We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service more than made up for check-in mix up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a terrific stay at the Mountain View Grand over Labor Day weekend. There was a slight mix up with our room when we checked in, but the manager quickly came out to help us and there was a speedy fixing of the problem. The manager personally followed-up on the issue with our check in and wrote us a nice note with a certificate. The room was beautiful overlooking the mountains. We enjoyed sitting out by the pool, sitting on the deck listening to the live band and making s'mores by the campfire. The mountain views were amazing. We had a relaxing and memorable trip and can't wait to return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anneli617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Anneli617,
We are sorry to hear there was a mix up at check-in; however we are glad it was taken care of quickly and efficiently. We appreciate your generous comments and learning about your relaxing stay. We look forward to seeing you return to the Resort at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent Labor Day weekend here, weather was beautiful. We enjoyed a romantic dinner
in an almost private table in the Wine Cellar, and our kids (10 &12) enjoyed the outside pool, inside pool, visiting the farm, the movie theater, a long horse-back trail ride. The grounds are beautiful, the views are great, and the staff is very helpful. For us, finding a nice safe place, where we can let the kids run around, do things together (my husband and son golfed, my daughter and I enjoyed the spa), and still have some time together was a great combination. The breakfast is amazing with lots of choices/buffet and dinner is also very good. We even tried our hand at "axe throwing" which was a lot of fun, good core work out!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, rooms are fine but pretty basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Michelle98,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We certainly try to make sure there is something for everyone to do, and we are always thrilled to hear from families who found this to be the case. We hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand soon!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I'm torn about whether to do 4 stars or 3, but decided to stick with 3. This is really a great resort and hotel, it really is, but could do with some improvement, in my opinion.

We used a Groupon deal. The reservation staff was amazing when we did the booking, and really worked with us to find the ideal time to visit. I was so pleased.

We arrived at this gorgeous property- I mean, it really takes your breath away how beautiful it is. The grounds are immaculate.

Bellstaff was ok. Kind of hesitant and lackluster. I'm used to the bellstaff anticipating your every need. That's not the case here. The check-in staff was also disappointing. Just not friendly at all. I asked about activities and she almost rolled her eyes when giving me the agenda for the next day. We went up to our room in the old elevator- really cool. Be warned though- mostly you would use the stairs to go up and down- and it's a lot of stairs! It's really hard to find someone to operate the elevator at most times.

We booked an historic room. The hotel is so clean and the hallways are spacious. We were almost amused at how small our room was. The bathroom was immaculate and well appointed, but the room was so small. Like a child's room. We had a crib and we ended up putting it in the very spacious closet because the room was just too small. The room had lots of bugs in it. Ladybugs, flies, beetles. There were also flies throughout the resort- more on that later. Housekeeping was less than stellar. It was more a 'tidy.' I was really disappointed.

We had 3 meals at the Tavern. It was not good. The food is just not good. It's very highly priced for mediocre food. Our first meal was dinner, second was the breakfast buffet, and third was the a la carte breakfast. Probably the best thing out of all was the waffle at the buffet. That's it. The rest, well, I'd rather have gone to Pizza Hut. Additionally, all of our meals were bothered by flies in the restaurant. Kind of annoying to eat a $29 entree while swatting flies. However, it is important to note that the waitstaff and management of the Tavern are incredible. SO friendly, accomodating, and just, well, they make the food easier to swallow. Really a stellar staff there. I cannot emphasize this enough.

We did the farm tour, which was nice, and used the indoor pool, also very nice. The hotel is just gorgeous. I loved walking through the halls and marveling at the total beauty and cleanliness. I wish we could have used the gym- it is really awesome. So clean and loads of modern equipment.

The surrounding town is really nothing to write home about. At all. Nowhere to eat locally, but we drove to Littleton, about a 20 minute drive, because we didn't want to spend $100 on another dinner at the Tavern. This ride/visit to Littleton was the highlight of our trip. Super cute town and a bunch of dining options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovenewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear lovenewengland,

Thank you for the information you have provided regarding your families’ visit to the Resort. Your comments have been the focus of additional training to ensure that the circumstances you experienced are not repeated. We have been able to add a new member to our culinary team with Executive Chef Adam Parker bringing a house-made focus back into our meals. He has been able to recreate our menus and thus far are guests are enjoying their dining selections!

There has also been an environmentally responsible focus to dealing with the unique situation cluster flies and lady bugs have created for us. We have made headway with this situation with a resolution. I do apologize that this caused the experience that it did during your visit. I hope that your family finds its way back to the Resort to enjoy the improvements we have made and I have a chance to meet you.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed for the long holiday weekend and we were pleasantly surprised at how spacious our room was. Comfortable sitting area, very large walkin closet and good size bathroom.The room was also very clean (housekeeping does a good job). Our room was partial view (north facing) but still had a decent view. The view that can not be missed is from the front veranda, a great place to relax with some drinks and small plates. Service on the veranda was very slow, however the view more than made up for it. Had a couple of meals at the bar, bartenders very attentive but food mediocre (unfortunate since some ingredients were very fresh). The property is well kept with lots of historical charm and appears to offer enough activities that one could stay occupied . It is also close to great places to hike, scenic drives (stop in at Scenic View farm) and charming small new england towns to explore.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linglingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear linglingma,
Thank you for reviewing! We appreciate your constructive feedback as we are always committed to improving wherever we can. Your comments have been shared with the staff and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel situated in the White Mountains for the second year in a row in late July.
The rooms were nice and clean and the food was above average. Super buffet breakfast.
We took the kids to Storeyland which is about 30 minutes away down a scenic highway which passes by Mount Washington.
We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Joel W,
We appreciate your review! It’s great to know you enjoyed your second year with us and are looking to return. We look forward to welcoming you!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Axe throwing was so great and unexpected! The recreational activities were abundant, kids loved the pools and closeness to Santas Village. The staff is super friendly and they think of everything and help at every turn. We will return next summer.
The "Axe Man"

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Dav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Dav T,
Axe throwing certainly offers a unique experience for our guests. We are happy to learn you were able to take advantage of this activity. Thank you for your review and we can’t wait to welcome you back next summer!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went on a short honeymoon vacation to the resort. The only reason we visited this resort was we got a great deal through a coupon site. The resort is beautiful and the views are stunning, however, everything is very over-priced. We went off of the resort to eat our meals. There are a lot of things to do,(most are very expensive) but my favourite was the axe throwing. The staff is very friendly, but if the old elevator was busy, you had to walk up and down the stairs with your luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caplanjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear caplanjoel,

I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of one of the great promotions we were able to offer. We continue to add activity programs for all ages that are complimentary for our guests to enjoy any day of their visit. The axe throwing continues to receive rave reviews and we are pleased that you enjoyed!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
317 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
764 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
138 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,677 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $171 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing