We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise”

Kancamagus Collectibles
Ranked #4 of 6 things to do in Woodstock
Attraction details
Douglas, MA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went in just to browse around.
Located in the back is a great antique car museum!!!
The front is a nice souvenier shop.
This hidden gem is a must stop, rain or shine!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank obie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Neat find on a rainy day”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

When trying to find something to keep busy on a long rainy day, we stopped in here. At first it was for the souvenirs - but I had forgotten about the sign boasting an antique car museum. The museum is free - they simply ask you to buy something in the shop. It was just the right size for the kids, but had several unique conversation pieces. I liked the collection of license plates from every year starting way back in the teens and the camping trailer with a top that turned into a boat.

I thought the prices in the store were reasonable - much better t-shirt prices than at the attractions. There were quite a few options on sale/clearance as well.

My 7 year old was bummed that the geode he bought here didn't have any crystals, but it was only $1 and he had fun smashing it open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Misvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool store”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Like all of the items in the store but just can't afford it all.... Would've liked to see better prices...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“kancamagus collectibles souvenir shop”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

this used to be the best little shop ever up until this year couldnt wait to get there to get our usual new hampshire souvenirs and to our surprise they had gotten rid of any good little things anyone would want to bring home the tshirts and sweaters are way over priced now they dont have the good pine incense anymore or cute fridge magnets or anything decent for a souvenir for that matter ! our child tried to purchase a stuffy that was way overpriced and had dealt with the most miserable lady and guy ever! very rude to our child when she didnt have enough and then to us when we asked to put the rest on a card ladies reply was( id rather not )we were appalled ,everyone travels with cards???? sadly we left it behind since she was so extremely rude to us all of us were immediately disgusted in the way a child and ourselves were treated we left and found a great little shop called sunburst trading right around the corner with fair prices and excellent customer service , dont waste your time if your like us and loved this little shop youll be upset when you go, all of us sadfully scratched this off our favorite places for souvenirs :(

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank maxmommy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlene622013, Manager at Kancamagus Collectibles, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I was sorry to hear you had a negative experience at our store. We are a small business and most customers find our prices reasonable and their experience positive.

We do not refuse credit card purchases in any amount but try to encourage customers to use cash for small amounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So many treasures, so little time”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We discovered Kancamagus Collectibles on our most recent trip up North. One of our kids wanted a particular kind of sweatshirt and we took on the challenge of finding it while we were on vacation. Good grief. Anyway, we sailed past the exit we needed to get on the highway for the Flume Gorge and went by this shop as we were searching for a turn-around spot. Coming up empty-handed on the "Hunt for the Hoodie" but enjoying the sights, we determined to stop at this Collectible shop on our way back to the hotel.

What a find! Not only did they have the exact thing we needed (and more!) but the owner has an incredible collection of antique cars that he's happy to show for the price of some good conversation. I had ample time to browse the retail store with its enormous collection of NH souvenirs while my SO toured the mini-museum and chatted with the owner. You're missing a treat if you don't stop here.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Wishniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kancamagus Collectibles also viewed

 
Woodstock, White Mountains
Woodstock, White Mountains
 

Been to Kancamagus Collectibles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing