We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome summer vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Came back to Mountain View this year after our first visit in 2009 which was a positive experience. Spent the last week of July, 6 nights at this hotel. The entire week was great from the food to all the activities including spa and golf. The quality of the food improved over our 2009 visit (the seafood over linguini and chicken pot pie in the tavern were good choices although the seafood linguini needed more garlic!). We started our week by needing to change rooms as we needed a larger room to accomodate air matresses for the kids. The front desk staff was very accomodating, sending a bellman with me to make sure the room would be satisfactory. We took advantage of the breakfast buffet most of the week, the pastries, fresh fruit, and omelet station were great. We ate dinner at the tavern restaurant twice and food was average to above average. We did run into one busy night were the food took some time to come out but overall the staff was friendly and professional. We did also eat dinner at the clubhouse twice and ran into another busy night where it took some time to get our order taken. The supervisor was apologetic and took our appetizer off the bill. Again, the staff at the clubhouse was friendly and professional. The service at the outdoor pool was very good for drinks and lunch although the bartender on duty made very average mixed drinks - no consistency if you ordered the same thing twice. The kids activities were great. Took my 8 year old to "meet the farmer" where he got to collect freshly laid eggs, learn about about llama's, pet goats, and take a pony ride ($10 for the pony ride but the rest was free). They had cannonball contests and carboard boat building at the outdoor pool. At night, we had smores by the fire pit (provided by the hotel) and we did use the movie theater and the staff brought us popcorn!. At the end of the week, the hotel had a wedding and a class reunion and contrary to other posts, we did not notice any changes in the level of service. The hotel was staffed well enough to handle events and regular customers. Drinks and appetizers on the veranda were exceptional - the tavern bartender made a great black rasberry cosmo. The views on the golf course were spectacular and it was never crowded or backed up. The course is challenging for hacks like me but not overly challenging for my 12 year old when hitting from the red tees. We did three rounds and had a blast. They could use some newer carts. I highly recommend this hotel for families. Great time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rogie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Once again, it’s great to hear that our efforts at improving our guests’ experiences are paying off. Thank you for your compliments about the friendliness and professionalism of our staff; we work hard to train them well. We’re sorry that the consistency of the outdoor pool drinks did not meet your satisfaction and we appreciate that you took the time to let us know about this important detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,830 - 1,836 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

Returning guest-Went for a Sunday-Thursday family vacation. Staff was OK, efficient and correct service. Main Dining room($$$$) menu was changed so much, there was nothing really good to eat so we used room service, in the tavern or the clubhouse. Food has become very bland, low or no salt even in the pizza. They are overpromoting a green environment at the hotel to such a negative point that they give you green scentless soap and rotten apple, lime smelling shampoo in the rooms and 1 ply toilet paper. Not acceptable at $300 a night. Pools and grounds are well kept but they told us we could not play tennis at night because the lights don't work. Well, the light poles look pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trebord90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Thank you for being a return guest, but we’re very sorry that this trip did not meet your expectations. Our Main Dining Menu will be changing a number of items on the menu in the near future and we hope that some will catch your eye. Thanks for offering your comments on the lack of saltiness in our pizza and other items. We are always evaluating our menu items and will do some fresh sampling. A check with the Housekeeping manager reveals that our toilet paper is actually two-ply.. We’re doing our best to be environmentally sustainable at the resort and we regret that our My Earth soap and shampoo selections were not to your liking. We are constantly evaluating our amenity products and will keep your comments in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Amazing historic hotel recently (1992) remodeled back to original historic look and feel. Very romantic, relaxing and friendly. We do not have kids but I did see some there and they were all well behaved and I heard they have kids programs to keep them busy while you relax in the amazing spa! Wonderful wedding location...there was a wedding one night we were there but you would never know. Great indoor and outdoor wedding spots! Many amazing views and back country driving around but far enough away from the touristy stuff you find at the Mt. Washington area (about 20-30 min from Mt. Washington). Concierge Erin was very helpful in setting our activities up through the hotel and some outside companies. Very nice staff and very relaxing hotel. Historic feel with modern amenities. Not stuffy at all but still gives you the 8 diamond resort feel. Had dinner in the Wine Cellar for our anniversary with 5 course chef menu and paired wines. Just the two of us in the whole place! So romantic! I hear if you book your room and get there you can ask to be upgraded to the front of the hotel for better views. We were fine with our room which was room 330 on the side of the building (see my pics) but still very nice. We opened the windows to enjoy the sound of the water fountain outside. Amazing spa on the 4th floor! highly recommend the couples Lavender Dreams Massage/body scrub. My husband kept raving about it!
Only down side..not dog friendly. Which amazed me. I would have paid a little extra to have the opportunity to bring our pooch. I think they should change that!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethierin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Thank you for your kind words. We’re very pleased that we were able to make your anniversary a memorable one. We’re sorry that we’re not able to permit guests to bring their pets. We have an excellent veterinarian’s office just a couple of minutes away that boards animals for a very reasonable fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The views were breathtaking, the staff helpful and friendly, and the activities plentiful. The only disappointments were the food and black flies; it was mediocre and they were annoying. Overall it was a great time. We sent emails and texts with photos to our children comparing it to Kellerman's in the movie "Dirty Dancing." We would surely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NutmeggersSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

We appreciate your taking the time to write and for the kind words. We’re concerned that your experience with the food was not up to your expectations and that you were pestered by black flies. We hope that you made your problems with the food known to a manager so that some adjustments could be made. The black flies are generally not a problem at Mountain View as our breezy, hillside location usually keeps them to a minimum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

My husband and I recently returned from a delightful weekend at this resort. Although the initial purpose was to attend a wedding there, we stayed an extra night as well, and would look forward to returning some time in the future.
This relatively newly rennovated "Grand" Hotel definitely provided the ideal "destination wedding" for our cousins wedding which they must have chosen it for. However, it was also an overall great place to stay. Prior to arriving, I had looked at the reviews here, the latest of which had been from 2007. SInce then this resort has clearly "upped its game" as everything about it was delightful from the service, to the food at each dining area, to the housekeeping staff. In addition, other relatives of ours, as well as other families we met were extremely pleased with the supervised children's activities, which allowed the adults some much needed romantic getaway time as well. Although our children are now older, we definitely can appreciate the value of a good children's program as we had often attended family resorts. There is also a small golf course which looked nice and clay tennis courts, as well as a small spa.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjamnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Had a great time there- we were there for a conference. Everything was excellent. The golf course could use some new carts though. Don't be afraid to ask for a better room- we started out in the 'Napolean Suite'- I'm not sure if the suitcase would fit between the wall and the bed?? It was also on the main floor (room 19) so it was a bit loud- the front desk staff were very accomodating and got us on the third floor in a much larger room. For an old hotel it was quiet- we've stayed at the Mt Washington Hotel before and that was very loud with thin walls. Each room has a window air conditioner (old building so they obviously can't install air conditioning) and the temperature stayed nice and cool. The food was great- 1 night it was lukewarm but there were also over 100 people eating at the same time andit was still good. All of ther servers were excellent and polite- Di was great- there was also a Tyler... all of there were really great. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHtraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed at the Mountain View Grand for two nights for a wedding. First off, the views from the hotel are breathtaking and the grounds are impeccable. Second, the hotel staff were the most professional, courteous and accommodating I have ever experienced. I wish I had more down time to enjoy the amenities offered, becuase it is certainly a resort where you can stay for a few days and never have to leave the grounds. The petting zoo was adorable and after the wedding a bunch of us went out to the campfire where we were greated with smores which was lovely!!! The rooms were beautiful and clean, and the spa was amazing. I look forward to being able to stay there again and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happygal4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
309 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
758 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
126 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,608 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $173 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing