We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

One of the last remaining grand resorts in New Hampshire. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. The resort takes great efforts to use alternate forms of energy and recycle. Has limited family activities.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHWhiteMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear NHWhiteMountains,
Thank you for your kind remarks and your review. We hope to see you at the Resort again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,035)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,420 - 1,426 of 2,035 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is about our 5 th visit here and we celebrated our anniversary this time. All the staff were very accommodating. We participated in all he scheduled activities including pressing our own apple cider and then enjoying it in the lobby hot with home made cookies. Nature hike, spa tour, movie theater, fitness center with optional classes. We got a great mid week package and received delicious chocolate covered strawberries and large chocolate bar for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lobby level are smaller than others but close to the veranda and many other offerin...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newhampshire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear newhampshire86,
Happy Belated Anniversary! We are thrilled you enjoyed spending such a special occasion with us at the Resort. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th visit!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent Columbus Day weekend at the Mountain View Grand with our 4 year old daughter. We had a great time. The resort is beautiful with lots of great family activities (swimming, pumpkin decorating, barn with animals, s'mores) and great food. We also got to go on the inaugural wagon ride in the back of the property which was great fun.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Deborah L,
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

There were very many wedding parties which adversely affected other guests (early Oct.). It felt like a convention hall. The mix was not appropriate. The shower valve did not work properly, and the tub spout was loose in the wall. Lobby was worn; featuring exposed plastic piping and buttons in leather upholstery. Lobby carpet did not look good, and not a good material at entrance/grade. Faux leather chair in tavern ripped also. I wanted to like this place, but was made to feel like a sucker. The burdens of dealing with many loud and large wedding parties should not be placed on other guests. The hotel completely risks losing a sense of grand New England hospitality. The very thing they bank on to win bookings and wedding parties.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ps_32_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Ps_32_12,

Thank you for the feedback you have provided during your recent stay at Mountain View Grand. We certainly do host a number of events and celebrations at our Resort from 2 person getaways to grand wedding parties. At no point is the hope of the Resort that one group feel dominated by another and I apologize that this was your experience. We have been and are continuing to move forward with renovations and restoration to this beautiful property to ensure that it is comfortable and welcoming for all of our guests. I do hope to welcome you and your family back for a future visit to have an opportunity to meet you and show the improvements that we continue to make to the Resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very nice hotel in the middle of nowhere with lots of things for kids to do. Great spot to view fall foliage. Nearby towns have activities if you are willing to drive 30 min to 1 hr. Rooms are clean and staff was helpful. Internet was slow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Happytravelinfamily,
Thank you for reviewing! Your kind remarks are appreciated we hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand someday.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A large, rambling facility used for weekend getaways and weddings. Lots of weddings. The vista is quite amazing, especially impressive in peak foliage season. The food is good and there's a pretty nice wine list but the food is a little pricey. If you do want to have a meal, request the downstairs which is quiet and intimate, especially the wine cellar area. The upstairs dining room is large, noisy, and often filled with families and loud kids. OK if you like dining with loud kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remlesotla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear remlesotla,
We appreciate your constructive comments and that you took the time to review. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you return at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Mt. View Grand is a spectacular hotel in the beautiful great north woods of New Hampshire. The food is very good although a few of the waitstaff seemed a little lost. Our room was very comfortable and the available activities, both in the hotel and the surrounding area, are numerous. If you go during the fall, you can take in stunning foliage!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Member6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Member6912,
Fall foliage certainly provides a little extra to our already impressive view. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you around the Resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
308 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
758 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
126 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,601 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $173 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing