We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth It”
Review of Wolfe's Tavern

Wolfe's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfe's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Wakefield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We have been here 3 times, 1st time (summer 2010) was great, last two times (once in winter 2011 & august 2012) was not good at all. Below is a review of our last time there and reflects a very similiar experience from 2011.

The salad bar is completely embarrassing, only half of the soup orders were brought to the table (waitress had to be flagged down for the rest), main course came out seperately and only after flagging down the waitress again (a solid 10 times after everyone else got their meal) did the seafood plate show up. The food was just ok, vegetables and prime rib both undercooked.
For a small restaurant, the waitstaff appears to be stretched thin as it takes forever for them to respond to guests. One would think that a Saturday night in the summer they would be at their best! The Restaurant manager was virtually invisible, except only to deal with another table who was about to walk out before they even got their meal.

Needless to say we won't be returning.......

Helpful?
1 Thank brendan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    90
    46
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best on the whole lake!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Wolfe's Tavern never disappoints. Every time I go there I am delighted. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and professional. The food is out of this world. I always look forward to seeing what amazing and creative specials the chef is offering! Every time I go to NH I eat there. They have it all, amazing dinners, yummy lunches and of course the best breakfast in town! Looking forward to my next visit!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“MUSHROOM RAVIOLI W/TOMATO OIL”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We live in Wolfeboro so eat around town often. Last night we tried one of the specials at Wolfe's Tavern in the Wolfeboro Inn--mushroom ravioli w/tomato oil. It was so good I commented to the waitress and she told the chef, Hoke Wilson, who came out and told me how it is prepared. Not only that but he later emailed the receipe to me. We will be trying it at home soon. In general the food and service are consistently good and friendly. Try it--you'll like it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food with friendly service right downtown”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stopped at Wolfe's Tavern for a quick lunch while visiting Wolfeboro. There was a wedding function going on, so we couldn't eat on the outdoor patio, but we ate in the front room which was comfortable and felt like an old pub. Everyone enjoyed their meals - the sandwiches were excellent. My wife had the eggplant sandwich, my son had the turkey Panini, and I had the meatloaf sandwich. All very good. They have an extremely wide selection of good beers, as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My parents and I went to dinner at Wolfe's Tavern in Wolfeboro, NH on Saturday night. It was the first time we had been there in several years and I was very impressed with the atmosphere, cuisine and level of service. I had the steak tips which were delicious and my mother had the Prime Rib which is a Saturday special. It literally melted in our mouths when eating it. My father's short rib Shepherd's Pie was very creative and flavorful. We also got to witness a beautiful wedding while we were there. This is our new favorite restaurant on Lake Winnipesaukee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wolfe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing