We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside Favorite”

Garwoods Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Gilford, NH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lakeside Favorite”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to visit for lunch while spending the day boating on Lake Winnipesaukee. Whether you choose to dine indoors or on the outdoor patio, one is guaranteed to have a great view of the lake. The food is good with healthy sized portions, the atmosphere is casual, and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hildasieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    88
    60
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have gone by boat to this restaurant a number of times and we are never disappointed. We love to sit outside by the lake. Food is always fantastic, and I love their Asian Chicken Salad. Service is always wonderful!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Saved by the Staff”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A terrific server made Garwood's run-of-the-mill meal into a very pleasant evening. Garwood's is a landmark in Wolfeboro, being in the center of the town in a prime location. Crowded, a bit cramped, a bit loud, and a bit dated, Garwood's nevertheless is a part of the Wolfeboro scene and worth a visit. The restaurant has the comfortable feel of places we have been many times, but lacks a distinctiveness that might kick it up a notch for resort town eateries. The menu was predictable and solid. The food was predictable and solid. The server was blessed with a 1000-megawat smile, a terrific attitude, and a sense of timing that was marvelous. She single-handedly turned this dinner (there were 5 of us) from a yawn to a yowee. Food: burgers were good; seafood tasted just OK, salads tasted like the greens had long soaked in dressing before serving. Shrimp were good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I have been here a few times and it's always a good experience. It can feel a bit cramped and loud at times but, overall, it's a cozy atmosphere and the food is good. Between this and The Restaurant, we usually choose Garwoods.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great spot”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

garwoods has the prime location in town........main street and on the harbor.
full menu (burger plates are great) and lots of room for family dining...in or out on the patio on the marina.
indoor bar and cafe SECTION also views the marina
reputation regarding the quality of the food seems to be waning
someone should speak with the owner

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank newgalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garwoods Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Garwoods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing