We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jack O'Lantern Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Plymouth, MA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place needs some work”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Went there on a 3 day golf trip Monday-Wednesday. Played 18 on Monday, 36 Tuesday and 18 Wednesday. The course is in rough shape. There are no fairways to speak of - the grass is high everywhere. 4 of the greens were in rough shape. It's also a very strange layout - the 9th hole is no wear near the clubhouse. Everything closed at 5. The food in the bar was awful - the cheeseburgers were bad, continental breakfast was the same food all 3 days. The rooms were dirty. There were cobwebs in the patio and all over the patio. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigben1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Property is in need of some attention. These are individually owned condominiums, so the interior conditions vary greatly. The unit we had was tired and in need of upgrades. Golf course was in rough shape on the back nine due to flooding last fall. They have not invested the money to repair areas of this course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mass_traveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were there at the end of the season, but at a great time for leaf peeping. The course was not in the best shape, we had got there right after a rain storm, but it was beautiful and the owners very nice. We weren't just there for golf, but for the fall colors and some hiking, which made this a great jumping off point for our days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moejoe61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have rented from the on-site rental program in the past. The service was fair at best. The units in the program are not in good shape. Over the past 2 years we have rented directly from private condo owners. The cost was almost 1/2 the amount the on-site program wanted to charge. The units were in great shape and the service was outstanding. I would recommend dealing with the owners directly. The golf course is not in good shape. We always play at Owls Nest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GolferNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Upon asking about course conditions because of Hurrican Irene and the flash flooding in NH, we were told that the course was a "little" sandy Six couples decided to play based on that information. The conditions were absolutely misrepresented by management - it was like playing either in sand boxes or overgrown fields - no fairways, no fringe. When we all finished playing we expressed our concerns about the golf conditions in the pro shop to no avail. On top of the miserable conditions they also overcharged each couple $16. We were quoted $90 per couple and paid $106. When asked, the owner "went crazy" and told us to leave his property using expletives totally unnecessary for a "supposed" professional pro. He even threatened to call the "cops" on our group (we were simply trying to relax all together after the game). The owner should spend time controlling his temper rather than golf course management.

His use of the F.... word to my wife was totally uncalled for. We will never play that course again and advise other people not to either.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the resort but played golf.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank BAS-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Woodstock hotels

Clayton, nj
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I booked the golf academy, what a delightful and learning experience, worth every penny. Jim the golf pro was excellent. He has a great personality and makes you feel very comfortable Playing two nine holes with a pro cannot be missed if you wish to improve your game. Despite some personnel problems in the restaurant we were always given excellent service. Our reception at the reservation office was friendly and informative. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Our room was super clean. Living without our cell phones, no service with Sprint, was actually a blessing, and we never bothered with the wifi available in the game room. Try it, you'll like it. The scenery is breathtaking. I had to take pictures on the course, the holes with river views are unique. The small towns of Woodstock and Lincoln provide some additional entertainment, however we did not need any. My only suggestion would be to have a coffee pot in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I went here mid-week as part of a social buying offering. Included in the package was continental breakfast, lunch, golf and motel stay. We did not use the pool or the exercise area so I can not comment about them. However, the continental breakfast was good, all the staff pleasant and the golf staff was particularly friendly and helpful. The course was well mentioned.

The two days we golfed (starting around 9:00 each day) it was busy with about a full schedule. The first day it got backed up but there was no ranger to move things along. That is the closest I will get to a complaint regarding the course. Otherwise everything was great.

Our room was a basic two queen beds room, no frills but well mentioned.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davetcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
7.9 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
621 reviews
5.6 mi away
RiverWalk Resort At Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#5 of 20 in Lincoln
439 reviews
8.5 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,127 reviews
6.5 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Pollard Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack O'Lantern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack O'Lantern Resort

Property: Jack O'Lantern Resort
Address: 1668 Daniel Webster Hwy, Woodstock, NH 03293
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jack O'Lantern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jack O'Lantern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack o`Lantern Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing