We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place feels like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place feels like home!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have stayed at the MVG 3 times and all of them have been fantastic. The staff is terrific and the place makes you feel like it's your second home. The fine dinning is excellent with the chef really creating some wonderful dishes and the wines available to pair are terrific. Keith Miller (Maitre d') is great, describing availability, meal descriptions, and holds a vast knowledge of the wines available to pair with various courses. Keep up the great work MVG team; we will see you soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHGhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear NHGhogan,

Thank you for your review and your continued patronage! Your kind review is appreciated and has been shared. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    473
    151
    92
    63
See reviews for
783
778
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Don't want to repeat all of the positive reviews that have been left, but can confirm that this is a great, friendly, relaxed getaway, especially for families with young children. They are very accommodating when it comes to giving you the best deal possible, and the staff -- especially the Ms. Baker in the Mountaineering Club and the woman who runs the farm -- went out of their way to help.
This is a big hotel and rooms vary wildly in terms of quality and size. We are a big family and, to save money, originally signed up for a vista studio, which was way too small for us (we'd have been wedged in), had a dark view of the back of the hotel and overlooked the noisy AC unit for the restaurant. Fortunately, we were able to switch to a bigger room, but paid more for what we were told was a mountain view. Unfortunately, by the time we made it up to the third floor with all our luggage (not easy, given the situation with the ancient elevator that can only be run by staff) we saw the our rooms were on the side, with a view of the hotel building instead of the gorgeous mountains in front of the hotel. Such a disappointment! We did love that the room had a fridge, which was so helpful.
To take a break from eating all our meals at the hotel, we went to the Oasis restaurant in Littleton, which was surprisingly good. We also did a trip past Bretton Woods through the Notch to Conway, which is worth seeing if you've come up via Franconia Notch and want more gorgeous mountain views.
The private movie theater is small and luxurious. We didn't have a problem getting seats as others have mentioned, but found it impossible to book a movie at a time we wanted since others got there first. If you want to watch a film, especially in the evening, arrange it with the front desk as soon as possible, since even a day in advance may be too late.

Room Tip: Get a room with a mountain view -- and make sure it's overlooking the front of the hotel, not th...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bethesda49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Bethesda49,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts, and for your comments about Ms. Baker and our staff. We have shared your kind remarks. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our third visit during school vacation. The lodging rates were quite reasonable thanks to mud season which is how we are able to come here. The atmosphere is relaxed and family friendly, with enough distractions on offer to keep kids busy. We tended to dine in nearby towns as the resort's tavern/restaurant can be slightly pricier than other options. We noticed prices went up at the spa and opted out of that this year. A trail map is available at the front desk if you want to get into the woods, but be prepared for snow, ice and mud this time of year.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the front this year and were glad to be away from the noise of air conditioners that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jkeyd,

Thank you for reviewing and for your continued patronage! The Resort prides itself on offering activities for every member of the family and we are glad your family enjoyed your third visit with us. We hope to continue seeing you around the Resort in the years to come!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here from Sunday-Wednesday and our kids loved it! I would not stay longer during this time of year because allot of activities are closed during this transition season.the only draw back is there are not allot of great places to eat near by; we drove to Littleton (15-20 min)each day for breakfast.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor because the elevator is not accessible at all times.we were on the third fl...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank savedCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear savedCT,

Thank you for reviewing. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your time at the Mountain View Grand. We hope to welcome you back to experience other seasons here at the Resort.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from celebrating his birthday during a 3-day weekend at your beautiful resort. If there's a better, prettier, friendlier resort to stay in all of New England, we are not aware of it! The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home, and even sent a tray of fruit and cheese up to help with the birthday celebration. Not too shabby! My husband said "we are definitely coming back here!" (and we will).

Room Tip: Take the B&B package for a savings on breakfast. And try the fine dining in the Wine Cellar - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetalumaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear PetalumaGirl,

Happy Belated Birthday to your husband! Thank you for your review. We would be more than happy to see you around the Resort in the future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We absolutely love this hotel. It's great for kids. Very clean, relaxing. There is nothing much around, but that's what we like about it! We just went for Easter, the buffet was unbelievable, treated like royalty! Cannot wait until our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wwegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Wwegan,

We appreciate your review! Thank you for choosing the Mountain View Grand to celebrate your Easter holiday and for considering a return visit in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a beautiful resort. Everything is clean, the staff is always pleasant and accommodating. There has never been disruptive or safety issues in the 6 years we have stayed there. Animals are fenced off for safety and I'm sure insurance reasons. I think they all do a wonderful job. If you have a question they are always willing to help you. It is a wonderful experience. We have been going there for 6 years!

Room Tip: Choosing a room is a very individual choice whether you plan to stay in a lot or be outside. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieL881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LeslieL881,

Thank you for your continued patronage! We love hearing from both new guest and returning ones, and it's great to hear that you enjoy staying at our Resort. Your kind remarks about the staff are appreciated and have been shared. We look forward to seeing you at the Resort again soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
725 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
278 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
193 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,402 reviews
12.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing