We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Get Away from It All”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Great Place to Get Away from It All”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Lion and the Rose is a great place to stay to have a scenic trip to the White Mountains. It's within striking distance from places like Littleton (with Chutters) and Sugar Hill (with Polly's Pancakes). Their rooms are themed (like the Egyptian room with appropriate decor), but the main house has a wonderful Edwardian feel.
Chris and Roger treat you like family and make you feel the need to come back for another visit.

Room Tip: I recommend the Egyptian room or a photo op with the throne and tiara/crown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
111
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Freetown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our 1st time at a B&B .. We were met at the door with a great big welcome, Chris & Roger were great they made you feel like you were family.. Very clean and homey.. The breakfasts were very yummy and they gave great ideas for places to see and things to do.. Hope to be back this summer..

Room Tip: We liked the Rose Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As noted by others, Chris and Roger are warm and caring folks who make it clear they love what they are doing. The place is clean, quiet and decorated with throughout with their collection of artifacts, paintings, funky furniture and lots of other cool "stuff". Breakfasts were great and their recommendations for other eateries solid.

Room Tip: The Egyptian Room is cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beginning with a genuinely warm greeting from the owners, Chris and Roger, and ending with a sumptuous breakfast of raspberry stuffed french toast with raspberry sauce, genuine maple syrup, sausage links, fresh fruit and a choice of coffee or many flavors of tea, our stay at the Lion and the Rose was exceptional. The rooms are thematic and whimsical, but not overboard, with enough special touches to make you feel the theme but no so much as to drown you in it. Plenty of detail, spotlessly clean, with the warmth of home plus a welcoming hot tub, it was a joy to stay there. My business partner and I are planning to bring our wives there in either late spring or early summer for a nice get-away. All in all, a great B&B!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Look no further if you are looking to stay in a Bed and Breakfast! The service was spectacular, the cleanliness was unbelievable, the comfort was amazing, and most of all, Roger and Chris were gracious hosts! The breakfast was absolutely delicious! You will NOT be disappointed staying here! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Any room would be an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sage7beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the B&B. Our hosts were a delight and made us feel like we were old friends returning for a visit. The decor is very Victorian, a rich palette of colors and period artifacts. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. We were treated to a delicious breakfast while we socialized with other guests. Great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boardingpassplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had plans to ride the cog rail way up Mt Washington and were looking for a sweet place to spend the night. The Lion and the Rose was exactly what I had hoped for. Chris understood that our budget was as limited as our time and was extremely accommodating. We loved the Lion's Den and the two person jacuzzi was perfect after the day of hiking. Breakfast was delicious! The house is charming and well cared for and Chris and Roger were the perfect hosts. I hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.9 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing