We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I planned a very spur of the moment trip to New Hampshire in July. I found this B&B on the internet and gave them a call. The owners were very personable and accomodating. We were greeted with a afternoon wine reception on the porch where we met the other guests and learned about the area. I have a wicked wheat allergy, but Roger and Chris made sure I had a safe and delicious breakfast. Our room was relaxing with a wonderful bed. We will be going back this fall for a foilage ride. Accomodating to motorcyles as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandM_Hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
112
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The couple running the place were warm and hospitable.
The service was great, the rooms and common areas are beautiful. They are very friendly to vegan and vegetarians and will accommodate any special need or request.
I recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NofarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My flight out of Edmonton, Canada was delayed by 4 hours which created all sorts of problems with my connections. I had mechanical problems with my rental car and had to turn back and get a different one. I was travelling alone which compounded the problems. Chris and Roger were only worried about one thing when I finally arrived a day late. Was I safe and OK?
They serve lovely breakfasts, the rooms are spotless and have all the same amenities (plus more) as any hotel and they are dedicated to making your trip a good experience.
It was my first time at a B&B so I was uncertain as to what to expect. It was great! My sincere thanks to Roger and Chris

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My parents and I stayed here while visiting with family in the area and we found Chris and Roger to be warm, friendly and welcoming! The food was superb and the accommodations were perfect for us. I love Victorian antiques and I loved looking at all of the treasures that were carefully arranged and the stories that Chris told us about them. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennashings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I have visited the Lion and the Rose B&B a number of times since 2007 and have always found quality, value and consistency that now-a-days seems rare in a vacation destination. Owners Chris and Roger Croteau have restored the Victorian home with love and ingenuity that is always a treat to simply enjoy. The well maintained clean rooms, with private baths, are a treat to experience as each is delightfully themed. One can’t go wrong selecting any room from the charm of the French Quarter to the breathtaking luxury of the Egyptian room. Breakfast, seated at the fancy dining room table, is guaranteed to satisfy. I highly recommend the Lion and the Rose to all weary travelers looking to experience a welcome home smile given by simply the nicest people in the business. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, select by location and tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaSande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Thank you for your gracious review,the B&B is always lively & fun when it's Girlfriends- get- away weekend! See you soon!
Chris & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We had a really friendly welcome from Chris and Robert and a great stay with them. The house has a very uniqie decor, that although wouldn't be to everyones taste for their own homes, each room has its own character. We were had an extra surprise when we found out they have an indoor hot tub! and although we didnt bring out swimsuits Chris directed us to the nearest Wallmart to get some.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could relax in the hot tub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton Bay, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My first stay was a romantic birthday weekend in the fall. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming, a couple who loves serving others. As ex-innkeepers we were tuned in to every minute detail. The stay was flawless. The room, breakfast, cookies, suggestions of where to go. I can't say enough good things. Six months later I brought my sisters and friends for a get a way weekend. It has become an annual event and we are soon to have our 7th Girls Getaway. My husband and I have returned for numerous visits to this our home away from home. When our son got married we gave him a stay there. My mother and other family and friends have stayed there upon our recommendations. No one has been disappointed. I love it all, from the country simplicity of the White Lilac Room to the opulence of Egyptian room. Perfection!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank towanda1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris197066, Owner at The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review,as always it is good to see you and all of the family.We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Chris & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
7.5 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
200 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,399 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Skywood Manor Inn
The Skywood Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Jefferson
20 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing