We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward and Unwelcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awkward and Unwelcoming.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

It's a rare treat for me to get back to the White Mountains and I decided to book into a B&B as this time I was travelling with my fiancee and didn't want to bunk up with friends and family. I chose the place for the location and price. I get precious little vacation time and it was a big deal for me to take my fiancee back home to show him the sights where I grew up, and frankly the crummy B&B really made things uncomfortable for us. I am understanding and know that things will go wrong, but the attitude of the host/owners when problems were brought to their attention was nothing short of confrontational and downright belligerent. Being a Yankee, I'd paid for my stay and was too stingy to just leave so we had to put up with it for four days. Threadbare towels, lumpy bed, stinky bed (? mothballs??) flaccid room temp breakfast. Oh I could go on. I'd have thought in a small business if you go in with a smile and say, "I'm sorry but I've just noticed that the bathroom still has rather a lot of hair in drain" etc that they'd fall over themselves to do it right. Not this place. Please save yourself the trouble, your vacation time is special and you worked too hard for your money to spend it here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0fishcatw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your experience BUT YOU DID NOT STAY WITH US.We have no record of you staying with us and no guests stayed with us for four days during either April or May.

All our rooms have plush towel,firm beds and not a moth ball in sight ! We serve a full candlelit breakfast each morning at the time you choose so it comes out hot and delicious.Housekeeping is done daily during a guest stay.

Our guests come from all parts of the world and we treat them with respect and they leave as friends.The positive posts on this website regarding our hospitality speaks for themselves.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
113
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Lion and the Rose is a great place to stay to have a scenic trip to the White Mountains. It's within striking distance from places like Littleton (with Chutters) and Sugar Hill (with Polly's Pancakes). Their rooms are themed (like the Egyptian room with appropriate decor), but the main house has a wonderful Edwardian feel.
Chris and Roger treat you like family and make you feel the need to come back for another visit.

Room Tip: I recommend the Egyptian room or a photo op with the throne and tiara/crown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Freetown
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our 1st time at a B&B .. We were met at the door with a great big welcome, Chris & Roger were great they made you feel like you were family.. Very clean and homey.. The breakfasts were very yummy and they gave great ideas for places to see and things to do.. Hope to be back this summer..

Room Tip: We liked the Rose Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, NH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As noted by others, Chris and Roger are warm and caring folks who make it clear they love what they are doing. The place is clean, quiet and decorated with throughout with their collection of artifacts, paintings, funky furniture and lots of other cool "stuff". Breakfasts were great and their recommendations for other eateries solid.

Room Tip: The Egyptian Room is cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beginning with a genuinely warm greeting from the owners, Chris and Roger, and ending with a sumptuous breakfast of raspberry stuffed french toast with raspberry sauce, genuine maple syrup, sausage links, fresh fruit and a choice of coffee or many flavors of tea, our stay at the Lion and the Rose was exceptional. The rooms are thematic and whimsical, but not overboard, with enough special touches to make you feel the theme but no so much as to drown you in it. Plenty of detail, spotlessly clean, with the warmth of home plus a welcoming hot tub, it was a joy to stay there. My business partner and I are planning to bring our wives there in either late spring or early summer for a nice get-away. All in all, a great B&B!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Look no further if you are looking to stay in a Bed and Breakfast! The service was spectacular, the cleanliness was unbelievable, the comfort was amazing, and most of all, Roger and Chris were gracious hosts! The breakfast was absolutely delicious! You will NOT be disappointed staying here! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Any room would be an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sage7beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the B&B. Our hosts were a delight and made us feel like we were old friends returning for a visit. The decor is very Victorian, a rich palette of colors and period artifacts. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. We were treated to a delicious breakfast while we socialized with other guests. Great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boardingpassplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Skywood Manor Inn
The Skywood Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Jefferson
28 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
7.6 mi away
Carlson's Lodge
Carlson's Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twin Mountain
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing