We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights in January and had a great time! Location on top of a hillside was beautiful as you are surrounded by mountains on all sides, and within 1/2 hour of major ski resorts. Hotel rooms and public areas are well-maintained, and rooms nicely furnished. I did not give a perfect score on the room/sleep quality as we both thought the temperature was way too hot, even after turning the thermostat to the lowest setting - had to leave the window open so we could sleep at night and not roast! Hotel and Tavern staff were super friendly and helpful, and there were many activities throughout the day and evening to keep you at the resort. Loved the farm tour, and you could tell the barn staff were very enthusiastic about their job and loved every minute of it! Historic property tour was very interesting, and you saw parts of the hotel that were otherwise closed, i.e. ballroom used for weddings,Garden Room, etc. For a different type of activity try axe throwing!! Lots of fun! Enjoyed also the wine tasting and the wonderful pianist who played in the evenings. You will love this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Europe_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Love_Europe_2009,

Thank you for your review. Your comments about the resort and staff are appreciated and have been shared. We hope to welcome you back to the resort at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    487
    151
    92
    64
See reviews for
797
789
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchendon, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Mountain View Grand Resort is the perfect getaway! We went for a long weekend for my 50th birthday, the service and staff are outstanding! It was very relaxing you didn't have to do anything or you could do lots! We had massages & a sok tub, they both were wonderful! We cannot wait to go back! already planning a trip for the fall! The food is wonderful, we had dinner in the wine cellar. It was outstanding! Love the resort!

Room Tip: The next time we would like to have a room with a private balcony! We stayed in the grand luxury roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Susan B,

Happy 50th Birthday. We appreciate your review and kind remarks about the resort. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the fall.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I was here for one night in October. The grounds are beautiful and there are lots of activities to keep you entertained. The rooms are okay, nothing special albeit clean. The service in the restaurant was terrible and the food was awful. I wouldn't come back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear StaceyLes,

Thank you for reviewing. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced with our service. I have attempted to contact you to gather specifics and details, but you have not responded.

We are committed to enhancing our performance and trust we can learn from your feedback. I hope to hear from you soon with the hope of amending your concerns.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I love this place! The best way that I can describe it is by what it made me think of when I walked in. From the moment I walked in, my mind was taken back to the 1920's when the rich of New York would go to their country homes in the summer to escape the heat. One can readily imagine Presidents going to this hotel for respite. In fact, I did see one photo on the wall of Ike (Eisenhower) with his family at the hotel. My room was simply appointed, with a king bed and a good size bathroom. If you want to hang out and read in the lobby, the hallways are filled with bookshelves with plenty to choose from. I was there on business, so I didn't get a chance to do much, but I can guarantee that I'll go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyRay222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear DannyRay222,

Thank you for reviewing. As a historic hotel, the Mountain View Grand striving to keep the history of the resort preserved. We're happy to hear you felt this was the case and that you're looking to return. We would gladly welcome you back in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed with my boyfriend last week,Thursday and Friday, a quick but fun getaway! Unfortunately there was no snow and we were looking forward to snow tubing and snow mobiling but decided to make a last minute appt at the spa,we did the kohler soak which was so relaxing but very expensive for 20 minutes. We did get to do one activity axe throwing and that was alot of fun,my boyfriend was the only one to hit the target so he was "axe man" and wore his "medal" all day lol. The wine cellar was amazing and my boyfriend still cant stop talking about his dinner,an almond crusted chicken,the hotel is a little dated but quaint, I think we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Colleen D,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you and your boyfriend both enjoyed your stay with us. Our axe throwing and wine cellar are just a few of the spectacular amenities we offer and we appreciate your complements. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed this past weekend after picking upna great deal on Groupon. They offered lots of activities and amenities in house so it was worth a shot. Initial observation walking in was mildew... The indoor pool was wreaking havoc with the old building's moisture level. However the lobby was certainly well-appointed with sitting areas and separate parlors, and the front desk staff were friendly. Our room somewhat plain in decoration and oddly shaped. The bathroom was beautiful in white tile and pedestal sink. Being a bit of a Felix Unger, after close inspection I declared the room amazingly clean. How refreshing! The only issue was the closet was moldy as well. Perhaps a moisture-absor bag is in order. There are no dressers for clothing and only 4 hangers so bring lots of your own. We unpacked best we could and headed out to explore. Halls are appointed with nice oils. And after straightening each one we loved them. Finding our way to the lobby, or anywhere, was difficult as there were no signs or identifiers anywhere. Even asking staff was not helpful as they clearly wanted to give only partial directions. In winter one may eat at the 'informal tavern' or a wine cellar. Which we never found so tavern it was. Food was costly and ok. Portions small. View lovely. Oddest thing... waitstaff were all acting bizarre and overly formal each time. Young. No smiles. Reaching in front of our plates to fill water. I have a son with Asperger and can't help but weirdly think each of these young waitstaff were here on some job skill training program for young adults with social emotional difficulties. One asked us 5 times how everything was, even though most of those times we only had water. Responses were off, unexpected. We kept looking for hidden cameras. One morning we did Axe throwing with a Ms Baker. She was the highlight of our stay... refreshing and helpful. Wonderful job. There is a petting barn that was of course hard to find. Staff seemed to love answering questions but we were warned repeatedly not to touch the less than friendly animals. We were unable to ski or snowshoe because of bad weather. Overall worth a trip, but try to plan it when there isn't a huge wedding going on. This is a lovely place to stay if you want to get away and hunker down for a weekend. Just bring your GPS.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jenn161,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback of all of our guests.

Your characterization of our employees was shared and reviewed with all staff members.

We’re glad you enjoyed your weekend stay and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Mountain View Grand Resort and Spa, is the perfect getaway. There is a kids club for kids when the parents want to go out. During Christmas time the Resort, has there Winter Wonderland Gala. There are games at the gala, this year there was Musical chairs for all ages. Even the moms and dads were playing. Everyone there is so friendly and really wnats to work their. At the hotel there is so many activites for all the guests, like junk food bingo. I think junk food bingo is so much fun, it really brings in a crowd! Ms.Baker is the head of the activies, she does an amazing job! She really loves her job. Also the Resort has a barn where you can go meet the farmer in the morning and see all the animals and even go horseback riding sometimes. The spa is gorgeous! The 360 deggree Kosher tub gives you a 360 degree view of the mountains from the very top of the hotel. Mountain view grand also has a movie theater in the lowest floor, also with a game room. The movie theater is great, you and your family can request a movie and then go and watch it. There are so many activites to do there, including smore's at the camp fire, and axe throwing in the morning. Overall the Mountain View Grand is a great place to take the family. Everyone really loves their jobs and they are extreml friendly and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Cathy S,

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take part in so many of the resort's activities. Unfortunately we no longer offer horseback riding, but still have plenty of animals to see at the barn. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
746 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
296 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
556 reviews
12.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing