personable, and even upgraded our room for free 'just because". The room was clean, spacious, and charming with a slightly more romantic feel than most chain hotels. Don't believe they offer a continental breakfast or have a swimming pool, but if you're looking to stay somewhere that's well managed, neat, with a slight European architectural flare, then the Barnegat Hotel will meet all your needs and then some. Such a wonderful weekend there. Great people.

Room Tip: No emenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We regrettably stayed in this dump 2 nights; for the money spent you get nothing…not even a blow dryer!!!! Our AC had 2 speeds full blast and off, we froze our butts off! When I went outside in the morning my glasses fogged over!!! My 2 year old son flushed the toilet on me in the shower and burned my butt! The water pressure SUCKS! Our second night the “guest” below us had music blaring til 3 AM. I used my cell phone, since there is not a phone in the room to call the “front desk” only to leave a message. No one was around at check-out, so once again I called the front desk. I spoke to the women who checked us in. She said she checked for someone playing loud music and couldn’t hear anything. Then I see the “guest” from the room below us collecting the trash from around the grounds. Of course she didn’t hear her “employee of month” playing loud music all hours of the night!! If there is a next time we will spend the extra money to stay at the Holiday Inn and not have to drive to get coffee!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from room 16!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debster721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barnegat hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I found a slug leach black looking thing under the pillow on the sheet good thing I looked first asked for a refund or a free stay and was told no can only get 10 bucks back or leave n will get money back...kinda mean to me about it..not my fault u had a slug thing crawling in the bed...I feel I should have been refunded with a free room for inconviece and not being nasty or mean about a nasty creature that stained the sheets were I was gunna sleep

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jesseras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

First room I got was not serviced. Second room had no AC. It was a vaulted ceiling loft style room on 100 degree day. Third room, key didn't work. I settled withe second room not wanting to go to the trouble of another hotel... Then the owner walks into the room without knocking rudely asking for key to the other room.. I had already made 3 trips down to the "lobby", this place flea bag

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mdbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is an excellent motel. Very clean the staff is very friendly the rooms are pretty nice it all goes acording what you pay and it was worth it. I stayed there 2 nights for MDW and it was awesome very quiet place 15 min from Seaside Heights !! And 10 from long beach island !! Every time i go down the shore ill def stay there.. I 100% recomend it !!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I have stayed there a couple times before and have been very satisfied. We plan to stay again this June, 2011. We travel with 2 dogs and one cat and usually have an efficiency that serves us all well. We used to live in the area, so we know it well. Usually come in a car so we eat in or out. There is a restaraunt within walking distance, can't vouch for it because we never ate there. With a good walk, there is a Deli and Pizza place. For exercise, I walk to the light south of the Motel and through the community behind those establishments. We plan to visit NJ many more times and would gladly stay in the Barnegat Motel again. The proprietors are friendly and nice as well as the accomodations suiting us very well. Joyce Stengel, Cape Coral, Florida

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spengelstengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Toms River
0.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
0.0 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnegat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnegat Motel

Property: Barnegat Motel
Address: 115 Route 9, Barnegat, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Barnegat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnegat
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Barnegat Hotel Barnegat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing