We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast(Whitefield)(Great Value!)
$129
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barron Brook Inn(Whitefield)(Great Value!)
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlson's Lodge(Twin Mountain)(Great Value!)
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arlington Hotel(Bethlehem)(Great Value!)
$159
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lancaster Motor Inn(Lancaster)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coos Motor inn(Lancaster)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thayers Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
$169
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Littleton Motel(Littleton)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastgate Inn(Littleton)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,163)
Filter reviews
2,163 results
Traveler rating
1,317
512
162
101
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
512
162
101
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellaraxe throwingmovie theaterfront porchthe barntavern restaurantgolf coursewhite mountainsair hockeymovie roomturn down servicemountaineering clubindoor poolfine diningdog sleddingice skatingping pong
Filter
Updating list...
1,441 - 1,446 of 2,163 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent three nights as a birthday celebration, so we had our children and grandchildren. It was a terrific venue to spend time together. It felt like we squeezed a lot into our time there--snowmobile ride, dogsled ride, axe throwing, chicken bowling (you gotta experience it to believe it), movie in the viewing room, time in the pool and at the pool table, ping pong (with a 5 year old, this is a fascinating experience), board games, visit with grandkids to the farm next door, time away from electronica. Several of the adults booked spa visits and returned with glowing comments; indeed, three of them made on-the-spot reservations for a return visit the next day. Lots of activities planned throughout the day, thanks to an energetic activities director.

Good, hearty meals at reasonable prices. The maitre d' was able to seat our large group with no problem each day; we did learn that it was helpful for them to book a reservation, but even before that they found us a good table. We found the breakfast buffet to be a delicious spread with lots of variety. Watch out for drinks at lunch and dinner, though-- anything with alcohol is expensive and will increase your bill considerably! We really enjoyed several of the waitstaff, women with lively and warm personalities, not just waitrons following a script. All the hotel staff was friendly, from the folks at the front door to the cleaning staff.

We're already talking about a return visit.

Room Tip: You get a choice; the mountain view rooms give you a view of-- duh!-- the mountains. They cost more, and you need to decide if you want to pay extra for the views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear callerman,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It definitely sounds like you and your family enjoyed your stay and were able to participate in many of our activities. Your kind remarks about the staff are appreciated and have been shared. It's great that you are looking to return and we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the Resort soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to get away and relax, but there were so many activities to do, like axe throwing, pumpkin painting, making fresh apple cider, spending time at the beautiful spa, and nightly bonfires. We had so much fun! We watched someones wedding, a beautiful sunset and a 360 degree mountain view in a hot tub on top of the world with my best friend. Everyone there was so kind and helpful, friendly and polite. There was a gentleman playing a piano in the lobby, just amazing! the ambiance was spectacular! Who would have thought in late October, that the weather here would be 75 degrees. We spent the whole weekend outside, we took a hayride, a walk to the farm to see all the animals, we watched people play golf (it overlooks a beautiful golf course). This place is even more eloquent at night, all lit up. It even has a historical tour through it! If only, the trees still had some leaves on them, the colors would have been so beautiful. We are looking forward to our next trip here, but this time with our children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Dawn O,

We appreciate your review and are happy you and your husband enjoyed a relaxing getaway. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amenities and activities we have to offer. Foliage is certainly a popular time with us and we would be happy to welcome you back to experience it this year with the whole family.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed there with a family friend whose son was turning 16 on Feb. 9th. The resort made a cake for him and presented it at dinner. It is such a cozy place that everyone in the restaurant sang also. We had a couple of blips, but these were quickly resolved by a staff that were very polite and helpful even though I was upset. We were there for the blizzard on 13 and it was just beautiful. I could look out of my window and see the snow blowing sideways. Living in Florida, this was a wonderful change. The resort is clean. My partner had a massage and said that it was awesome. They have a really nice game room with air hockey, ping pong, pool and foosball. They also have a small movie theatre. The food is good and as you can expect a little pricey. There are not many stores around so you have to purchase everything at the bar. I am still giving this resort 5 stars because the good out weighed the bad by a landslide. I would go back and plan to go back to see the leaves changing. Exquisite!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Mary N,

Thank you for taking the time to review! We are sorry there were some issues during your stay, but it is great to hear the staff was able to resolve them, and that they did not mar your experience. We are happy to know you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the fall.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We planned our 40th anniversary get away in Jan 2013. Booked a 2 night stay through the resort website including two spa treatments for a very busy holiday weekend Feb 16th and 17th. Thanks to an amazing front desk, a potential nightmare was totally taken care of in less than 10 minutes. Our reservation was never entered into the system, however the spa was able to confirm our two reservations, and the reservation manager came immediately to help. We went on to have an incredibly nice time. I can't say enough about the courtesy, helpfulness and kindness of their entire staff. No matter who we came into contact with, the professionalism was impeccable. Hats off to the entire staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Elaine R,

Happy Belated Anniversary! We apologize for the initial issue regarding your reservation, but are glad it was handled quickly and professionally. Thank you for reviewing and for your compliments towards our staff. We hope to see you around the Resort in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Married Feb. 9, 2013 at the Mountain View Grand. I can't imagine a better place to be snowed in for the weekend.

My husband and I wanted a small wedding with all of the features of a big wedding and we got it at the Mountain View Grand. Susannah Powell was wonderful to work with through every step of the planning; and for such a small event (14 people) I squeezed in a lot of details which the resort enthusiastically accommodated. Our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour in the Eisenhower Library and private dinner in the Hunt Room were beautiful, elegant and fun. The food was excellent, the service was top notch and everything went off seamlessly. We had the MVG pastry chef make our cake; it was adorable though I wish it had just a little more detail. It still looked nice and tasted great. We got the tiramisu, very good.

All of the winter activities on site at the resort appealed to us because we wanted our family to spend time playing in the snow, ice skating and enjoying the bonfire. We weren't able to take in as much of the outdoors as we would have liked because of the storm but it allowed us to get cozy in every nook of the hotel. There is a heritage room, a parlor, a library, an indoor pool, a movie theater and a game room. There are big, overstuffed couches and love seats all over the place, not to mention chaise lounges and benches next to books shelves around many corners on every floor. We all loved the coziness of the hallways and the architectural details throughout the resort. You really are aware that you're in an old, historic, grand hotel that has been well maintained.

My parents room had a slightly sloped floor, but the room itself was beautiful and clean and spacious. My father is a history buff who works in a historic home and he felt the floor maintained the character of the hotel. Our suite had no such slope, but was lovely, very clean and roomy. The bathroom seemed the size of another bedroom! I personally would not visit a place like the Mountain View Grand to watch tv so the fact that there weren't flat screen tvs in our room did not even register with me, as a previous reviewer remarked on. It would take away from the ambiance of the place. A mini refrigerator in our suite would have been nice, but not mandatory. I have to say our bed was incredibly comfy! I am NEVER comfortable on hotel pillows but these were perfect! I meant to check the label to buy some for home... I'll definitely check that out on our next visit.

Dining was always nice. We snacked at the tavern and had dinners and breakfasts in the tavern dining room. Their creative appetizers were loved by all, even the picky kids. Most of the meals were fantastic, the one exception being the chicken parm which was unusually spicy. Breakfast was delicious and the house bloody mary mix was a meal in itself, big hit with my group.

Have I mentioned the farm? Loved the farm. We got to get in the pen with the goats and play with them. All of their animals like visitors and the farmers are pleased to take the time to talk to guests about all of their 4 legged friends. We made several trips down there.

Now the staff... is there a member of their staff who is not happy, friendly and inviting? I didn't find one. Every single person we interacted with was genuinely happy to have us there and never missed an opportunity to be helpful, courteous and just plain friendly. Not to mention the infectious enthusiasm for our wedding. It was a magical day that was fun to share with guests and the staff of the Mountain View Grand. This was our first of many visits. We are already looking forward to a summer trip... or a fall trip... or another winter trip. So many reasons to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TC-Doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear TC-Doll,

Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for reviewing and for choosing the Mountain View Grand to spend such a special occasion. We appreciate your kind words about Susannah and our staff and are glad we were able to make your wedding just what you wanted it to be. We would be more than happy to see you back at the Resort later in the year! We look forward to welcoming you!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews