We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cookin'!”
Review of Grandma's Kitchen

Grandma's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: NO RESERVATIONS~ FIRST COME - FIRST SERVED ~WE CAN SERVE PARTIES OF ANY SIZE.- MAXIMUM AT ONE TABLE IS TEN..IN THE SUMMER OUR PATIO IS ALSO OPEN WITH LARGE PICNIC TABLES *Classic American Diner food ! Good Home cooking** Fresh Seafood **Fresh Roasted Meats*** Fresh homemade pies*** Our Menu has a large variety of . Burgers.. Sandwiches ..Subs... Dinners, Daily Specials & A Kids Menu.. Reasonable Prices .
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Cookin'!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

No frills here but it was a great meal! They have a kids/senior menu which saved money off their already reasonable prices. We were there on a Thursday which was "all you can eat" fish fry. The service was sparse, and I had to wait quite a while for my "refill" on the fish, otherwise I would have given this an "excellent" score.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    111
    31
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett NH
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice Local Restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had lunch here on the return home from a 5 day trip to Maidstone Lake, VT. Very clean, cozy restaurant with home made food. All fresh and reasonably priced. We knew it would be good as two sherriff cars were parked there for lunch. Service was a little slow despite a quiet time around 1:45 PM. They have a nice screened in porch for those warm days(not many up there!!) . Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner almost all week.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ate lunch here on our way up to the resort up the hill. It was very good, but not sure it is worth some of the absolute rave reviews on TripAdvisor. The staff was nice, but definitely cater to their every day clientele which we understand. But the service did take a while. My husband enjoyed his meal as did the kids. The desserts were ok - was expecting to be really impressed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcgwirejeter799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“So simple, what's not to love?”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I saw this unimpressive eatery alongside the road and knew right away that it would be good. I wasn't disappointed. Simple setting, simple fare, perhaps not the way my grandmother would have made it, but still in the "home cooked" category. The liver and onions ($8) were as good as I remember them, served with classic potato salad and cole slaw. If I get the chance, I will go back and try something else from "Grandma's Kitchen" (Note: does not accept credit cards, cash only)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT FINE DINING, BUT A FINE DINER !”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our large family (16) visited the Mountain View Grand and on our excursions off property found Grandma's Kitchen. Our first experience was an enjoyable dinner for 8 kids meals and 8 adults. A great variety of food and served with great smiles. We felt very welcome and made the decision to return for Italian Night ! Once again, lots of variety, good prices and great service. Just be on notice that you cannot pay with a credit card.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julytripfamily16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Kitchen also viewed

Whitefield, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Jefferson, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 

Been to Grandma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing