We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good homecooking on the cheap”
Review of Grandma's Kitchen

Grandma's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Description: NO RESERVATIONS~ FIRST COME - FIRST SERVED ~WE CAN SERVE PARTIES OF ANY SIZE.- MAXIMUM AT ONE TABLE IS TEN..IN THE SUMMER OUR PATIO IS ALSO OPEN WITH LARGE PICNIC TABLES *Classic American Diner food ! Good Home cooking** Fresh Seafood **Fresh Roasted Meats*** Fresh homemade pies*** Our Menu has a large variety of . Burgers.. Sandwiches ..Subs... Dinners, Daily Specials & A Kids Menu.. Reasonable Prices .
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good homecooking on the cheap”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were staying at the resort up the street but didn't want to dress up and pay $$$ for dinner in their dining room . We found grandma's kitchen and went there. No dress code like the hotel. We ordered country chicken and it came with a small salad, mashed potatoes and gravy and corn. It was yummy. If I had to say anything negative it would be the rolls. They had no taste at all and if I had to compare them to anything it would be cotton batting. That said we enjoyed our meal and had the blueberry pie for dessert. This is no frills but you leave full with change in your pocket. I think mostly it's where the locals eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zzreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    111
    31
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, MA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast for a great price!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at the Resort down the street but didnt want to pay for expensive breakfast so luckily I found Grandmas Kitchen. Great food, highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjenfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, CT.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast to start the day”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed just up the road and stopped here for breakfast with a larger party,they were able to seat us with no problem. The breakfast was very good and the hostess did a great job keeping up with us. Good breakfast to start the day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neftali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We ate here 4 times (in a 3-day time frame), and enjoyed every meal. The biscuits and gravy were excellent as was the homemade apple pie. It's a good value and we also enjoyed the local flavor of the clientele.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“good diner food in out of the way spot”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Probably would have just driven by this place if not for trip advisor reviews. I had the turkey dinner and it was tasty but was a bit surprised at how little turkey there was.. two very thin slivers atop some stuffing. Our server said they cook it fresh every day so although not a hefty portion, this is not some processed, salty, deli turkey trumped up to look like the real deal. Service was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelajoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Kitchen also viewed

Whitefield, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Jefferson, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Lancaster, White Mountains
Lancaster, White Mountains
 

Been to Grandma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing