We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Mt. View Grand is a spectacular hotel in the beautiful great north woods of New Hampshire. The food is very good although a few of the waitstaff seemed a little lost. Our room was very comfortable and the available activities, both in the hotel and the surrounding area, are numerous. If you go during the fall, you can take in stunning foliage!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Member6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Member6912,
Fall foliage certainly provides a little extra to our already impressive view. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you around the Resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,455 - 1,461 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The MVG is a fantastic place to either unwind and do nothing or have an array of hands on experiences. Tavern food very nice...great duck! Front desk staff eager to satisfy any requests/questions.
Beautiful Fall foliage. Something for everyone. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Jerry P,
We appreciate your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everywhere you went on the property, you found someone helpful to assist with your activities. One big surprise was Miss Baker with her axe-throwing. Who would have thought that a city-slicker could throw an axe and actually hit the bullseye. Miss Baker believed in me, actually all of us and kept us moving toward the target! Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LARick1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear LARick1103,
Thank you for the review! We have shared your comments about our wonderful axe-throwing activity with Ms. Baker and the entire staff. We hope to see you around the Resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location and its old world feel and vast choices of entertainment and activities is excellent. The view from the balcony is breathtakingly beautiful.

The staff need some customer service training to make them more customer friendly and the dead flies in the room caused by the poor AC unit installs should be addressed.

I would return to this hotel in a heart beat.

Room Tip: This hotel has many great choices for rooms and views and a quick look around the exterior of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear NSCanucks,
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the continuous process of updating and improving our accommodations. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the staff and flies, both of which have been brought to the attention of the appropriate staff. We hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I came here for a weekend away for our 10 year anniversary. We stayed in the stunning presidential sweet, the room was spectacular- especially the bathroom, with the luxurious tub and shower! The view was amazing from each window! Our meals were excellent as well. The horseback trail riding was well worth it and was a phenomenal experience- the instructor/guides were very knowledgeable and it was so much fun! I also highly recommend the axe throwing- if you haven't tried it, you should!!! Especially since you might realize you have a hidden talent ;). Beautiful pool and grounds and and we can't wait to go back. Only complaint was that there was a wedding the same time as our stay and the poolside bar was closed because they pulled all the staff for the wedding. We had a great bus- boy turned waiter that day, but in the future they may want to make sure that hotel guests have staff for their stay as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Lisa A A,
Thank you for reviewing. Happy 10 Year Anniversary! We are grateful you chose the Mountain View Grand to spend such a special occasion. We appreciate your constructive comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My first experience here was at the spa. I got a horrible hair cut from a girl with her fingers wrapped in splints. She said she usually does massage but obviously could not that week! I actually cried at how bad it was. I was given gift certificates so I went back. I figured I would try a hot stone massage. I got a young inexperienced girl and again it was terrible. I waited 3 YEARS to return and use the rest of the certificates. My 14 yr old daughter and I got facials. They put us in a room together. Between the two women and all the noise there was no relaxing! They were the worst facials ever! Last weekend was my birthday. We decided to try dinner here. There are not many choices in the area and we were looking for something nice. It was my 14 and 16 yr old, my husband and we had a 2 yr old with us that we care for and myself. It was the worst experience I have ever had! Again a young inexperienced waitress! She did not bring bread dishes or straws. She looked completely unprofessional her hair was a mess. We were seated between 2 large parties. One was a large family that ranged in ages from young child to grandparent The problem with them was we were so close to them that every time they got up and walked around they hit our chairs and they did it over and over! Worse then that was the other party that seemed to consist of 3 young families. The young children had toys every where Not small toys, full size stuffed animals and such! The parents ignored them the entire time. They were crawling under tables throwing things hitting each other with straws pretending they were swords!! They were right in the walkway the waitress' had to step around them carrying trays. An old woman in a wheel chair had to get around all the toys. It was a complete fire hazard!!!! There was a manager watching this all happen and never once approached the parents to take some sort of control. I understand they are on vacation but so isn't every one else! For a 200.00 dinner I should not have had to feel like a was in a daycare center!!!!! We will not be returning. The biggest problem is the staff. They are obviously untrained locals! It is a waste of a beautiful building!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank candrews70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear candrews70,

It was a pleasure to be able to better understand the history that your family has had with Mountain View Grand and the challenges that have been presented during those visits. We continue to evolve training programs for our staff to ensure that they are proficient in the role they have at the Resort. I look forward to an opportunity to meet you and your family in a future visit!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Mountain View Grand Resort in Sept of 2012. It was a lovely experience. Very relaxing with great spa facitlities and they were able to accomodate us at the last miute which was very much appreciated.
The location is beautiful and picturesque even though we were a couple of weeks early for the full fall foilage splendor.
The massage was great the food was nothing spectacular and the bar service was a bit to be desired as the bartenders seemed more interested in the waitresses than the clients but that needs to be addressed by the management. I based my gratuity on the service so possibly they got my hint.

Room Tip: Get the mountain view rooms for a beautiful view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear pdamac,
We appreciate you taking the time to review. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our Tavern bartenders. Your concerns have been brought to the attention of our Director of Food & Beverage and are being addressed. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
316 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
764 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
138 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,677 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $171 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing