We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crescent Lake Inn & Suites (Formerly The Lake Motel)
Nearby Hotels
The Wolfeboro Inn(Wolfeboro)(Great Value!)
$159
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belknap Point Inn(Gilford)(Great Value!)
$156
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Margate Resort(Laconia)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
135
60
14
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
60
14
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew buildingthe ownerquiet spotfront porchprivate beachnew hampshirepleasant surprisedowntown wolfeborocoffee makerin townback porchcomfortable bedslarge bathroomfamily and friendsshort drivekitchenettegazebo
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 227 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2010

As a regular traveler to the area, I've come to know what to expect when I book a motel in NH -- no frills, dated rooms, minimal amenities. But, I had read so many wonderful reviews about the Lake Motel here on Trip Advisor that I expected I would be pleasantly surprised but I was not.

Check-in was friendly and easy and we were put in a room right off of the lobby. The room was last updated in the 1970s -- the ceiling was badly stained, the desk next to the bed had a handle falling off of it. The bedside table was missing a handle and the tiny bathroom smelled so badly of some unidentifiable smell we held our noses when we entered. The pocket door between the bathroom and bedroom hardly closed and didn't offer much privacy -- ditto on the door to the hall and parking lot.

We enjoyed the lake and went down for a swim to cool off -- with one ancient air conditioner in the room and temps pushing the mid-90s, it would have been nice for the Motel to run the AC before our arrival (especially since we overlooked a parking lot and not the lake), but our room was hot and we needed a swim.

The lake is nice and the extras they provide (boats, chairs, raft in the lake, etc...) were a pleasant surprise but the towels they provide (again a nice extra) were tiny and quite old. My 7-year-old couldn't even wrap it around his small body!

We can endure a lot and have traveled the world doing so, but I think I'd pass on the Lake Motel next time and opt for something that does a better job of meeting expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlliBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunki, Owner at Crescent Lake Inn & Suites (Formerly The Lake Motel), responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

We are sorry this guest and her family had such a hard experience here in our motel. None of her concerns were mentioned to us upon check-in, during the stay or upon check out. We would have worked to address her concerns while she was here as we value all business and concerns.

There are no stains on the ceiling and the pocket door for the bathroom is to provide wheelchair accessibility between the rooms. This door shuts completely and easily to be accessible for any guests with handicaps. No guest has complained about any odor in that bathroom before or since this guest's stay.

It is not our policy to turn on or leave AC units running when guests are not in the room. Our check in times vary from early afternoon until late night; we would have no way of knowing when this or any other guest was planning on checking into his or her room. All of our AC's are in working order and quickly cool off the rooms once turned on.

This guest was upset when she arrived because her request for a court side room was granted yet upon arrival she wanted a lake front room that was unavailable.

Again, we are saddened by this family's comments and would have tried to address these concerns that the family had, if we had know about them at the time the guest was here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is such a relaxed and friendly place. Everyone went out of their way to make our week there go smoothly. The motel is right next to the most beautiful lake and we had such a good time. We have gone year after year and will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwellsg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The hotel looks out on Crescent Lake with a beach a short walk down the lawn. It was the most perfect place for peace and quiet that I can imagine. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The accommodations were large rooms with large comfortable beds. A useful restaurant is a short walk up near the driveway entrance. Really, everything is within walking distance, including the town of Wolfboro, NH.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband, my dog and I have just returned from two nights at the Lake Motel. We'd made our reservation less than two weeks in advance and had been told that because of the two week cancellation period, we could not cancel once the reservation was made. To our very unpleasant surprise, we arrived to find that the lake view room we'd reserved had been changed by the motel--with no notice to us--to a room facing on the parking lot, which, owing to a hot late afternoon sun, was an oven. The desk told me that it was their policy to make lake view reservations subject to cancellation by the motel--but not by the customer--(no one had told us that when we reserved the room) and that they were booked up solid for the two nights we were going to stay there. Since we'd already been told we could not get our money back, we were stuck--particularly since we were traveling with our dog, and it can be very difficult to find a place willing to take dogs at the last minute.
Attached is a picture of the air conditioner front lying on the floor of our room as it looked when we walked in.. Since it was not turned on, we were not even sure it worked. (We eventually found out that it worked just fine). To say that we were unhappy is a gross understatement. We also found missing light bulbs, no plug for the tub and an "iffy" room key that had to be jiggled repeatedly to be used.

That was the bad news. The good news is that the Lake Motel has the best customer service we have experienced in years. Our complaints (other than those about the room switch) were promptly, cheerfully. and efficiently handled. They allowed us to keep dog food in their refrigerator; they gave us light bulbs and extra keys, found us a plug for the tub, and answered endless questions. After more than a half dozen service requests one day, Dave and Kirsten were still smiling and cheerful and very, very helpful.

Although the motel was dated, the two queen beds were extremely comfortable, our end room was quiet, and the motel setting on the lake was superb (see the pictures). Our dog had a wonderful time retrieving frisbees from the lake; and the other patrons, who were swimming, lounging on the lovely sandy beach, kayaking or just enjoying the beautiful scenery, couldn't have been more pleasant and compatible.

So would we recommend this motel to friends? That depends entirely on the friends. If they insist on up-to-date facilities or they are apt to be upset by a last minute switch in rooms, we would not. If we think that they would feel, as we do,l that the beautiful setting where both they and their pet can have a perfectly wonderful time overshadows those other issues, then absolutely we would. We plan to return to the Lake Motel ourselves. We will recommend it to our son, whose young family would love the beach, the complimentary boats and the close proximity to Wolfeboro.

We do wish that the management would change their policy in order to notify reservation holders when their lake view reservations have been changed and give them a chance to cancel or reschedule (which we would have cheerfully done) or at the very least agree not to make changes during the last two weeks when the reservation can no longer by canceled by the customer. We think it would make for much better customer relations. But since the policy has been in place for a good many years, I guess it just "goes with the territory."

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chesterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Spent three days at the lake motel. Stayed in the newly renovated lake house. Beautiful lake views , nice sandy beach. Traveled with our Wheaten Terrier. Motel very close to beautiful town of Wolfeboro.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regandblcbvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews