We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit to one of my favorite hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Mountain View Grand is a great hotel that offers a million things to do. Its great for couples and families. We've only visited in the winter but one of these summers I will stay too. The hotel view is magnificent. The property is never ending with an ice skating rink, farm, animals, their own wind mill, garden, pools, spa etc. The rooms are cozy and have nice linens, comfy beds and decent bathrooms. The rooms are decorated to match the hotels long history. The staff is awesome, from the front desk to the servers, bar staff and maids, everyone is super pleasant ALL the time. They have horse drawn sleds, dog sledding, snow mobiles, ice skating, sledding, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, local ski resorts close by, a FABULOUS spa etc. In the lobby the often have someone playing the piano. The restaurant has a great menu and the wine cellar downstairs is really nice as well. I would suggest anyone stay here, its a great time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickels91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know that you consider our resort one of your favorite destinations and that you had such a delightful time when you were here. Winter is certainly a lovely, magical time of year to visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another visit.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

We received the hotel stay as a gift and were very pleased with the accomodations.The room was very comfortable and the bed was great..nice linens and comfy pillows. We had a very nice meal in the Tavern but thought the bar prices were a bit steep..$11.50 for a Cosmo. The views are spectacular and even though the weather wasn't great there were a lot of activities to take part in..movies, the pool, the history tour, the barns,etc.The wine cellar was spectacular and had we known ahead of time we would have book a dinner there. The only problem we encountered was with the spa manager who when we asked to see the Tower Spa pool was rather short with us stating the only way to see it was to book a treatment ($ 100/couple for 25 min.). We realize that if the Tower is booked then we could not go in but she made us uncomfortable for even asking about it. We would love to go back again sometime and will recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnieb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you writing about your stay experience with us. Thank you for the compliment on the restoration effort on our historic, grand hotel. We are sorry the Tower Spa was not available during your stay. Please accept our apology for the manner in which the situation was handled. The issue has been appropriately addressed. We hope to have you return again soon for another enjoyable stay with us.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I enjoyed the MVG to the fullest. I noticed the Showers were VERY SLIPPERY. I wish I had seen the slippery floor signs everywhere prior to going butt over teakettle! I wasn't hurt, but my son got a good laugh out of it. Everything else on site was fantastic. Great NH location and will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay. I have sent an email request to you hoping to speak with you about your shower mishap. We are glad that you were uninjured and hope to learn more about the incident from you. We hope to welcome you back again for a future stay.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

What a beautiful old, historic place to escape from it all for a while!
So clean - so many ammenities, and the staff were all amazing!! Travelling for a short stay with kids aged 7 and 10 - had the best time for all of us.
Overall great experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the resort with your children. We are delighted that you and your family had such a wonderful experience. We hope you will return again soon.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was our first visit and we were not disappointed even though there was no snow for x-country skiing. We found the resort to be very clean, very friendly, and offered us a lot of activities to do in the resort. The tavern was the best place to hang around at night. The wait staff and other guests made for great conversation. OUR only negative was the price of a glass of wine which was $10.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the favorable review from your stay. We are certainly pleased to know that your first stay with us was such an enjoyment. The resort offers a wide variety of house wines starting at $6.42 per glass. We do look forward to having you as a return guest to the resort.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I visited the Mountain View Grand resort for the first time for 2 nights. It's a very charming hotel, great friendly staff. It's a historic hotel, and retains it's classic feel, yet nothing felt outdated or overworn. We enjoyed dinner in the wine cellar (that was a first), our own private movie showing in their movie room, very comfortable beds and couches, great reading and game rooms. Can't wait to go back with the kids and enjoy more of the outdoor activities...just too cold this weekend to explore.

Room Tip: Room 114 was great, got upgraded their due to a bathtub malfunction, usually out of our price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBeachSunSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a pleasant review about your stay. It is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed what our hotel amenities, from an amazing wine cellar dinner to a captivating movie theatre experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We just came back from our annual trip to the beautiful Mountain View Grand Resort and our two children just raved about Mrs. Baker and her recreational staff at the Mountaineering Club! They never wanted to leave the club which left my wife and I time to enjoy the serenity of the resort. Coming from South Florida, the time we spend at the resort is something we look forward to every year. With the children so enjoying the activities it makes it easy for us to relax and enjoy the beautiful White Mountains. Highly recommend the resort for families and be sure to ask for Mrs. Baker!
Rick and Mary S

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Dear Guest:

It was our pleasure to have welcomed you and your family back to the resort over the recent holiday vacation period. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review of our Mountaineering Club and activities staff. We look forward to having you return for more adult relaxation and child friendly fun.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
772 reviews
12 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,787 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: $173 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing