We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to be in the mood”
Review of Allen A Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wolfeboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allen A Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Northboro, MA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“You need to be in the mood”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I go back to the days when the Allen A resort was a thing to behold. Tennis courts, indoor theater, cabins tucked away in the woods, an owner who dressed like a cowboy and rode his beautiful palamino during periodic fireworks displays open to the public. Those days were maybe 50 years ago. That resort closed and a new motel was opened, containing a restaurant, play areas for kids, etc. Well, much of that is gone and we now have the motor inn, at which we have been staying for maybe ten years.

Having camped for twenty years or so up the road we have come to like this part of Wolfeboro. From the motel its a two minute drive a beautiful free beach, there is a state park nearby, and places to pull over at Lake Wentworth to swim or canoe. This said it is five minutes into Wolfeboro for lunch, dinner, and hob nobbling with the Romney set or wannabees who have populated this part of the world for years.

As to the motel itself, it is managed by very nice and accomodating people who are slowly upgrading the rooms. The one we had last week had wi-fi and a fridge. It was clean and comfy and the air conditioner got us through a serious hot spell. The pool out back is extremely nice; clear, clean and refreshing....never used it seems. We like sitting on the little deck out back and watching a sunset.

Ok, as one can tell from other reviews this is no Hilton. The outside needs a serious paint job, as does the wooden furniture. Some of the in room furniture is on its last legs. It would be nice to have a coffee pot or coffee served in the reception area. But there are signs of progress and if Romney gets elected president maybe the owners can strike a deal with Marriott to start over. In the meantime, if you are in the mood for some North Woods simplicity in near perfect surroundings......

For us the bottom line is something quiet a level or two above a camping trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side; they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Allen "A" has two types of rooms and we were upgraded to the better of the two. The room was hot and musty smelling. The AC was off and minimal when on. The curtains were threadbare. The blinds would not go to the bottom of the window. The bathroom fan unit had a burning lint smell when on. The bedding was 1950s. The carpet was filthy. The walls had cracks and no pictures. Worst of all there were little bugs on the pillows.
All this for $99 per night! Needless to say, we left and were fortunate to find a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We booked my son and daughter into the Allen A because we were in Wolfeboro for a family wedding. They were put ina room around the back with a door with a flimsy lock.
My daughter did not feel safe. The room clearly had not been cleaned recently as there were dead bugs in sight in the bathroom and beneath the air conditioner. When "clean" towels were left in the room they had dried toothpaste still on them.
I only found out about the conditions on the ride home, so I wrote a letter to the management and received no reply! I strongly recommend that you avopid the Allen A in Wolfeboro NH!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank BPS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I booked rooms here for two of my sons and their families, because we were attending a wedding, but was a little worried by the reviews that said the rooms smelled of mold. However, there was no smell of mold, and the Allen A Motor Inn turned out to be a very nice, totally clean, pleasant place to stay, with very friendly and helpful staff. I definitely recommend the Allen A!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, RI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

When I was told I had to pay first before I got the room key I was a bit leery. I was directed to my room around the side of the building. We parked in the front of my room and I noticed paint peeling above the outside of the front door and broken siding surrounding the building. The front door of the room had been spray painted from a can and you could see the door paint overspray on the surrounding area. Once inside there was a terrible moldy smell and the air conditioner was set to maximum. (Probably to try and remove the odor.) Our first night was spent killing the multitiudes of bugs that were crawling underneath the door (There was a 1/2 inch gap at the bottom) Seeing as it was the 4th of Ju;y weekend and we were visiting relatives we really had no choice given the fact that the area hotels were booked solid. (We tried!) The second night was spent listening to people that that put in the room next to us with a blaring TV and kids running around till 3AM. The next day we decided to check out even though we had already paid for the night. When I confronted the desk manager he said he didnt realize that there were those type of problems. I laughed at him and told him "if you didnt know about the problems why did you ask for payment before I received my room key?" He told me there was nothing he could do but to have a nice trip home. I will do anything I can to let everyone know what a "Motel from Hell" the Allen A motel is. It was my worst experience ever. Terrible. I'm not sure I can get any of my money back through my credit card company but I will try. $109.00 plus tax per night is a ripoff!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the room smell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank dondo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Had to find a place to stay and stumbled upon this hotel. Most importantly the bathroom and room was clean with fresh smelling sheets. THe room was very simple and a bit dated but it was fair for the price. The shower was awesome, lots of good pressure.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — motor inn
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sbcvulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfeboro
2.2 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
323 reviews
14.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
80 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Windrifter Resort
The Windrifter Resort
#7 of 7 in Wolfeboro
29 reviews
14.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
60 reviews
13.8 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen A Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen A Motor Inn

Property: Allen A Motor Inn
Address: 427 Center St, Route 28 North, Wolfeboro, NH 03894-4814
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Wolfeboro
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wolfeboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing