We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most family-friendly vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Most family-friendly vacation ever!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family usually goes on a tropical vacation in the winter but this was our first-ever "cold" vacation. I had "liked" the hotel on Facebook and the daily posts convinced me I had to book a trip for the family. We have a 10 year old son and a 3 year old daughter so we needed a diverse range of activities. The experience did not disappoint on any level! The hotel itself takes you back in time and is truly beautiful. The staff, to a person, went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and at home. We loved every activity - tubing, X country skiing (my 10 yr old LOVED this!), broom ball (my 3 year old LOVED this!), axe throwing (my 47 year old LOVED this!), the campfire with the s'mores, the hot cider, the wine tastings (I loved this!). We booked massages which were amazing. The pool, game room and movie theater were perfect. The movie theater is exceptionally cool because they play random family friendly movies throughout the day or you can pick a movie and reserve a time - and they bring you popcorn! The dining was expensive but SO worth it. The manager David was amazing, as was Ben, as was one of our waiters - Derek - all of them! They were so used to children they made you feel at home. We did the wine tasting in the wine cellar which was a great experience. We played board games as a family in front of the fire in the library - straight out of a Norman Rockwell painting. It was just the kind of vacation we wanted and needed. We will absolutely be back and I highly recommend it to families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolVal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear CarolVal47

Thank you for sharing your experience! We pride ourselves on being a family-friendly resort and it sounds like we did not disappoint. We are glad to learn your family vacation was enjoyed by all and that you would like to return. We appreciate your considerate comments about David, Ben, Derek and the rest of our staff and have passed them along. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    473
    151
    92
    63
See reviews for
783
778
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights there while skiing and snowshoeing. Great location convenient to Bretton Woods and Cannon Mtn. 2 kids, 2 adults. We had basic room with 2 doubles and my only complaint was that it was too hot and had difficulty controlling temperature. The room was great, lots of space, big bathroom, very comfortable sheets (rare in most hotels), turn-down with chocolates on pillows both nights. What sets this place apart from other places is the service...Outstanding in all aspects. The tavern food was average, we ate there the first night, but ordered pizza from town the second night. The lobby area was very comfortable to hang out in, we spent mornings there playing games while having coffee and hot chocolate. At night they have a very good piano player. The outdoor activities were great: skating, snowshoeing, axe throwing (yup!), chicken bowling, s'mores over open fire near skating rink (with hot chocolate). There was a farm nearby and also dog sledding (not sure if you could actually take a ride or if it was just co-located there...maybe a training facility). Swimming pool was average, although the mural has to be seen...really neat with a scavenger hunt. Gym was above average (although we didn't use), even had ski exercise equip't.
I would highly recommend paying the little extra to stay here as opposed to something that is just a place to sleep, it's so much more enjoyable. I'm giving rating of 5 despite the temp issue and the average food because I would absolutely stay here again without even looking at other options

Room Tip: Heat rises, so the 3rd floor is warmer than the others. Plan accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyGirlsDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear MyGirlsDaddy,

Thank you for reviewing. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Resort and were able to enjoy our wide range of activities. We appreciate your kind remarks. Thank you for considering a return to the Mountain View Grand. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel has to be one of the finest we have stayed in. It is one of four grand hotels in New Hampshire and we have been to two so far. The Mountain view is the place to go on a long vacation do everything or just relax. Excelllent accommodations,the Tavern was excellent with good food and spirits. Great staff that was always there for help and any info you may need. Bring you adventure and appetite with you and ejoy the ride, this is the place to spend your vacation at!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayfields15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear bayfields15,

Thank you for your review! You kind remarks about the Resort and its staff are appreciated and have been shared. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonboro, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Mountain View Grand the last 3 out of 4 years for a weekend with family friends. We always love all the fun winter activities right on site- iceskating, bonfires with s'mores, cross country skiing, etc. We also enjoy the movie theatre and always book a couple movies to watch during our stay. In the past, customer service has been excellent. This last stay in January 2013 over a 3 day weekend was not quite up to par. The hotel was full and the staff seemed to have difficulty handling the volume of people. We had several issues with our room- the heat would not turn down past 72 degrees, and although we reserved a cot, we got an air mattress that kept losing air. We were assured the issues would be resolved but they never were over the 3 days we were there. The breakfast buffet, though expensive, is delicious and worth it. I still give the MVG 4 starts because it has a lot to offer for families and is in a beautiful location!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have a nice large bathroom!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank thriftytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear thriftytraveller,

Thank you for reviewing. We do apologize that you felt our service was not up to par during your recent stay. We have shared your concerns with the staff and have implemented additional training to prevent issues in the future. Thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Long drive from boston but once in the mountains the drive was wonderful. You feel like your in the middle of nowhere but have everything you need. The view, in any direction, was worth the price of admission. Great place for romantic weekend or for outdoor lovers. I felt like I was in the movie," The Shining." You'll know what I mean when you see it. Only complaint, no passenger elevator. So a room on the third floor is tough. Other than that we loved it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just4beachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear just4beachbums,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed here for two consecutive Thanksgiving weekends and plan on a third. The hotel is picturesque inside and out. Accomadations are very comfortable. The staff are great! The food is good and reasonable. There are many activities to choose from for children and adults. The Activities Director, Ms. Baker, could'nt be any more helpful!!! She even directed me to where I could order some axes for my husband for Christmas, because he enjoyed the ax throwing so much here!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Shelly G,

The holidays at the Mountain View Grand are a great time to celebrate with your family. Thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays and for taking the time to review. You kind remarks about Ms. Baker and our staff are appreciated and have been shared. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Terrific experiences throughout our four day stay! Fine dining was exactly as described! Food was delicious..service attentive, professional and pleasant. Thank you Christine! One of the best massages I ever had & I a spa junkie. Thank you Scott! Activities all day long, enjoyed snowshoeing, boot camp, yoga, resort tour and history. Very relaxing and picturesque. We planned on returning before we left!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Vicky D,

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are planning to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
725 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
278 reviews
23.5 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
110 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,397 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing