We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Wolfeboro, NH” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfe's Tavern

Wolfe's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfe's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
412 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Wolfeboro, NH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had lunch there twice. The friend I was staying with is a regular so it came highly recommended. An interesting mouse head dominates one part of the large sitting area. Typical American cuisine, with good service and good selection of beers. Definitely the best eating place in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moniaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
It is always nice to hear the positive feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your lunches with us. Hopefully next time you are in the area you can try our dinner or breakfast as well, both are excellent. The Moose you reference has been on our wall a long time and has been kissed by many people. He is part of the tradition here at the Tavern, everyone who has claimed one of our coveted mugs has had to kiss that Moose. Perhaps one day you'll join the ranks. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    90
    46
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were seated in a room with no windows, no art work and faced a closet covered by a curtain! A huge and costly renovation did not upgrade this historic landmark. The food was okay, but we were not impressed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Explorer599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your response. I will be sharing your feedback with our management team to see if we can address the issues you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice selection of beer, great service. Friday night is all you can eat fish and chips, prices are reasonable. Clams are good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hattryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We have over 100 different beers available, as well as an extensive wine list. Our AYCE (all you can eat) Fish Fry is always a hit too, so is our Saturday Prime Rib nights. Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor, we appreciate all the feed back, especially the good ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Best food in Wolfeboro. Chef comes table to table to make sure we are all enjoying the food. Perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our chef's take great pride in what they do and make it a point to talk with our guests as frequently as time permits them. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great menu choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Probably the best meal I've had....the seafood sauté was excellent! My husband enjoyed his beef medallion dinner that was a special the night we dined. Our desserts were delicious but would have enjoyed my blueberry, strawberry and mango crisp more if our waitress brought it to us when it was first prepared. When it arrived, the ginger & cinnamon ice cream that accompanied my dessert on the same plate was melted. Also, after waiting almost 15 minutes for our drinks. we were notified that they were out of Godiva so we each had to make another choice and then waited another ten minutes for our drinks to arrive. After spending $95 for two people, you would hope the service would have matched the quality of food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank huntersville64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant M, Manager at Wolfe's Tavern, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry our service did not live up to our normal levels. I will discuss the issue with the ice cream with our chef. One of the challenges that we need to let our customers know is that because our ice cream is homemade it is often a little softer than store brands. The drink timing there is no excuse for. I'm not sure when you dined with us, I know that August was a stellar month for us and we were far busier than ever before, still that is no reason to wait that long. I will be addressing this with our staff and find ways to alleviate any future delays. Thank you again for taking the time to fill out a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing