We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is simply beautiful. We took a family here for 4 days. Received a great deal. Many amenities and lots to do. Never a dull moment. Our 5 year old loved it all. We tubed, and snowshoed, cross country, made snowmen, ate s'mores fire side daily, went on dog sled, played broom ball. Took in a movie at night (when we were not to tired) in the theater, visited the farm each morning - and all that in four days and never left the hotel property. We could have stayed another week - still more to do. They run an awesome kids program (no extra fee) three times a day, so my husband and I could have some alone time. Service at the restaurant was slow at times but we could care less. Meals priced right and tasty. Rooms could use some updates but we were good. Staff always friendly - kudos to the recreation and barn staff - engaging, friendly and knowledgeable. Left on name basis with many. All that in the most beautiful of settings. Remote and untouchable views! Cannot wait to return for spring season, summer and fall seasons. Next time will definitely try the beautiful spa.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Elizabeth C,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us! It sounds like you and your family took advantage of many of our activities. We're glad you enjoyed staying at the Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back during our other seasons.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,320 - 1,326 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel that sits on a hillside of Whitefield New Hampshire in the White Mountains. We were there for a family celebration and found the hotel and grounds charming. There are loads of outdoor activities for every one like, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating, dog sledding and axe throwing! (downhill skiing nearby as well) Or you can always spend the day by the fireplace in the historic lobby or library or being pampered at the spa. The hotel also has an indoor pool area with hot tub.There are banquet rooms and several restaurants in the hotel. The wine cellar room is worth seeing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear mindy w,

Thank you for reviewing! Our Resort has many amenities to offer and it's great your family enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited this hotel in February2013. Overall experience was good. Contrary to prior comments, the service in all aspects was timely and very attentive. Spa services were as adverstised. The infinity tub in the hotel tower is a nice touch, though all services were a bit pricey. The food was very good as well, though the menu in the Wine Cellar was a bit of a dissappointment. It was the same menu from the main dining room, to me, if you are selling a Wine Cellar Dinner Experience, go out on a limb and create a different menu. The hotel offers everything, but again at a higher price than average I would say.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL_Pacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear EL_Pacer,

We thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed the Resort. We hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our family stayed for 2 nights at Christmas time. Our experience was close to perfect. Where do you get to sit by a fire with a special Christmas cocktail, spend some time with goats on the farm, have a Saturday morning visit with Santa, enjoy a gourmet meal, indulge in nightly s'mores AND throw axes?? The Mountain View Grand. The whole family loved it. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclectica2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear eclectica2010,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear your whole family enjoyed your time with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you to the Resort again!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hi
My wife and stayed at the Mountain View Grand Hotel on February 27 and 28th The view from the second floor was superb (room 210). The staff was exceptional in tomer service. There are many thinhs to do whie at the Hotel. We are not active downhill skiers but did enjoy snowshoeing right across the street. They have carriage rides, dog sledding ice skating, fitness area Plus classes, spa etc The large foyer has a nice seating area with fireplace and "people watching". For history buffs , there is somethig fo you also....
We had dinner in the Wine Cellar one night (talk to Keith) which was exquisite..
You will not be disappointed if you stay here.....

joe

Room Tip: Get aq aroom with a few ..You have for sights Cannon Mountain and Mt Washington
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear joe c,

We appreciate your review! We are glad you and your wife enjoyed staying at the Resort. We hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently spent February break at this resort and found it to be a PERFECT option for families. There are activities all-day long for any price point and the staff is excellent. Ms. Baker, the Director of Activities, is a wonderful woman is really goes the extra mile to make sure everyone's stay is pleasant. We would like to go back with friends! :) The only part of this place that I would NOT return to is the spa. I found the service to be lackluster at best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAAdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear MrsAAdL,

Thank you for reviewing! Your kind comments about Ms. Baker are appreciated and have been shared. I am sorry to hear you did found our service in the Spa lacking. I have shared your remarks with our Spa Manager and additional training has been put in place moving forward. We would be happy to welcome you and your friends back soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Mike greeted us when we arrived. He explained in detail breakfast for the morning, operation of the TV in our room, and Internet access. Mike made us feel at home, as we were the only guests that night, we enjoyed a relaxing evening after our Segway tour of Mount Dora. In the morning we were greeted with the smell of fresh coffee brewing, we arrived for breakfast at the agreed upon time. We were treated to a beautiful breakfast, the stuffed French toast was the highlight, but the whole meal was outstanding. Personally I'm not a huge fan of B&B's, but I highly recommend this one. Thanks Mike for making our stay with you a memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Killer57,

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your considerate comments. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
315 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
763 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
135 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,669 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $172 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing