We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside and inside seating”
Review of Mise En Place

Mise En Place
Ranked #15 of 39 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
365 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Outside and inside seating”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Began with heirloom tomatoes, blue cheese, tarragon& basil with balsamic reduction salad. We ordered the bouillabaisse that had fish, scallops, shrimp and mussels with crostini. We also ordered the chicken piccata. The bouillabaisse sauce was excellent. Would have liked a little more mussels and fish. The chicken piccata was good. Nice flavor. Recommend you make a reservation as they have private parties. Nice staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Re27k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Priority Visit”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This place was great. I try not to dish out excellent ratings too often, but Mise came close. I got a risotto with tenderloin Risotto was a bit liquidy but the flavor was very good. The meat was spot on. Salad was also tasty, but was lacking any creativity--I felt like it was a bit of an afterthought. Fried calimari was also good: seared nicely and with light breading.

It's in an old house, so the atmosphere is quaint, kinda B&B-ish, which is what you're looking for in New Hampshire.

Service was really top-notch. Multiple people served us in different capacities and did a great job. They were also super nice and helped us re-cork a nearly full bottle of wine to take back to our hotel with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, nice vibe ”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Always a great meal and experience. Went there for my girlfriends birthday this past March and like always, did not disappoint

Helpful?
Thank Aj61685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“an exceptional restaurant”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food is always delicious. The menu changes with the season and there are always a variety of specials. Choosing is always a challenge. The service is also excellent and the waitperson always has full knowledge of the items on the menu. At Mise en Place, you don't eat, you dine. Great restaurant

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best in Wolfeboro; Cozy French Cafe; Pleasant Service”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is not going to be the greatest meal of your life unless you live in a very small radius of town. It is however a cozy neighborhood French restaurant where our family had a very nice meal which would stand up well relative to a comparably priced restaurant in Boston, New York or their surrounding suburbs. We ate moderately so our menu observations are limited. We both had the three mushroom marsala over linguini with chicken. The linguini, an easily mishandled pasta, was cooked to a nice firmness. Our son had the filet mignon which the chef graciously customized to his tastes. The bread rolls were simple but well done. The deserts were both polished off nicely. There was a consistent quality to the meal including the small details.

Our waitress, who handled the entire restaurant was efficient and quite pleasant. Even though the restaurant was quite full when we left, we were served in a timely fashion. I would guess, though, that the place could be a little short staffed at certain times of year. It might be worth walking in with a more relaxed and lingering (e.g. non-American) approach to your meal. Order a bottle of wine and have a nice conversation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Noah_Webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mise En Place also viewed

 

Been to Mise En Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing