We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our first experience to this area, however as soon as we could see the hotel through the trees it was beautiful and everything that the photos show! Upon entering the staff was incredibly helpful, answered every question and even invited us to participate in various events... also any hotel that has cider and cookies in the afternoon is awesome! So as we entered our room we were impressed by the size and view. The comfort was great as was the bathroom. Perfect room size for 2! The next morning we enjoyed breakfast with a wonderful staff and then went Ax Throwing with Ms. Baker and her helper. What an amazing experience- we had such a fun time and my husband and I had a blast! This is something that is included in daily events and something that everyone should try! Overall the location, staff, and views were perfect. The manager Chris Diego (although we didn't see him-due to our short visit) use to manage Chatham Bars Inn and does an incredible job - which you can clearly see from the happiness and joy the staff shows! A special thank you to Ms. Baker and her helper! Can't wait to come back and have told everyone about this place! Hope to have enough time to visit the spa next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapeCodGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear CapeCodGirl2014,

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to review. It's great that your time with us was enjoyable and that you are hoping to return in the future. We would be more than happy to welcome you.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

The mountain vistas brought us to the Mountain View Grand. The staff, food, overall service
and facilities will bring us back. The food was some of the finest we have ever eaten, and the service was superb. Simply a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Phil I,

Thank you for taking the time to review. Your kind words are appreciated and have been shared. We look forward to seeing you around the resort again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Everything about our 2 night stay at the Mountain View Grand Hotel was perfect. My wife and I will
return as often as we can.The manager, Christopher Diego & his wife Christa , who runs the hotel's farm - set the pace for the whole staff's genuine enthusiasm. We love the place!
David Donovan

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david_donovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear david_donovan,

Thank you for your review. It's great that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful experience on a visit to the Mountain View Grand Resort and Spa.
We spend some time in the soaker tub located in the Tower Spa for our anniversary. Everything was perfect, from the excellent attendant giving us privacy to the delicious snack tray and best of all was the sweet two person tub with special salts added! It was the absolutely the best anniversary ever!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemont H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Lemont H,

Happy Anniversary. Thank you for your review and kind remarks about the Tower Spa staff. Your comments have been shared and are appreciated.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife Sue and I have stayed at the MVG a # of times in the past, primarily during the spring and fall 2013. During our stay on 1/20 and 1/21 we couldn't have asked for a better place. Because we are also golf members at the MVG course we've become very friendly with the staff and management. Suffice to say, we could not have been happier to see familar faces during our last stay.
From the moment we got to the valet check, Kurt greeted us with a hearty hello and quick service. The Manager Sue was able to ensure that our room accomodations were in place or if we needed anything. She has been a welcome addition to the Management Team and feel she's well-suited for her position. She was also helpful ensuring the ice skating rink was available and went out of her way several times just to talk to my wife and I.

One of the great features to the hotel is the movie room, where there's a big screen cinema in the downstairs. They recently put in new chairs which has greatly added to the experience. We saw Skyfall and felt like we were at the movies. Another perk, was during the day time there weren't a lot of people around, so we watched another movie offered on the listings they had.

The breakfast brunch was outstanding, as well as the casual dinner in the Tavern. The wait staff was very prompt and feel the whole experience was worthwhile.

The king-size room facing the front is spectacular and was very clean. The size and room layout is definitely better than the standard queen-size rooms that tend to face back. So if you're willing to spend a little extra, it's well worth it.

Overall, my wife and I continue to strongly recommend the MVG to first-time visitors. For those who have stayed there before, i'm hopeful they would agree that the hotel offers casual elegance with a personal touch. Plus there are an abudance of activities for all people during all seasons. They even had a sample wine tasting during the afternoon that was well presented and appreciated.

thanks for everything and look forward to visiting the Mt View Grand in the spring!!!

Peter M.

Room Tip: rooms facing the front of the building. Probably the best view in New England
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Pete M,

Thank you for your continued patronage. Your kind words about Sue, Kurt and the rest of the staff are greatly appreciated and have been shared. The new seats in the movie theater were just installed and we are glad you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort in the spring.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our five day stay at the Mountain View Grand and recommend it highly. This is a really lovely, updated resort with a lot of amenities. We have stayed in the Mount Washington area many times, but our long weekend here at the MVG was a first and we will return.

First and foremost the staff is superlative... This is a very friendly but competent staff and they are really well managed. I also think that Sue Valliere who oversees guest relations is a gem. There were two weddings occuring during the long weekend and the hotel must have been at or near capacity and the staff handled it all so well and so cheerfully.

We enjoyed the Wine Cellar and The Tavern Menus and found that the choices were abundant and very well prepared and that the pricing was reasonable. The pool area and the fitness center are both very well done and the views from the fitness center are great.

Our room was in a wing and we had a partial mountain view. Next time, I would probably opt for the full view, but the room and bath were all very nice and the bed was wonderful.

The views and the setting are terrific and we hope to return in golf season to enjoy the Mountain View Grand again.

Lastly, we have stayed at the Mount Washington Hotel many times and the experience cannot be compared exactly, however I will say that the dining, the overall service, and the pool and fitness areas at the Mountain View surpass the Mount Washington Hotel amenities in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear nicoler,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your kind remarks about Sue and the rest of the staff. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Everyone should go to this hotel once in their lives! We have actually been twice and loved it both times. We just spent Christmas their and it was magical. We all had a fantastic time (2 kids aged 8 and 4 and my husband and I). The kids club is brilliant. The staff took the kids out in the snow, did crafts with them, fires and hot chocolate. Having the club means adults get time to workout in the gym! or read or wine taste. The yoga class I went to was perfect - just what I needed. The restaurant is reasonable priced - kids meals are only $5 and there is a good selection for adults. We really did not want to leave. Oh and skiing at Brenton Woods is great if you can bring yourself to leave the hotel. This time I did not visit the spa but last time I did and it was heavenly.

Room Tip: If you get a small room ask if there is a bigger one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Tracey B,

Thank you for reviewing. It's great that you and your family were able to take advantage of all the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
315 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
763 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
135 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,669 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $171 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing