We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairy-tale wedding !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I attended the most beautiful wedding (my best friends daughter) at this magestic resort, and so lucky to have been a guest at the Mountain View Grand. From the moment I walked in to the lobby, I knew that this was going to be a memorable place to be. Everything was perfect and to my surprise, there was a bottle of wine and a lovely cheese plate to greet me when I entered my room ! The staff was exceptionally courteous and friendly, the food was great and the scenery was unforgettable! The grounds are breathtaking and so nice just to take a walk. I am really looking forward to my next visit !


Lesley Turner

Room Tip: My corner room was very quiet and comfortable with wonderful views all around !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Lesley T,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the wedding and the time you spent with us! Thank you for your enthusiastic review and generous remarks. We are happy you are planning to return in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I went up for a his birthday weekend. We had a great time. We enjoyed that fact that it was was kind of sort of secluded. We are from Boston so for us getting out of the city is great. We enjoyed the restaurant especially the breakfast. But we wish there was variety for food for the restaurant. Our favorite part of all was the Spa. We got manicures, pedicures, a couples massage and a couples aromatherapy bath.

We plan to go back in a couples months.

We also liked the fact that they have a variety of activities for you to do while you are. They have a game room. They give tours of the resort and spa and tell you the history. There's also horseback riding with lessons, a golf course, swimming pool, and a ton of other things to do.

We have recommended this place to about three or four other couples and individuals since we stayed about a week ago.

Thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sexylady0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Sexylady0129,

Thank you for the kind review! We are happy you and your boyfriend were able to enjoy a quiet, relaxing stay for his birthday. Thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to seeing you around the Mountain View Grand at some point in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in New England! The view of the White Mountains from the front of the hotel and lovely porch can't be beat! This is a classic grand hotel and does not disappoint. Too often, these hotels look lovely on the outside but are disappointing or even a little shabby inside. Not this one! The whole hotel was restored with attention to detail. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Some may find the bathrooms lack counter space because they are styled with sinks but there are shelves. The only other negative is the elevator works with an operator only. Grand staircases but if you have to use elevator it might be slow. Food in the Tavern is great. Never ate in dining room. Indoor pool and outdoor pool beautiful with view! Plenty to do at hotel and in area-but you might not want to leave hotel! My favorite parts are the movie room on lower level with leather seating, the sunny library parlor and drinks on the front porch. You truly feel you have the best of days gone by with modern conveniences!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Lindalmd,
Our job at the Resort is to make sure every guest has a comfortable, unique and relaxing experience and it is fantastic to know this was the case during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review as your remarks are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you at the Resort in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a great Anniversary weekend. We were surprised when we checked in that we were upgraded. The room was beautiful and large. We explored the resort and upon our arrival back to the room we had another surprise waiting in our room. It was unexpected. We will be staying again this winter but with our kids. We had the game room all to ourselves. We took a swam in the pool, which I believe is salt water. The fitness room was amazing as well. I thought it was a great deal for the price. They had a lot to do at the resort. I would recommend venturing out for a meal or two if staying for more than a few days. Food was very good, but after 2 days of eating the same food, it gets old. The breakfast buffet was very good and a huge selection for everyone, including picky eaters.
We loved the little rooms around the Resort like a reading nook and table games in rooms off the main floor. They also had lots of activities to do.

Room Tip: I think every room would have at least some time of amazing view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doccoc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear doccoc2002,
Happy Anniversary! We were happy to make your special occasion relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you for your review and kind remarks. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A gorgeous setting, great food, wonderful, helpful staff. Accessibility in and around the hotel is good.
Handicap accessible room is large and fine for someone in a wheelchair in that regard. However, the bed is one foot higher than the average wheelchair so that if a person cannot stand or walk, this is a real problem. The grab bar in the bathroom by the toilet is located behind the toilet--useless for someone who needs to grab onto something to stabilize getting on and off the toilet. The shower is inside the tub which is fine and has grab bars and a moveable sprayer. However, the shower stool provided is crescent shaped so that getting on and off is a problem. Hopefully the hotel management will look at these issues and remedy the problems. Otherwise I would NOT recommend this hotel to someone who is confined to a wheelchair and cannot walk or stand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear virginia g,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Resort. Providing accommodations that allow all of our guests to enjoy the property in a manner that focuses on safety is certainly the goal of our Management Team. I have reviewed the details you have provided with our Director of Lodging & Guest Services, Jennifer Bushey, who is evaluating our handicap accommodations to provide future enhancements for safety and comfort. I appreciate you taking the time to share the details from your stay and hope you consider staying at the Mountain View Grand to enjoy its improvements in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have been to this resort many times, most recently for my son's seventh birthday. It is very close to Santa's Village and Six Gun City for the little ones, but you could stay on the Mountain View Grand property for the duration of your trip and still have a fantastic time! The hotel is reasonably priced for the value you get. The staff is wonderful, accommodating, and incredibly helpful. There are so many things to do while you're there (game room, movie theater, indoor and outdoor pool, sauna, hot tub, fitness center, farm, fields and walking paths...) and all of it is so beautifully kept! I highly recommend coming here for whatever the occasion!

Room Tip: If you are looking for the best value, don't worry about getting a room with a view. You will sp...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Michelle M,
Thank you for taking the time to review! Happy 7th Birthday to your son! We are happy to know you have enjoyed the time you have spent with us and we thank you for your continued patronage. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you around the Resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend for his birthday at the hotel. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and courteous. The employes at the farm were extremely friendly and kind. The front desk staff was also very nice. The restaurant food was so so for the price. I have a gluten allergy. The menu advertises that certain menu items are gluten free or can be made gluten free. Upon ordering a menu item that is specified gluten free, the waitress came back and told me it could not be prepared this way. Very disappointing. We ended up dining the rest of our meals at the Omni Mt. Washington resort. The work out facility was very nice but many of the machines had out of order signs. We would choose to stay at the Omni Mt. Washington due to the concern of the gluten allergy which Omni was very knowledgeable in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristinaD118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Christina D,
Happy Belated Birthday to your husband! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your thoughtful comments about the staff are appreciated and have been shared. Please accept my deepest apology for the issue you experienced with your food preparation in regards to your Gluten allergy. I have reviewed the details you kindly provided us with our Resort Manager, Naz Jenulevich, who is a new addition to our team and will be focusing on ensuring that the dining experience you had is not repeated. I do apologize that this was your experience for your meal and we hope you consider staying at the Mountain View Grand in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
310 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
758 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
127 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,610 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $173 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing