We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
5
14
19
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
14
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yacht club full kitchen white mountains front desk staff walking distance lake winnipesaukee new england unit villa docks stove deck lakes barn
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 46 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2018

My wife and I stayed in their newly renovated unit right on the lakes and the had the greatest time, there was so much to do in walking distance and the view of the lake (right outside of our room) could not be beat!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyandtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SChittum, General Manager at The Windrifter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!! Being able to relax and take in the view of the big lake is just the best. Wolfeboro is a treasure of a town, so, we are excited you got to experience both. Next time you are in the market to relax, we hope you'll come back to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Most would not categorize this as a Resort;honestly I would not either because of it's age and it is a group of buildings bundled together to make up the Windrifter. Having said that; I have been taking a weekly visit for over ten years and love the "resort" and it's many amenities. I stay in the Yacht Club in a very modest studio that overlooks the Wolfeboro docks. From this vantage-point I am able to watch the Mount Washington make it's daily stops to pick up visitors. I pretty much leave my car parked for the week and walk to the shops, restaurants and trails from my unit. The is a nice indoor pool that is usually quiet when I visit (in May). I have also visited over New Year's Eve. to attend the First Night events and watch fireworks from the balcony. Not a fancy joint but always clean and well stocked. Staff is helpful, charming little town.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank MiaVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SChittum, General Manager at The Windrifter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

We are so glad to hear you enjoy your visits year after year. We cannot deny we are not like a lot of other resorts. The Windrifter is classified a "legacy resort" due to her age & history. A couple of the resort buildings (Villas & Yacht Club) are younger than the Main Inn, but still old enough to be considered "legacy". Which works out nicely being located in the historically quaint town of Wolfeboro, known as "America's Oldest Resort". So, while we are conscious of her vintage status, we have incorporated a number of modern conveniences for our guests, as well. So, thank you, again, for the kind words. We look forward to having you enjoy many more visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We booked the Windrifter because it was within walking distance to a wedding that we were attending. We were warned that it was very "rustic" and were a bit worried about how our stay was going to be. Well, our overnight stay exceeded our expectations. Yes, it is an older resort, but we found it to be quite comfortable. Our room was very clean and with new carpet. It was also a very large room with a full kitchen. If we were staying longer, we would have used the kitchen and taken advantage of more of the recreation options, pool, kayaks, etc... While our stay was a quick overnight, it was quite enjoyable and the price was great.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coldinNH603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SChittum, General Manager at The Windrifter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Thank you, so much, for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. The Windrifter is a legacy resort and while rustic, is full of treasures to be enjoyed. It is nice to hear you were able to do just that during your visit. When your travels bring you back to the Wolfeboro area, it is our hope you will visit, once again, to discover more of what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

We just returned from a couple of days at the winddrifter and though it was brief, we enjoyed our stay. The facility is quite old bit impeccably clean and we are thankful for the indoor pool that entertained the children when our boat trip got rained out. The only suggestion would be the inclusion of a small set of toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel). Everyone in our 2-family party forgot to bring these things and it would've been great to have them there. This wasn't a huge issue, just the one thing that would've been a nice touch at the end of the day when we were all exhausted.
Otherwise, great stay!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SChittum, General Manager at The Windrifter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your words and take each to heart. Wolfeboro is a great town to visit again and again to create lasting memories. We are glad to be a part of that and look forward to when you are ready make more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

Stayed a week nice room on golf course. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Friday and Saturday night was very loud as some guest party all night. Good location close to downtown wolfboro. Nice part of new Hampshire.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank troy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SChittum, General Manager at The Windrifter Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The view from any of our rooms is hard to beat. Thank you for recognizing our desk staff. It is nice when we can tell them their friendliness and dedication was noted and appreciated. We were sorry, though, to read the guests attending a wedding that weekend were disruptive. We can only hope it won't keep you from coming to visit, again, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews