We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Wolfe's Tavern

Wolfe's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfe's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wish we had been here longer to eat more meals. The ambience is warm and inviting - true old-time tavern. We had a wonderful breakfast by a cozy fireplace.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we wish you could have stayed longer as well. We enjoyed a fantastic Columbus Day here at the Tavern. The weather was beautiful and town was hopping. I'm glad we help contribute to your great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    92
    47
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We used to go here and it was decent. I'm not sure when things changed, but the menu and atmosphere seems to be more upscale now. The service was great--very professional. The menu was a but pricier than I thought it would be, based on what I remembered from years ago, but everything was very good. The menu is on their website, so you can see selections and prices. It was a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First, welcome back to the Tavern! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed some of our new offerings here at the Tavern. We continually tweak our menu's with the seasons so we can utilize some of New Hampshires local products. Yes some of our prices are a bit higher than they were a few years back but what doesn't cost more these days. I wish we could honor some of the old pricing unfortunately we are victims of the economy like everyone else. What we can do to counteract the pricing increase is to also offer better service, and better selections. I hope to see you at the Tavern again soon. Thanks for coming back & thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on a Sunday that might have been a 'leaf peeping' trip if not for the gloomy weather - hence the place was not very busy (until a tour bus pulled in).
Sandwiches were very good, but the french fries were excellent! Servings were huge, no room for dessert. My wife said the pickles (they make them there) were very good too - not vinegar-y or briney.
Service was a little slow to start, waitress may not have known that the hostess seated us, because it was fine after she took our order.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fflbrgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I'm sorry your leaf peeping trip was washed out. However, I'm happy to hear that we were able to satisfy your luncheon needs. You mentioned in your review our homemade pickles, we actually make a great deal of our items right here at the Tavern. Our talented culinary team takes great pride in creating some absolutely delicious and fresh offerings for our guests. We hope to serve you again soon. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheers tavern atmosphere”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant, which is an old tavern is connected to the Wolfeboro Inn, easy to miss if you don't look carefully. They are known for their burgers, and they really do not disappoint. A must try are the asparagus fries. Our waiter Ed was wonderful and gave us tips on where to visit in the Lakes Region and scenic drives for fall foliage. Overall, food and service were very good and we would return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It is always nice to see our employees get pointed out in a positive manner. Especially those who are new to our staff. Ed has been doing a great job for us in his short time here. I'm glad that his customers are noticing his efforts. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best burger in Wolfeboro”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place stopped in for a some food after a boat ride on Lake Winnipesaukee. The food was awesome. I hope to make it back before I leave town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for spreading the word on our burgers. Our chef's do a fantastic job with everything they do. I will be sharing your comments with our Chef. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing